We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“crap” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Witt Istanbul Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Witt Istanbul Suites
Ranked #9 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
warwickshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“crap”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2009

This hotel did not live up to its reputation.The rooms had inadequate lighting,the decor awful,and there was no dining room/breakfast room.We had to eat in the reception area with inadequate room for tables and chairs.The kettle in the room didnt work,and there was no microwave provided as stated in the brocure.It was advertised as being five minutes from the main tram system.This was not correct.It was about 20 minutes away down a very steep hill! The brocure said there would be a hottub on the roof,there wasnt!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
19 Thank goddess115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuncel, General Manager at Witt Istanbul Suites, responded to this review, September 10, 2009
Well, let me be as least defensive as possible when responding to this negative review: We have no such brochure saying we have a hottub on the roof, I am really surprised to read that...
Secondly we are only 5 minute walk to Tophane Tram Station which is easy to verify by other reviews or googlemap.
I do not know what else to say, today is a sad day!
Tuncel TOPRAK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    870
    105
    13
    4
    0
See reviews for
114
619
40
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
hampshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2009

Had a great time at the Witt Istanbul. Hotel is in a convenient location. The rooms are amazing. The hotel staff couldn't have been more helpful - They recommended perfect restaurants to suit our needs, printed off maps & bus time tables to help us find various place. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AndyHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuncel, General Manager at Witt Istanbul Suites, responded to this review, September 1, 2009
Thank you for your comments. We will try to offer more insider tips about our city and culture. We have even started a blog sharing our thoughts on our web page.
Best regards
Tuncel TOPRAK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2009

My wife picked this hotel after seeing it in Travel & Leisure magazine. It is centrally located and extremely good value compared to the large chain hotels. All of the 17 rooms are suites of around 800sq ft. The service and rooms were outstanding. The only drawback is it is located on the side of a hill which is quite a climb. Well located next to the tram line and only two stops from the Blue Mosque and Spice Bazaar.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dekangaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuncel, General Manager at Witt Istanbul Suites, responded to this review, September 1, 2009
Hi,
It is not easy for us to meet high expectations from our guests after they read good comments on magazines and web pages. So I am glad we lived up to Travel and Leisure recommendation.
Today ( september 1 , 2009 ) I have disputed a recent review which stated that our hotel is 20 minutes away from the tram, and I am glad you have mentioned our location being close to the tram station.
Best regards
Tuncel TOPRAK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanaa, Yemen
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2009

Quite simply the classiest, best maintained, cleanest, and best staffed hotel I've stayed at anywhere (and I travel frequently). I had read the reviews online, so my expectations were high. The staff set up a private boat trip along the Bosphorus so I could propose to my girlfriend - they bent over backwards to help me with this at no extra charge.

The regular room we stayed in was larger and better furnished than the (smaller of the few) top-floor penthouse suites we moved to on our last night. The balcony of the penthouse suite and its view of the Bosphorus are stunning, however, despite the room's smaller layout. The regular suites are probably a better value in the end. The (all male) staff was exceedingly kind and helpful in giving us info on places to walk, eat, and go out to.

The reviewers who complain of the hotel's location on a steep, inclined street need to get a life, or get some (mild) exercise. Seriously, the hotel's location on a hilly street, very close to a very hip neighborhood, is the last thing I would detract from this establishment.

When eaten in the ground floor common breakfast area, the complimentary morning breakfast is hearty and delicious. The room service version of the breakfast (also free) is skimpy and leaves you wanting more food. Internet is free and connection is good.

In summary, this is a hotel to write home about, tell your friends about (I certainly did), and write a fitting TripAdvisor report on. Perfect for business, romance, getaway, honeymoon, etc.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank globetrotter00754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2009

Great location - close enough (10 minute walk) to the hustle and bustle of the many great shops, restaurants and bars - without being disturbed when in their beautifully appointed rooms.
Access to nearby historic sites was easy - just hop onto the nearby Tram and you'll be at the major destinations within no time.
The room we stayed in had its own fully equipped kitchen area and was spotless.
The bathroom was luxuriously appointed - (wish we could have taken it home with us!)
The main attraction however - was the incredible staff. I have never before had the pleasure of dealing with such a charming, genuinely helpful and committed team.
We have both travelled extensively but can honestly say that this trip was made so very memorable thanks to the unceasing efforts of the staff.
We will definitely return!
The only possible negative aspect to consider would be that the location is on a pretty steeply inclined road - so the infirm and/or elderly would probably find this to be too much.
Otherwise - go there and enjoy Turkish hospitality at its very best!
Kevin and Lisa,
New York.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KevinAndLisaNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
En Route
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2009

Even before we arrived, the Witt staff were lining up restaurants and advice for us. When we arrived they blew us away arranging concert tickets, shopping advice, restaurant reservations - even late night milk and cookies!

The Witt enjoys an outstanding location. It is within 500m of the main pedestrian mall, the outstanding Istanbul Modern museum and probably 7 of the top 10 restaurants in Istanbul. The Hagia Sophia and Blue Mosque are a 200m walk plus 10 minute tram ride away (trams are modern, air conditioned and only $1 for as long as you ride!).

It also has fantastic staff. Every member of the Witt team was friendly, and responsive. The main interactions are all with the Reception leaders who speak excellent English and are available 24 hours a day. They were all full of excellent advice for making the most of the stay in Istanbul - not just about booking tours, but also recommending Istanbul hidden gems (the local hammam, manicure and pedicure). The non-english speaking staff were also universally friendly and helpful.

The Witt is also an extremely modern and comfortable design hotel. Our room was large and fitted with beautifully designed furniture, an iPod dock, flat screen TV and an amazing 7 piece waterfall shower head.

We enjoyed the Witt so much that we changed the rest of our Turkey plans to stay just a little longer with the Witt and with Istanbul.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tygr_tygr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2009

Possibly one of the best hotels we have stayed at... at least in this price range. A fun, funky, young, very very spacious, and very hospitable place... even in a city like Istanbul we felt like spending time in the hotel... a home away from home for our 5 nights.

It all started with a very warm check-in experience in a pretty funky lobby. When we got to our room, we were pleasantly surprised at how big it was. The bathroom was impressive, with an unbelievable shower. Great amenities, a large flat-screen TV, comfortable bed.

The breakfast was great... amazing quality ingredients. All the staff was very friendly, always helpful and jovial.

A must stay!

  • Liked — The comfort and size of the room, the bathroom, and the hospitality... everything I suppose
  • Disliked — The steep hill it's located on
  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank rishidalal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#4 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,902 reviews
Beyoglu
Tomtom Suites
Tomtom Suites
#8 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#3 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#1 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,127 reviews
Sultanahmet
Levni Hotel & Spa
Levni Hotel & Spa
#15 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,963 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#12 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Witt Istanbul Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Witt Istanbul Suites

Property: Witt Istanbul Suites
Address: Defterdar Yokusu No:26 Cihangir, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34433, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#12 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#25 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#33 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Witt Istanbul Suites 4.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Witt Istanbul Suites has an excellent location within walking distance from Istanbul's business district, Istanbul Modern museum and the buzzing bars and boutiques of both Beyoglu and Cihangir. All 15 suites span a generous 60m2. They are popular for long-stay guests as each has a Carrera marble-clad kitchenette with microwave, fridge and Nespresso machine. The super-cool beds with curved headboards and the laptop desks have been especially designed for Witt Istanbul Suites by Autoban. Sheets and towels were also commissioned from Denizli, a famous purveyor of Turkish linen. Cable TV, an excellent DVD collection, ipod docks and a welcome gift of multi-coloured macaroons are indulgent touches. But it's the bathrooms that make these suites really special. The ergonomic Corian sinks with pebble-shaped handles and the cluster of shower-heads that create a cocoon of misty hot water are all from designer Ross Lovegrove's Istanbul collection from Vitra. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Witt Istanbul Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Witt Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
Witt Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing