We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It can only be the Four Seasons!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Four Seasons Istanbul at the Bosphorus

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Four Seasons Istanbul at the Bosphorus
Ranked #24 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
“It can only be the Four Seasons!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2009

Great rooms and grounds... absolutely loved it! Saw a huge entourage of an Arab royal family there as well, hundreds of luggages lined up upon their arrival.. amazing~!

Stayed July 2008, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank fionette72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,154
    142
    27
    12
    8
See reviews for
296
518
63
242
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2009

This is, quite simply, one of the loveliest hotels we have ever stayed in – and we have stayed in many (one of the others was the FS in Budapest). We called FS in desperation after one night in Istanbul, as the hotel we were in was too depressing. We went from dark and dingy to divine!
Yes, it is a bit out of the way. Yes, it is expensive. Yes, it is also a bit too big. But what a gorgeous place! Opened about 18 months ago, it has an expansive and beautifully designed terrace running the full length of the hotel on the water line. After a full day of sightseeing and crowds, it was heaven to sit there in the late afternoon, seeing the sun set over the minarets in the distance, sipping a bloody mary and watching the busy water traffic on the Bosphorous.
The staff is perfect. Everyone called us by name; the young and charismatic restaurant manager spent ½ hour with us and a map, recommending sightseeing activities, restaurants and cafes. He knew almost more than the concierges!
Really, I cannot rave about this hotel enough. You should know, however, that we are 5 star hotel people. There is a FS at the Sultanhamet, which was full when we originally booked. So I then booked the best suite at the Best Western President in the Sultanhamet area due to location, thinking it would be fine (have posted a review), but not for us. It calls itself 4 stars but it’s not even close and I was foolish to think a BW could be.
The Four Seasons Sultanhamet is much more central than the Bosphoros FS. It’s also apparently much more of a boutique hotel (converted from an old prison).
However, for us, escaping the Best Western and walking out onto that terrace (see my photos!), having a hammam (Turkish bath) in their fantastic spa together with my husband, having the indoor pool for our daughter…well, it was just perfect.
The ONLY complaint is that it’s not possible to walk to any of the fabulous sites. But don’t take a cab all the way into the Sultanhamet area, you’ll be stuck in traffic for ages and get ripped off. Take a cab to the Enimou area (the port and new mosque), which is 5 minutes drive from the FS via a direct road, and there get on the tram to the Old City. There is only one tram line….up and down. You buy a token before you get on (you need it to enter the turnstile), it’s about 1.50 Turkish lira per token and it doesn’t matter how far you go – one stop or 5 – it’s the same price.
This hotel made our stay in Istanbul a wonderful memory (sun shine helps, too!).
We had the cheapest room, Garden View (bit of a fudge, it was a view of the driveway but that is nicely landscaped!). It was huge (because it was a corner room # 3207) with an excellent and very large bathroom: tub, separate shower (big enough for two people!) and separate toilet. Plenty of closet space and many drawers, huge flat screen TV, big comfortable bed, bottle of water placed by the bed each night during turn-down service. Coffee machine (free); each morning we asked for warm milk for our coffee and it came within minutes. They also did an amazing job shining my slightly scruffy boots overnight (free). Newspaper (free). Wifi is NOT free, and this is one of my beefs about good hotels. It seems the more you spend in a hotel, the more you pay for internet connection. However, there is a business centre with 3 computers where you can access the internet for free. Every time my daughter and I went down there, we had no trouble getting a computer each.
Can you tell we loved this hotel?

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mel1Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
140 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2009

The hotel is very special, simple but classy. The staff seem to be far more friendly and efficient than some of it's neighbours. Nothing is cheap in this city but atleast you can spend a fortune in comfort here. Only negative is the lack of rooms with a view of the Bosphorus, but with the amazing infinity pool, patio and restaurant all having views of the river and the bridge you don't miss out.
Even on an evening when the weather looked a little changeable and the tables hadn't been set up outside they kindly set up an individual table and came out to serve us...perfect.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JSMLondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belgium
Level Contributor
100 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 409 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2009

A regular visitor to Istanbul, I was looking forward to staying at this FS, and I was a little disappointed.

The location is good for some sights, especially Dolmabahce, the lovely Yildiz Park (almost across the street), Istanbul Modern, the boat terminal for the Princes' Islands, lively Besiktas (a few hundred meters from the hotel and a great place for an evening stroll). The hotel itself is on a busy stretch of Ciragan Street, with an ugly driveway leading to the entrance, and you feel disconnected from Istanbul life.

The hotel caters to large groups and hosts many functions (there was a loud corporate party on the terrace one day), so it does not feel intimate at all.

I had a Palace Garden room, but choosing the right room is difficult here. The original building has higher ceilings and more light but it does not really feel like an Ottoman palace (too much renovation), and the regular rooms are not very big and terribly expensive. Suites in the palace are great but I am not sure they are worth 3000 euro+ per night. The less expensive rooms with a "garden view" look out mostly to the busy driveway with the buses, taxis and limos. The new wings look too modern, the rooms have lower ceilings and smallish windows, and only a few suites have a view to the Bosphorus.

On the positive side, the room had the very high standard of comfort that comes with FS, the bar was a great place to unwind in the evening with live music, and breakfast at Aqua was a superb buffet. Service was good but not exceptional and feeling a little corporate.

The highlight of the hotel, besides the terrace overlooking the Bosphorus, was the spa area, one of the best I have seen in a city hotel (although I was not impressed by the treatment in the traditional hammam).

My conclusion is that this is a great business hotel with very expensive rooms, but I would stay elsewhere on my next romantic stay in the city, either at Les Ottomans in chic Kurucesme (also horribly expensive) for a more authentic "palace on the Bosphorus" experience or in Beyoglu (see my review of Tomtom Suites, which I enjoyed more than the FS).

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank topsmed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Level Contributor
108 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2009

Superb location; not the usual big anonymus building but mor like a (large) boutique hotel. Classy !

  • Stayed January 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dirk3061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2009

The hotel common spaces are just beautiful, all outdoor spaces, pool, restaurant ect. overlook the Bosphorus and everything is done perfectly.
The pool and spa are gorgeous and it is a delight eating breakfast watching the boats go by and seeing the scenery of the coast.
The location of the hotel is out of the way for most sightseeing and I think it will be more frequented by business travelers. The other Four Seasons although much less opulent is in the heart of where it is all happening and in walking distance to the most important sightseeing.
I was less impressed with the room than the common area. I found the room, deluxe palace with garden view to be small and it only had a view of the front entrance. All of this said I would imagine that this is the most luxurious hotel in Istanbul without the best service. Forgot to mention that it has the best gym I have ever seen in a hotel!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kag1889
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2009

This is a very good hotel well worth the price.
A great location with a unique view on the bosphorus from the restaurant, the swimmingpool and the garden. It is a pleasure having a greta breakfast in from of the river, you are so close to water your have the feeling to float on the water.
Service with a smile, efficient staff always eager to help. I loved the 1-hour pressing service and the complementary shoe-shine. Those kind of details ease your business trip.
Only minor downsides, the room (basic garden view) is great but the view on the entrance of cars is not great. I would strongly recommand to book a room with a view on the Bosphorous. Food is not the best I had in a luxury hotel, was disappointed by my dinner at the bar (restaurant service was closed).
Anyway, I would recommand this hotel to anyone, especially leisure traveller that will have time to enjoy the place.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank slecombre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Besiktas
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
#63 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 685 reviews
Besiktas
Raffles Istanbul
Raffles Istanbul
#10 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sisli
The St. Regis Istanbul
The St. Regis Istanbul
#13 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
Besiktas
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul
Besiktas
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
#61 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Istanbul at the Bosphorus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Istanbul at the Bosphorus

Property: Four Seasons Istanbul at the Bosphorus
Address: Ciragan Cad. No. 28 | Besiktas, Istanbul 34349, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Besiktas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#10 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#10 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#10 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#17 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Istanbul at the Bosphorus 5*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at the Bosphorus. On the European bank of the Bosphorus – which flows through Istanbul’s history and heart – Four Seasons gives a 19th-century palace a fresh, eclectic spirit. Alluring facilities include a chic urban spa. Fine restaurants and pools by the quayside overlook the Asian shore. And all are awash in the light, space and excitement of this water’s-edge location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Four Seasons Istanbul at the Bosphorus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Istanbul At The Bosphorus Hotel Istanbul
4 Seasons Istanbul At The Bosphorus
Four Seasons The Bosphorus
Istanbul Four Seasons

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing