We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superb view, menu and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Safran Restaurant

Safran Restaurant
Ranked #386 of 13,399 Restaurants in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Beyoglu
Description: Only the internationally recognised and “Academie Internationale de la Gastronomie” awarded Safran offers the finest in Turkish and Ottoman cuisine and spectecular views of the Bosphorus. Live classical ‘Fasıl’ music adds the finishing touch to an authentic atmosphere at the recently renovated Safran Restaurant and the covered terrace provides the opportunity to enjoy breathtaking panoramic views all year round in this elegant and sophisticated setting.
Dartford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Superb view, menu and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We visited this restaurant twice during our week of business in Istanbul. This was due to both the excellent menu and the service provided by the staff
Currently on a limited diet, I was able to explain this to the staff on the first visit and was very well remembered on the second visit
The view is probably the first reason that you might book to visit this restaurant, but once you have sampled the food you will certainly want to go back

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Pearlied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    9
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really Good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

Our hotel (the CVK park bosphorus) was just around the corner from the hotel that this restaurant was located in. This restaurant has an amazing view, because it is on the top of a very tall building overlooking the beautiful city of Istanbul. The food was really good, but it wasn't traditional Turkish food. This restaurant was very upscale, and a little pricey, but it was overall really good.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ludmilla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Y, Guest Relations Manager at Safran Restaurant, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Ludmilla S,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind feedback and comments in relation to this review.
We are delighted to hear that you were happy with food and services.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming and serving you again at our Safran Restaurant.

Kind Regards,
Victoria Yildirim
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Enjoyable meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed at the Minel Hotel, which is just round the corner. All four of us enjoyed our meal and the price was reasonable.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medellín, Antioquia, Colombia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The only good thing is the view”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013 via mobile

Overpriced, averge food, nothing special, very nice view and waiters do their best.
Totally NOT worth it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Juan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schaffhausen, Switzerland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic view, over the top decor, decent fare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

The food is not something that will sweep you off your feet, but the views definitely will.
The interiors were a bit gaudy for our taste.
But the time spent and the dinner in that setting but both well worth it.
Deserts were fantastic and the staff quite patient with our two-year old, even though the place was really not planned around such young patrons!
The lounge next to the restaurant makes a great before or after dinner stop.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank UniqueCap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Y, Guest Relations Manager at Safran Restaurant, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Many thanks for your comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed our Safran Restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the InterContinental Istanbul.

Yours faithfully,
Victoria Yildirim
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Safran Restaurant also viewed

 
Istanbul, Turkey
 

Been to Safran Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing