We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, friendly hostel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Big Apple Hostel & Hotel
Ranked #39 of 1,241 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2012

We were so thrilled to have found the Big Apple Hostel, which is located right in the center of the Sultanahmet district. Despite its insistence that it is a "party hostel" it was really clean and relatively quiet (of course, my friend and I were in the all-female dorm) ...but if you want a crazy night on the town, the proprietors are happy to arrange one for you -- and the staff will even go along and dance! Their (typical Turkish) breakfast is quite good, with plenty of food; it's definitely better than the average hostel fare. The best part of the hostel is its wonderful terrace, which has a sea view and great prices on drinks (we recommend the Efes, a Turkish beer). We made many new friends on that terrace during our stay (6 nights). Clean hostel, free wifi, free breakfast, good people and friendly staff -- what else do you need??

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelfreak78_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 297 reviews

Reviewed May 29, 2012

Very good location if you wan't to explore historical places. Privet rooms are small, but with comfortable beds, clean bedding and bath. Friendly, helpful and funny staff. Great breakfast on the roof terrace with view on Bosfor. Very close to all places because public transport stop is very close. Nice reastaurants with tasty food around hostel. I recommend.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
Thank szagata3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2012

I spent three nights at this hostel with two friends. Rooms are clean and quiet, towels and hairdryer are provided, breakfast is included in the price. The staff are friendly and they speak English. The men working at the reception helped us a lot with some useful tips about the city and tourist attractions. Breakfast is very modest. Don't expect to taste any of the Turkish delicacies. There is tee and coffee to be served (NOT Turkish coffee, unfortunately), boiled eggs, olives and cheese, bread and jam with butter. That's all!
There is one more matter I didn't find appropriate: they never answer to the emails you send them. You can do your reservation online at their web site but if you need some extra information, you'll have to phone them.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ducca089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Apple Hoste... h, Manager at Big Apple Hostel & Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

My dearest guest, I am Mehmet Bingöl ı,the Manager of the hostel , I would like to thank you for your review about big apple hostel on tripadvisor.I appreciate your kind comments. we will be very happy to host you with the same passion in big apple hostel when you come back to Istanbul. Warm regards from Istanbul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

That is what the night manager suggested when I returned to my dorm room after a night out to find a stranger asleep in my bed.

No big deal - they can find another bed. I ask, they're all full including the hotel part (although I am dubious of this claim based on later lies). The reception guy wakes up the night manager (asleep in the lobby) who suggests I sleep on the couch. Side note - since he was already sleeping on the long couch, his suggestion was for me to sleep in a chair.

I told them it was unacceptable and after an hour bumbling around they still couldn't find me a bed either in their hostel/hotel or in one nearby. It was only after a person checked out for an early flight that they offered me his unclean, unmade bed. At this stage it was nearly 5AM so I accepted the offer. They also tried to blame the person who departed for taking me bed (despite it being a different room).

I was then woken up at 8AM by the maid coming in to clean the room. When I complained in the morning (to the manager who suggested the couch) he couldn't seem to fathom that there was something wrong.

I didn't end up paying to stay there yet I still feel ripped off. The whole situation could have been avoided if they actually had decent systems in place to manage customers and also some sort of security measure in place to control access to the dorm rooms.

The hostels nearby are a much better choice!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RTW_Matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

I'm sorry there is no dorm bed. I'm sorry I forgot to show you how to turn on the radiator. I'm sorry you may not use lobby computers at 2 AM, I'm sorry breakfast is another 10TL, I'm sorry about bedbugs in spite of the place being very clean. Location, grilled lamb cart outside and uphill and roof restaurant are biggest assets.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mothnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2012

This hostel is located at a very convenient location. Everything you want to see is located nearby. The staff was friendly and helpful. The Breakfast was an amazing way to start the day! the view at the terrace was a bonus. They were flexible and helpful. I would stay here again.The only thing is, if you come during winter, the blanket is a bit thin so you may want to ask for an extra blanket.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

I tried contacting this hostel before my trip in arranging 5 nights with them and never heard back. When I tried again once in Turkey for the last evening of my trip I managed to get a response through their website online reservation only to be told to reserve with Hotel Bookers. When I reminded them that their website offers the online reservation feature they never responded and I had to find somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Service
Thank pthft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Cheers Hostel
Cheers Hostel
#4 of 1,241 in Istanbul
921 reviews
Sultanahmet
Bahaus Guesthouse
Bahaus Guesthouse
#27 of 1,241 in Istanbul
206 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultan Hostel
Sultan Hostel
#17 of 1,241 in Istanbul
542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Levanten Hostel
Levanten Hostel
#78 of 1,241 in Istanbul
128 reviews
Beyoglu
World House Istanbul
World House Istanbul
#30 of 1,241 in Istanbul
201 reviews
Sultanahmet
Agora Guesthouse
Agora Guesthouse
#3 of 1,241 in Istanbul
774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Apple Hostel & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Apple Hostel & Hotel

Address: Cankurtaran Mah. Akbiyik Cad. Bayram Firini Sok. No:12 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 1,241 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range: $16 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Big Apple Hostel & Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By air - we have a 24 hour pick-up service. We can collect you from the Ataturk airport (Main Airport on the European side) for 30 € this cost is not only per person but for up to five people in total. Please meet at the Meeting Point pick up next to the information desk number 1. We will need to know your airline, flight number, arrival date and time. Please also specify if you are arriving at Ataturk airport or Sabiha Gocken airport. Please email us this information at least 24 hours before you are due to arrive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Hotwire so you can book your Big Apple Hostel & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Big Apple Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing