We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Staff, Ideal Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Big Apple Hostel & Hotel
Ranked #39 of 1,246 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2014

My friends and I spent three nights at the Big Apple. The staff were superb; they were eager to help and gave us some great places to check up in the city. Also, the breakfast was delicious. I would have paid double what I did to stay there.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (300)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

111 - 117 of 300 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2014

The location was perfect. It was only a two min walk to the beautiful old city. The staff is friendly and informative making sure we got fair deals with taxis. The breakfast is delicious as well. All and all I would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

I've been there from the 27/12/2013 till 04/01/2014. My friend Nadya has recommended it to me and it was just perfect!! Everybody was very helpful, friendly and smiling. I won't forget the good sandwiches that our nice and kind friend has prepared for us because we couldn't make it for the breakfast.. that was huge and tasty :-)
Will come back to the same hostel next time I'll be in Istanbul for sure ;-)
Thank you guys for this nice and unforgettable stay <3

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MonaZ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Stayed here while looking for longer term places to stay...the staff was great and the views from their rooftop were great. The staff was really helpful, gave us great advice on Istanbul, lugged beers up multiple flights of stairs for my husband even though they had other things to do, and were the most genuine and sincere people we met in Istanbul.

Our room was clean and well priced. The bathrooms were clean and all areas were well kept.

The staff prepared us a great and filling breakfast even though they were busy with repairs and renovations. Istanbul can get tiresome because beyond the history of it, it can be a tourist trap. Again, the price was right and the service was genuine.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cathytravl8or
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 days in a 6 bed dorms in Big Apple hostel, and liked every minute of it! Room was clean, bed was comfortable, and even though it was very cold in Istanbul, it was warm and cosy inside. Not to mention the great and generous FREE breakfast ont the scenic terrace, but most of all the kindness of all the staff members, Ilkaï and the others! Thank you!

Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
Thank Benlouisgold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I stayed here over the summer with a few fellow travelers. We had a bunk bed, a seperate full sized bed, as well as a private bathroom. The hotel has a great location within walking distance of several restaurants, shops, etc. It is located right by Tokapi palace and the Blue Mosque. The rooftop terrace is great for some quite time or to chat with fellow travelers. If you're looking for a good value, definitely consider the Big Apple!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Allan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

This is the right place to stay in Istanbul, especially if you are first time in visit! Recepcionists are more than helpful, stuff also, little Sava? is making wonderful breakfast, Ilkay is great person, he will help you with everything you ask.. And it is near everything you need - Topkapi, Blue Mosque, Ayasofia, Kapali.. Everything. Can't wait to come back here again!

1  Thank Katarinast
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Levanten Hostel
Levanten Hostel
#77 of 1,246 in Istanbul
129 reviews
Beyoglu
World House Istanbul
World House Istanbul
#21 of 1,246 in Istanbul
207 reviews
Sultanahmet
Cheers Hostel
Cheers Hostel
#4 of 1,246 in Istanbul
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Agora Guesthouse
Agora Guesthouse
#3 of 1,246 in Istanbul
779 reviews
Sultanahmet
Old City Hostel
Old City Hostel
#36 of 1,246 in Istanbul
109 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultan Hostel
Sultan Hostel
#16 of 1,246 in Istanbul
546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Apple Hostel & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Apple Hostel & Hotel

Address: Cankurtaran Mah. Akbiyik Cad. Bayram Firini Sok. No:12 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 1,246 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range: $16 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Big Apple Hostel & Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By air - we have a 24 hour pick-up service. We can collect you from the Ataturk airport (Main Airport on the European side) for 30 € this cost is not only per person but for up to five people in total. Please meet at the Meeting Point pick up next to the information desk number 1. We will need to know your airline, flight number, arrival date and time. Please also specify if you are arriving at Ataturk airport or Sabiha Gocken airport. Please email us this information at least 24 hours before you are due to arrive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Big Apple Hostel & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Big Apple Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing