We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Hotel in My Favourite Neighbourhood” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Witt Istanbul Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Witt Istanbul Suites
Ranked #6 of 1,110 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in My Favourite Neighbourhood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

The Witt Istanbul Hotel is a small boutique hotel with about 18 suites. Located in the Cihangir neighbourhood, it is walking distance to Beyoglu, Taksim, Galata, and Karakoy. You can also walk to Nisantasi and Besiktas fairly easily if you enjoy long walks. If you are taking the train, it is a short but steep walk from the Tophane stop.

The hotel accommodations are suites with a kitchenettes (stove plate, fridge, microwave, and dishes), which is convenient. The suites are modernly decorated, very clean, comfortable and convenient. I think the floor tiles in the bathroom are even heated, which is a nice feature. The staff are super friendly and helpful; we arrived very early in the morning and were invited to have breakfast, in addition to being able to check-in a little early (while we didn’t expect this, and even if it wouldn’t have been possible, we would have been just as satisfied). Breakfast is included and it is very tasty, fresh, and healthy; there are Turkish, European, and North American options. We enjoyed the simit, fruit salad with pomegranate, local cheeses, and the cinnamon Turkish coffee. Most of the food is locally sourced and organic; bonus!

We were on the 2nd floor and enjoyed our room after long days of exploring. We were able to stand on the Juliette balcony and enjoy an okay view; next time, we will get a Bosphorous view terrace suite. What we liked the most about the Witt Istanbul Hotel is how you feel like you are living in Cihangir due to the way the suite is laid out and the quaint and interesting neighborhood it is located in. Staying here made it easy for us to walk to Orhan Pamuk’s Museum of Innocence, Datli Maya, Van Breakfast, Karakoy, and wander the streets of Beyoglu. Since we love walking in Istanbul so much, we even wandered to Besiktas, which took about 40 minutes.

While we have stayed at other hotels in Istanbul, The W and Crowne Plaza, we enjoyed our stay at the Witt the most due to the comfort of the accommodations the neighbourhood it is located in, and the friendly staff; we will definitely stay at the Witt next time we are in Istanbul.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MDL_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    864
    103
    13
    4
    0
See reviews for
112
615
40
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, D.C.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

My husband and I just returned from a 4-night stay at the Witt and were pleased with every aspect of our stay/

We stayed in Room 51, which I would highly recommend as the layout is ideal and the view is spectacular. The rooms are spacious and the separate living area is an added benefit. The wetbar is beautiful and fully kitted out with a mini fridge and all the service ware you could need. The attention to detail and the design aspects of the room are also incredible. The folks who designed this hotel and its rooms left no stone unturned. Bathroom was also gorgeous - complete with a multi-head shower and heated floors (swoon).

The breakfast served in the lounge was generous. Complete with the standard Continental yogurts, cereals, pastries, meats and cheeses, the spread also included several local specialties of salads, olives, simit, and other items. The staff would also prepare eggs to your specification upon request.

The location of the hotel itself is fantastic. Away from the main tourist area of the Old City, the Witt is in a much hipper and stylish hood with lots of young people, boutiques, bars, and restaurants. The tram that will take you into Sultanahmet is just down the hill from the hotel - a five minute walk at best. Of course that means you'll have to walk up the hill when you come back at the end of the day. The hotel does not have a gym but, after walking back to the hotel up the hill, you won't even miss it.

The staff at the Witt are extraordinary. Ali in particular was a standout as he answered every single one of our questions graciously and expeditiously. The restaurant recommendations he made to us were spot on (definitely try Journeys and Ciya Sofrasi on the Asian side) and he went out of his way to help us secure a coveted table at Lokanta Maya for our last night. Ali and the rest of the staff at the Witt really helped to make our stay very special.

Definitely looking forward to returning!

Room Tip: Choose a room on one of the higher floors - the views are amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CaroPanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level Contributor
133 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

They do just about everything right at the Witt:
Gracious service from the welcome guest staff of Volkan, Ali, Anil & Aykut.
Helpful restaurant suggestions, city navigation tips and local customs knowledge.
If you are facing the Bosphorus from an upper floor it will be intoxicating.
Generous breakfast with a myriad of options.
Super cool room design by the design group Autoban. Stylish without being overly "hip"
Located in a real residential neighbourhood. The best in the city for eating, drinking, art, antiques and apparel shopping.
Just around the corner are good eating options: Jouney Lounge, Smyrna and White Mill.
You get to hear the call to prayer each day from the Moque below the hotel.
Funky shower & superb Molton Brown toiletries.
The staff is the hallmark of this hotel: they will charm you...

Room Tip: Room 52 faces both the Bosphorus and the city. It is on a corner. Fabulous views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Canadatom1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Hospitality at its best!
Rooms are spacious and has a very contemporary feel to it. Loved the decor and ambience. Staff were very very hospitable and made us feel like actual guests unlike other hotels especially 5 stars! I am glad I cancelled my booking at grand Hyatt king suite rooms n booked here totally worth it.
It's a mere 5 to 10 min walk to taksim square and a 5 min walk to the tram station which will get u to ur tourist destinations quickly and is cheap. Tram is the best way to explore the city.
Breakfast at the hotel is also very good! Overall I highly recommend this place to anybody and everybody as its not only centrally located but lives upto 5 star star standards n ref to design, decor and service.

Room Tip: We were staying on the 2nd floor n had no issues at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Psybaba3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I spent 4 nights at the Witt: the location is perfect-- quiet as can be, yet an easy walk (if you're ok on hills) to Istanbul Modern,Galata Bridge, and old city sites and Taksim Square for lively contemporary Istanbul. The room was beautifully designed-- comfortable as could be, great shower, lovely bar and kitchen with supplies, a comfortable couch, and real reading lights over the bed. I wish there were more Witts in other places I travel since I travel very frequently and hate the sterility of most hotels. Last but certainly not least, the staff were exceedingly polite, knowledgeable, and ready to help-- whether with directions, a printed boarding pass, a complex phone call, or a glass of wine. Just excellent. I would go back in a flash.

Room Tip: Probably more expensive, but upper rooms likely have a spectacular view. I was on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HoffieNewton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The term boutique hotel is widely used these days but it was originally coined for hotels like this. The Witt is a small hotel over the river from the old town, in a hip young neighbourhood full of interesting little restaurants and bars. The hotel itself is lovely and welcoming with a glossy and clean lobby opening out from a candlelit entrance. The lift has been touched upon various times by other reviewers but sufficient to say it was a cute touch. We stayed on the fourth floor and fell in love with our suite as soon as we walked in. The view wasn't panoramic but you could see the Blue Mosque and the Aya Sofia from the bar area window. The bar itself was magnificent, with marble fixtures and a really unusual metro mirrored wall opposite. We were touched to see that after being told that it was Mr Lisbonite's 30th, they'd left us an entire chocolate cake in the room, along with candles and sparklers. The room was spacious and squeaky clean and the bathroom was extremely comfortable and came complete with a rainfall shower big enough for two. The bed was enormous and the sofa area was perfect for stretching out with a book. Service was generally good. The only slight hiccup came when the concierge mixed our destination up with someone else's, sending us on a twenty minute taxi ride in the wrong direction. That said, they did send up a couple of glasses of wine that evening upon our return and offered to refund us the taxi fare. We also found it paid to pass by the bar on the ground floor for more water every time we came in as room service would bring one small bottle at a time. Overall, we loved the hotel so much that we actually spent most of one afternoon there reading and enjoying the view. We have told everyone we know that they shouldn't even think of staying anywhere else!

A couple of tips - yes, the hotel is on a steep hill but we found that taxis were generally very cheap and there's a tram stop about four minutes walk away. Ask taxi drivers to take you to the Italian Hospital. In general our strike rate when trying to get home was better once we realised that the hospital was practically next door. The hotel does give you a card with directions for taxi drivers but to be honest, very few of those that we used actually knew where the hotel was located. That said, we might just have been very unlucky with taxi drivers. Breakfast was good, if a litte unvarying, and excellent value for the relatively cheap room price.

Finally, take time for a local evening. The area feels like it's full of university students and ex-pats and there are loads of tiny bars and restaurants around. We walked further up the hill and then just wandered for ten or fifteen minutes before finding a lovely little place with huge windows and great food.

Room Tip: Ask to be put in one of the top floor suites - the view is worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonLisbonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed here at the end of October. Originally we booked for 3 nights but then decided to change and arrive a day earlier. We had originally booked a Grand Panoramic but there was not one available for the extra first night for of our trip. We were given a Grand King , which was beautifully designed and magnificently spacious. There was a slightly obstructed but impressive view of some of the city. The next day we moved room and were thrilled to have been upgraded to the Super Grand King Panoramic on the top floor, with a wrap around terrace, and incredible views over Istanbul, a wonderful gesture that we were not expecting. The view was so amazing that we never closed the curtains so we enjoyed the views at dusk, all through the night and early morning with the call to prayer. The only bad thing is when we return we will have to book this room!

The hotel is beautiful, small and quiet, and the service faultless. There are plenty of nice touches, for example the beautiful showers and choice of having breakfast downstairs or in your room. Everything in Istanbul is within reach and although I have seen some people mention the steep hill to the hotel, it only makes it more worthwhile when you arrive in your oasis of a room. Can’t recommend highly enough.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank londoners1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#4 of 1,110 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 stars 2,741 reviews
Beyoglu
Tomtom Suites
Tomtom Suites
#9 of 1,110 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 stars 967 reviews
Sultanahmet
White House Hotel Istanbul
White House Hotel Istanbul
#3 of 1,110 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 stars 2,891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet
Senatus Suites
Senatus Suites
#5 of 1,110 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 stars 908 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#11 of 1,110 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 stars 2,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Witt Istanbul Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Witt Istanbul Suites

Property: Witt Istanbul Suites
Address: Defterdar Yokusu Sokak No:26 Cihangir, Istanbul 34433, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#12 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#25 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#34 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Witt Istanbul Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Witt Istanbul Suites has an excellent location within walking distance from Istanbul's business district, Istanbul Modern museum and the buzzing bars and boutiques of both Beyoglu and Cihangir. All 15 suites span a generous 60m2. They are popular for long-stay guests as each has a Carrera marble-clad kitchenette with microwave, fridge and Nespresso machine. The super-cool beds with curved headboards and the laptop desks have been especially designed for Witt Istanbul Suites by Autoban. Sheets and towels were also commissioned from Denizli, a famous purveyor of Turkish linen. Cable TV, an excellent DVD collection, ipod docks and a welcome gift of multi-coloured macaroons are indulgent touches. But it's the bathrooms that make these suites really special. The ergonomic Corian sinks with pebble-shaped handles and the cluster of shower-heads that create a cocoon of misty hot water are all from designer Ross Lovegrove's Istanbul collection from Vitra. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Witt Istanbul Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Witt Istanbul Hotel Istanbul
Witt Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing