We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best hostel for visiting Istanbul!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Big Apple Hostel & Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Big Apple Hostel & Hotel
Ranked #46 of 1,175 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The best hostel for visiting Istanbul!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

This hostel is absolutely amazing! The staff is so helpful with everything and with setting up daily activities around the city, there is a very affordable airport shuttle service, and it's in an extremely convenient location. The Blue Mosque is right in your back yard! Everything in Old Town is about a five or ten minute walk from the hostel. I cannot recommend this place enough for future travelers!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CosmopolitanGirl8184
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    65
    24
    5
    6
See reviews for
9
45
113
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

One of the people at Reception was very rude and this behaviour was very bad and insulting, TV in my room was not working and i complain 3 times in 3 days about it but no body bothers to fix it,over all it was an average hotel/hostel

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Asiru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Apple Hoste... h, Manager at Big Apple Hostel & Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dearest guest, thank you very much for your feedback. I am terribly sorry that the TV in your room was not working during your first stay. Our staff was trying to fix it when we clean the room, but the TV actually needed to send back to the the shop for fixing. It took few days to return it to the hostel. There are two plasma TV at the lobby and the terrace for guests. I hope you understand that this was not an usual case in our hostel. Upon your second stay with us, we provide your family with another room and with a discounted price. I hope you found your second stay was pleasant with us. We welcome you to come back again and we will always serve you better. Warm regards, Mehmet Bingöl.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

We spent a week long vacation in Istanbul, stayed one night in a dinky matchbox cell @ the second home hostel, then switched and stayed in this hotel for a whole week. Its location, friendly and not pushy staff, big clean and well kept rooms (we stayed at 401 and 304), nice breakfast and beautiful views from the breakfast terrace, in combination with the price (30-35 euro) for which you only get real dives in other hotels/hostels of that area, all make it by far the optimal choice for a nice stay in Istanbul - not comparable to the other places we've seen in any way. We warmly recommend it and would definitely go back there on our next visit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThaliaCarmen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Apple Hoste... h, Manager at Big Apple Hostel & Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
My dearest guest, I am Mehmet Bingöl ı,the Manager of the hostel , I would like to thank you for your review about big apple hostel on tripadvisor.I appreciate your kind comments. we will be very happy to host you with the same passion in big apple hostel when you come back to Istanbul. Warm regards from Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2012

It was my first time to Istanbul.The hotel was great the moment you drive up the alley. Hotel staff would greet you with a smile and warmth that you would feel at home. It was fantastic hotel. All dining plates etc were cleared promptly. And breakfast was awesome!!
If I back again to Istanbul, certainly I will stay here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Apple Hoste... h, Manager at Big Apple Hostel & Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
My dearest guest,
I am Mehmet Bingöl ı,the Manager of the hostel , I would like to thank you for your review about big apple hostel on tripadvisor.I appreciate your kind comments. we will be very happy to host you with the same passion in big apple hostel when you come back to Istanbul.
Warm regards from Istanbul,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

We have stayed in the hotel for 4 days in a doubled- bed room. The room is really comfortable and I was so impressed by the buffet breakfast which serves with plenty of fresh veggie! The staffs here is also very helpful! Will back again if going to Istanbul again!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ching-lung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Apple Hoste... h, Manager at Big Apple Hostel & Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
My dearest guest, I am Mehmet Bingöl ı,the Manager of the hostel , I would like to thank you for your review about big apple hostel on tripadvisor.I appreciate your kind comments. we will be very happy to host you with the same passion in big apple hostel when you come back to Istanbul. Warm regards from Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Ar Riyad, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
191 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

If you are looking for a cool place to stay in Istanbul right next to Blue mosque and Aya Sofia... walking distance to the tram... that's got extremely friendly staff, beautiful clean rooms, a balcony bar/breakfast lounge with spectacular view of the city... you CAN'T go wrong with Big Apple! I still remember when we arrived from our overnight bus all haggard and dusty... the friendly staff let us leave our bags and freshened up and offered us free breakfast at their rooftop lounge! You will make great friends at this place, I guarantee :)

(now this review is a bit long over due as I stayed there May 2010 but goes to show what an impression Big Apple made!)

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phoenix C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Apple Hoste... h, Manager at Big Apple Hostel & Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
My dearest guest,
I am Mehmet Bingöl ı,the Manager of the hostel , I would like to thank you for your review about big apple hostel on tripadvisor.I appreciate your kind comments. we will be very happy to host you with the same passion in big apple hostel when you come back to Istanbul.
Warm regards from Istanbul,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

1. staff is great
2. Room - big, clean, nice,
3. pet is allowed - I have 2 small dogs
4. Value - 100% recommended
5. Breakfast is excellent

I will back again in this hotel, location is old town, European side. Near finish of Istanbul marathon.. all is great.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toma M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Apple Hoste... h, Manager at Big Apple Hostel & Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
My dearest guest,
I am Mehmet Bingöl ı,the Manager of the hostel , I would like to thank you for your review about big apple hostel on tripadvisor.I appreciate your kind comments. we will be very happy to host you with the same passion in big apple hostel when you come back to Istanbul.
Warm regards from Istanbul,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Apple Tree Hotel
Apple Tree Hotel
#343 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Sultanahmet
Cheers Hostel
Cheers Hostel
#3 of 1,175 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
Sultanahmet
Bahaus Guesthouse
Bahaus Guesthouse
#40 of 1,175 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Istanbul Harmony Hostel
Istanbul Harmony Hostel
#91 of 1,175 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultan Hostel
Sultan Hostel
#17 of 1,175 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
Beyoglu
BellaVista Hostel&Cafe
BellaVista Hostel&Cafe
#54 of 1,175 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Apple Hostel & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Apple Hostel & Hotel

Property: Big Apple Hostel & Hotel
Address: Cankurtaran Mah. Akbiyik Cad. Bayram Firini Sok. No:12 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 1,175 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Big Apple Hostel & Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By air - we have a 24 hour pick-up service. We can collect you from the Ataturk airport (Main Airport on the European side) for 30 € this cost is not only per person but for up to five people in total. Please meet at the Meeting Point pick up next to the information desk number 1. We will need to know your airline, flight number, arrival date and time. Please also specify if you are arriving at Ataturk airport or Sabiha Gocken airport. Please email us this information at least 24 hours before you are due to arrive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Big Apple Hostel & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Big Apple Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing