We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great hotel.”
Review of Adamar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Adamar Hotel
Ranked #62 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“What a great hotel.”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We booked this hotel through Expedia, based on TA reviews.

It is a really good choice - location is right in the old part of Isatnbul, overlooking the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia, the Topkapi palace and the Bosphorous. So very convenient for sightseeing in the touristy areas. However, it is also close enough to Serkeci to walk (or catch the tram). Lots of good and very reasonable places to eat withing 3-5 minutes walk. It is far enough away from the main tourist drag.

Great breakfast choices, amazing views from the restaurant, and there is a rooftop area with stunning views across the whole city.

The staff are helpful and knowledgable (they give you a crash course in where to go and what to see while they check you in!).

The room was clean and suitable for us although it was one of the smaller rooms on the floor.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WelshPharmacist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    870
    346
    43
    9
    2
See reviews for
377
496
46
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I booked to stay at the Adamar in September for 4 days. Our room was unavailable for the first night due to the illness of a hotel guest and the Adamar arranged a very pleasant alternative hotel for the first night and arranged for us to be moved on the second day. Halil arranged everything brilliantly so that there was virtually no disruption to our holiday. The test of hotels can be how they deal with difficulties and in this regard the Adamar and Halil were wonderful. We were looked after flawlessly and ended up in an upgraded room and with a free airport transfer. We would go back without hesitation. Great location. The airport transfer option is worth every cent.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

My wife and I travelled to Istanbul for the first time and wanted to see the all of main sights. The Adamar is in an incredible location within a short walk to all of the main attractions. It is also close to several fantastic restaurants and a great hammam spa. Also the views Hagia Sophia and Blue Mosque from the rooftop restaurant are amazing.

Husnu and Ilhan provided great service and helped planned what activities to do on which days because we were only in town for a short stay. They also pre-bought and printed our entrance tickets which is key as it allows you to avoid long lines to buy tickets at the actual sights. Thank you Husnu and Ilhan! Rooms were a little small which would be my only complaint.

Stay here if you want a great location and high level of service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maccer64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, SC
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2013

We recently stayed at the Adamar Hotel in Istanbul for three days/nights, Oct. 18, 19, 20, 2013, following an Oceania cruise that ended in Istanbul. Located in Istanbul's Old Town (Sultanahmet), the Adamar is within comfortable walking distance of many historic sites, including the Hagia Sofia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace, the Cistern, and the Grand Bazaar. The Adamar is also conveniently located near many restaurants that offer enjoyable outdoor dining as well as more intimate dining experiences within each restaurant.
Our hotel room was spacious, clean, quiet, and featured a view of Istanbul's waterfront. The complimentary breakfast buffet offered a delicious and varied array of foods, including an option to request eggs cooked to order. The hotel's dining room on the 6th floor, in which the buffet is served, offers a wonderful panoramic view of Istanbul. The hotel's 7th floor open-air deck offers a fantastic panoramic view of Istanbul, an absolutely outstanding location for dining, late afternoon drinks, and picture-taking! The views at sunset and at night when the Blue Mosque and the Hagia Sofia are floodlit are amazing! The Adamar staff, led by Halil, were all very friendly, accommodating, and helpful! Selda, a charming and very enthusiastic waitress whom we had the pleasure to meet at the buffet, suggested many sightseeing possibilities. Thanks to the guidance and recommendations of Halil and Selda, we greatly enjoyed a private boat cruise on the Golden Horn River, the Bosphorus Strait, and the Sea of Marmara that showcased both the Asian and European areas of Greater Istanbul, as well as visits to the Spice Bazaar, Chora Church, Pierre Loti Hill, and Istiklal St. and Taksim Square in the New District...all of this in addition to visits to the renowned, historic sites mentioned previously in this review.
The Adamar provided complimentary shuttle service to the airport on the morning of our departure. We would definitely stay at the Adamar Hotel again! We truly loved our visit to Istanbul, and we found the people we met to be extraordinarily friendly, engaging, and kind.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We chose the Adamar Hotel to be our “pre-cruise home” in Istanbul, primarily because of the great reviews we read on Trip Advisor. The reasonable pricing and prime location of this hotel, (in the heart of Old Town Istanbul), sealed the deal in making our decision. We realized we made the right choice shortly after booking our room, (and long before our arrival). We were concerned about getting transportation from the airport to the hotel since we were scheduled to land at 10:30 PM after a very long flight from San Francisco and we would be very tired. After sending an email inquiring about what transportation would be available and what the cost would be at that time of night, I promptly received a return email from Halil saying they would happily arrange for a representative of the hotel to be at arrivals holding a card with my name on it and would bring our party of four to the hotel, free of charge. Sure enough, Hasan was there waiting at 11:30 when we finally got out of customs and got our tired group to the Adamar without any hassles! So far, the reviews we read about the excellent service were holding up! Our rooms, although a little small, were clean, comfortable and a very welcome sight. The Adamar staff was outstanding, the food at the restaurant was excellent and the views from the rooftop restaurant were absolutely incredible! To be able to eat breakfast, (complimentary of course), and feel as though you could easily reach out and touch the Blue Mosque and the Hagia Sophia was nothing short of awesome! If you are planning to visit the magnificent city of Istanbul, you really should consider staying at the Adamar Hotel. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Al P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2013

This was my first hotel that i booked on the net, solely based on the pictures on this site..

It claimed to be perfectly situated in Old Istanbul, right next to the Blue Mosque and minutes away from the bazaar.. This was so true..

It is so enchanting and humbling to stand on the roof top, gazing at the city.. It really does have the perfect location, if your interest are in Old Istanbul

What i must add is, that in all my extensive travelling, I have never come encountered more friendly and caring staff.. Example ; I wanted to go out clubbing in Taxism alone and the night shift manager was concerned that I may get lost or ripped off.. He called the day shift manager to accompany me.. I was blown away with their genuine concerns for our safety and wellbeing..


I would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theasen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We returned back from Istanbul last Monday, having stayed 7 days. I can support the previous reviews - we have nothing but good things to say about the Hotel Adamar. When we arrived we could not quite believe how good the location was. We were able to walk almost everywhere and the views from the restaurant are simply spectacular. We ate there a few evenings and found the food tasty but not inspirational. That said, it was hard to find places to eat which weren't geared to tourists. The staff went out of their way to be helpful, especially Everim, Halil and Selda (a waitress). Other people have commented on the rooms being small but we thought it was fine - most importantly very clean and comfortable.
If you need a taxi get the hotel staff to book it - they organised a taxi for us to visit the Chora church (highlight of our trip - unmissable!) - it cost just under 20 lira. On the way back the taxi driver would not quote a price - pointed at the meter which started at 2.95 lira (under £2.00) but deposited us in a side street about 10 minutes away from the hotel and moved the meter up to show 49,95 turkish lira (more than double what we had paid going to the church). My husband would not pay the full amount but we still paid more than on the way. This was our only bad experience in a week - everybody else was extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Arden City Hotel
Arden City Hotel
#79 of 1,156 in Istanbul
392 reviews
Sultanahmet
Nowy Efendi Hotel "Special Class"
Sultanahmet
Antusa Palace Hotel
Antusa Palace Hotel
#27 of 1,156 in Istanbul
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Agora Life Hotel
Agora Life Hotel
#55 of 1,156 in Istanbul
979 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#43 of 1,156 in Istanbul
731 reviews
Sultanahmet
Best Western Empire Palace
Best Western Empire Palace
#53 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adamar Hotel

Property: Adamar Hotel
Address: Yerebatan Cad. No:37 Sultanahmet, Fatih | Yerebatan Cad. No:37 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#46 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#57 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#84 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#109 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Adamar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Istanbul and surrounded by many of the most famous attractions, this luxury 4-star hotel combines quality service with modern comforts. Enjoy a panoramic view of the city from our top-floor restaurant, where the city lights create a romantic glow in the evenings, adding to the atmosphere and attractive ambiance. In addition to the warm decor, all 25 rooms are fully-equipped with a private bathroom and adjustable air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Adamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adamar Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing