We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and Yummy”

Mozaik Cafe & Restaurant
Reserve with
Mozaik Cafe & Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #192 of 13,484 Restaurants in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $28
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Sultanahmet
Description: "The Mozaik restaurant, with its three floors and a basement, is housed in a nicely renovated Ottoman house. As much as possible of the original was preserved, hence the rather small rooms with plenty of tables for two, wooden floors and creaking stairs. The perfect setting for a candlelit tête-à-tête dinner. The cuisine is mainly Turkish and international."
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Charming and Yummy”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We loved this restaurant on our 6 day stay in Instanbul! I think we went at least 3 times for lunch or dinner, or just for drinks. The staff is very friendly and attentive - the food is similar (good) to the other restaurants in the area, but we found their hummus to be different and AWESOME. It had peanut or peanut butter in it and we probably ate 10 plates of it over our time there. A definite go.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julia1130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

567 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    216
    54
    15
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable meal.”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Come to find out this is a popular restaurant in the Sultanahmet and we know the reason.. The staff are friendly and efficient and no sooner have you placed your order than a dish of wonderful hummus and bread arrives with your drinks. The local Turkish wine was very good to our surprise.. The food was great.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank bluezone55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
78 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Good service, acceptable food”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We chose this restaurant as it was close to our hotel. We found the menu good but not great. However, we had excellent and attentive service and were pleasantly surprised to find that the staff automatically turned on the outside heaters when the evening started to cool. We really enjoyed the joke the waiter played on our daughter who wanted to be the one to pay for the meal (we gave her the amount we knew it would be and the waiter presented her with a much larger bill - her reaction was very funny!) - that the waiter could pay enough attention to our table to know to even play the joke was what impressed us most.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cassowary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cairo
Level Contributor
544 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“nice and comfortable”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

i didnt know this place before , but i was so happy to have lunch there , nice atmosphere , near to historical area , no one to pull you to sit and eat , nice menu and food was good staff was nice

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yasserradwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Overrated!”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This is an average restaurant with below average service. I saw many people had recommended this place in the historical district and I just wanted to try it out. The location is nice but the food was just ok! Somehow in Turkey, the pictures you see on the menu are not what you get. This place was not an exception either.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ameer Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mozaik Cafe & Restaurant also viewed

 
Istanbul, Turkey
 

Been to Mozaik Cafe & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing