We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the Big apple away from the BIG APPLE! :)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Big Apple Hostel & Hotel
Ranked #37 of 1,219 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Oakland, New Jersey
1 review
“the Big apple away from the BIG APPLE! :)”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The staff is very friendly and always willing to help with any questions you may have. The facility is very clean. We constantly saw floors being mopped, glass being wiped down, etc. The terrace has a view of the ocean, and a great place to hang out when your tired from a long day of site seeing :) Speaking of which, this hostel is conveniently located within walking distance of EVERYTHING! sultanahmet, aya sofya, topkapi palace, eminonu, galata kulesi, and the list goes on. Traditional turkish breakfast is served in the mornings, but they also have cereal, yogurt, fruit, and all kinds of pastries for those of you who dont care for it. All in all we definately recommend big apple to anyone who wants a pleasant experience on their travels to Istanbul. :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nazli E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Apple Hoste... h, Manager at Big Apple Hostel & Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
My dearest guest,
I am Mehmet Bingöl ı,the Manager of the hostel , I would like to thank you for your review about big apple hostel on tripadvisor.I appreciate your kind comments. we will be very happy to host you with the same passion in big apple hostel when you come back to Istanbul.
Warm regards from Istanbul,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    68
    24
    6
    6
See reviews for
9
45
122
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We booked in for a four bed room, yet they only had two double bed rooms available because they made a mistake with the booking so we payed and got settled in. The next morning as I'm exiting my room one of the house keepers puts her middle finger up at me as we turn our backs to leave, even though I have never seen her before. Upon checkout they asked us to pay the extra cost of the double rooms even though they made the mistake with the booking. We refused and tried to explain how ridiculous they were being and said goodbye and we're returned with the response, "we don't want to wish you a good goodbye"

Room Tip: A room closer to the bottom sometimes people drink on the rooftop so it can be noisier up higher, al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Georgia1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Apple Hoste... h, Manager at Big Apple Hostel & Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dearest guest,
Thank you for your comment. I am the Manager of the hostel and I sincerely apologize for the miscommunication of the room type you booked with us. A four seperate beds bedroom is a dormitory room and I am afraid you was chosen the private double bedroom and assumed four single beds. The two double beds bedroom (with bathroom in room) you stayed has a slightly higher price compared to a dormitory room (without bathroom in room). Regarding to the house keepers, I wish you could have informed us at that time and I could investigate the case. But I have told all our staff to ensure our guest has a pleasant stay at our hostel. In addition, the terrace is closed at mid-night to avoid any noise. Despite these two incidents, I hope you still find the hostel facilities and cleanliness satisfy during your stay. We really hope you can come back to our hostel and I will ensure you have a pleasant stay with us.
Best regards, Mehmet Bingöl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

i was stay there for 3 night the staff was really help full and friendly they serving amazing breakfast Also they arrenged shutle bus from airport that was really help full for us and price was fair .Thank you mehmet make our staying very comfortable.

Highly recomend because there is nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hmm404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Apple Hoste... h, Manager at Big Apple Hostel & Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
My dearest guest, I am Mehmet Bingöl ı,the Manager of the hostel , I would like to thank you for your review about big apple hostel on tripadvisor.I appreciate your kind comments. we will be very happy to host you with the same passion in big apple hostel when you come back to Istanbul. Warm regards from Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

The unprofessional staff offset what was otherwise a good hotel in a great location. A fellow guest asked me how much I paid to stay in a 16-bed dorm, and I replied honestly (35 Turkish Lira). Apparently the hotel overcharged that guest to stay in the same dorm (he paid 40 TL), so he complained.

Upon checkout, I had the following exchange:

Staff: "Why did you tell another guest that you only paid 35 TL?"
Me: "Because that's how much I paid."
Staff: "You should have known that you got a discount!"

If you've ever been to Turkey, you know that every merchant claims that he's giving you and only you a discount. I definitely didn't receive a discount, though, because upon checking in, I was told that a 16-bed dorm would cost 35 TL/night while a 6-bed would cost 40.

In sum, I cannot in good conscience recommend a hotel that occasionally tries to cheat one guest while blaming another.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobeTrotter96125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Apple Hoste... h, Manager at Big Apple Hostel & Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dearest guest,
Thank you for your comment. We are happy that you found our hostel good and with its great location. We do not cheat or blame any guest and we always strive our excellence to serve our guest. We do offer some guest with discount and it depends on the room occupancy/demand and tourist season. All price with room type are stated clearly on any hotel booking website, so we do not attempt to cheat any guest. I hope you will choose our hostel again for your next trip in Istanbul. Best regards, Mehmet Bingöl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Stayed in the 6 room dorm, which was very clean and had a powerful AC unit. Beds were comfortable and located next to clean bathrooms. Rooftop terrace was a great place to unwind after the day. Very close to Blue Mosque/Hippodrome/Hagia Sophia. Breakfast is included (typical Turkish breakfast). 70 lira for two nights.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Apple Hoste... h, Manager at Big Apple Hostel & Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
My dearest guest, I am Mehmet Bingöl ı,the Manager of the hostel , I would like to thank you for your review about big apple hostel on tripadvisor.I appreciate your kind comments. we will be very happy to host you with the same passion in big apple hostel when you come back to Istanbul. Warm regards from Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italy
2 reviews
Reviewed July 26, 2012

well, this is a really nice hostel in Istanbul. The staffs there are all nice, friendly and helpful. The bed and the Facilities are also nice. The location is not located at the usual and mainly hostel area, but their location is great, just near the metro station (within 5 minutes) and it was so crowed. Really like this place :)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mertcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Apple Hoste... h, Manager at Big Apple Hostel & Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
My dearest guest, I am Mehmet Bingöl ı,the Manager of the hostel , I would like to thank you for your review about big apple hostel on tripadvisor.I appreciate your kind comments. we will be very happy to host you with the same passion in big apple hostel when you come back to Istanbul. Warm regards from Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2012

I have been in many hotels all over Turkey, and dispite The Big Apple Hostel being a hostel, it is by far the best place I have ever been to here. The Big Apple Hostel is not only at a very reasonable price but it is also incredibly clean, and offers a complementary breakfast. The workers here are very friendly and go out of their way to help out their costumers and make them all feel welcome.
Staying at the Big Apple also gave me the opportunity meet locals and other visitors from all over the world because of the friendly nature enviorment that the hostel offers.
I hightly recommend the Big Apple Hostel for anyone, wether you are alone, a couple, group or family who is looking for a place to stay in Istanbul or Turkey.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fatihah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Apple Hoste... h, Manager at Big Apple Hostel & Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
My dearest guest, I am Mehmet Bingöl ı,the Manager of the hostel , I would like to thank you for your review about big apple hostel on tripadvisor.I appreciate your kind comments. we will be very happy to host you with the same passion in big apple hostel when you come back to Istanbul. Warm regards from Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Cheers Hostel
Cheers Hostel
#3 of 1,219 in Istanbul
907 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultan Hostel
Sultan Hostel
#16 of 1,219 in Istanbul
536 reviews
Sultanahmet
Orient Hostel International
Orient Hostel International
#12 of 1,219 in Istanbul
506 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Second Home Hostel
Second Home Hostel
#4 of 1,219 in Istanbul
742 reviews
Sultanahmet
Cheers Lighthouse
Cheers Lighthouse
#5 of 1,219 in Istanbul
263 reviews
Sultanahmet
Agora Guesthouse
Agora Guesthouse
#2 of 1,219 in Istanbul
759 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Apple Hostel & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Apple Hostel & Hotel

Property: Big Apple Hostel & Hotel
Address: Cankurtaran Mah. Akbiyik Cad. Bayram Firini Sok. No:12 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 1,219 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Big Apple Hostel & Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By air - we have a 24 hour pick-up service. We can collect you from the Ataturk airport (Main Airport on the European side) for 30 € this cost is not only per person but for up to five people in total. Please meet at the Meeting Point pick up next to the information desk number 1. We will need to know your airline, flight number, arrival date and time. Please also specify if you are arriving at Ataturk airport or Sabiha Gocken airport. Please email us this information at least 24 hours before you are due to arrive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Big Apple Hostel & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Big Apple Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing