We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You don't need anything more :)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Big Apple Hostel & Hotel
Ranked #38 of 1,194 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Poland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“You don't need anything more :)”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Very good location if you wan't to explore historical places. Privet rooms are small, but with comfortable beds, clean bedding and bath. Friendly, helpful and funny staff. Great breakfast on the roof terrace with view on Bosfor. Very close to all places because public transport stop is very close. Nice reastaurants with tasty food around hostel. I recommend.

Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank szagata3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    183
    67
    24
    5
    6
See reviews for
9
45
118
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Trebinje, Bosnia and Herzegovina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2012

I spent three nights at this hostel with two friends. Rooms are clean and quiet, towels and hairdryer are provided, breakfast is included in the price. The staff are friendly and they speak English. The men working at the reception helped us a lot with some useful tips about the city and tourist attractions. Breakfast is very modest. Don't expect to taste any of the Turkish delicacies. There is tee and coffee to be served (NOT Turkish coffee, unfortunately), boiled eggs, olives and cheese, bread and jam with butter. That's all!
There is one more matter I didn't find appropriate: they never answer to the emails you send them. You can do your reservation online at their web site but if you need some extra information, you'll have to phone them.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ducca089
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Apple Hoste... h, Manager at Big Apple Hostel & Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
My dearest guest, I am Mehmet Bingöl ı,the Manager of the hostel , I would like to thank you for your review about big apple hostel on tripadvisor.I appreciate your kind comments. we will be very happy to host you with the same passion in big apple hostel when you come back to Istanbul. Warm regards from Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

That is what the night manager suggested when I returned to my dorm room after a night out to find a stranger asleep in my bed.

No big deal - they can find another bed. I ask, they're all full including the hotel part (although I am dubious of this claim based on later lies). The reception guy wakes up the night manager (asleep in the lobby) who suggests I sleep on the couch. Side note - since he was already sleeping on the long couch, his suggestion was for me to sleep in a chair.

I told them it was unacceptable and after an hour bumbling around they still couldn't find me a bed either in their hostel/hotel or in one nearby. It was only after a person checked out for an early flight that they offered me his unclean, unmade bed. At this stage it was nearly 5AM so I accepted the offer. They also tried to blame the person who departed for taking me bed (despite it being a different room).

I was then woken up at 8AM by the maid coming in to clean the room. When I complained in the morning (to the manager who suggested the couch) he couldn't seem to fathom that there was something wrong.

I didn't end up paying to stay there yet I still feel ripped off. The whole situation could have been avoided if they actually had decent systems in place to manage customers and also some sort of security measure in place to control access to the dorm rooms.

The hostels nearby are a much better choice!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RTW_Matt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2012

I'm sorry there is no dorm bed. I'm sorry I forgot to show you how to turn on the radiator. I'm sorry you may not use lobby computers at 2 AM, I'm sorry breakfast is another 10TL, I'm sorry about bedbugs in spite of the place being very clean. Location, grilled lamb cart outside and uphill and roof restaurant are biggest assets.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mothnm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2012

This hostel is located at a very convenient location. Everything you want to see is located nearby. The staff was friendly and helpful. The Breakfast was an amazing way to start the day! the view at the terrace was a bonus. They were flexible and helpful. I would stay here again.The only thing is, if you come during winter, the blanket is a bit thin so you may want to ask for an extra blanket.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

I tried contacting this hostel before my trip in arranging 5 nights with them and never heard back. When I tried again once in Turkey for the last evening of my trip I managed to get a response through their website online reservation only to be told to reserve with Hotel Bookers. When I reminded them that their website offers the online reservation feature they never responded and I had to find somewhere else to stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pthft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2011

The location was not so great..hard to find. The small morning buffet was fabulous. The free security lockers were great. The room was clean and the bathrooms are modern and clean.vThe only drawback are the people that work there..very unpleasant and not helpful at all.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michellemybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Apple Tree Hotel
Apple Tree Hotel
#325 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Sultanahmet
Cheers Hostel
Cheers Hostel
#3 of 1,194 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
Sultanahmet
Bahaus Guesthouse
Bahaus Guesthouse
#39 of 1,194 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Orient Hostel International
Orient Hostel International
#13 of 1,194 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
Sultanahmet
Istanbul Harmony Hostel
Istanbul Harmony Hostel
#82 of 1,194 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultan Hostel
Sultan Hostel
#17 of 1,194 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Big Apple Hostel & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Apple Hostel & Hotel

Property: Big Apple Hostel & Hotel
Address: Cankurtaran Mah. Akbiyik Cad. Bayram Firini Sok. No:12 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 1,194 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Big Apple Hostel & Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
By air - we have a 24 hour pick-up service. We can collect you from the Ataturk airport (Main Airport on the European side) for 30 € this cost is not only per person but for up to five people in total. Please meet at the Meeting Point pick up next to the information desk number 1. We will need to know your airline, flight number, arrival date and time. Please also specify if you are arriving at Ataturk airport or Sabiha Gocken airport. Please email us this information at least 24 hours before you are due to arrive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, HostelWorld, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Big Apple Hostel & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hostel Big Apple Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing