We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would recommend this hotel without reserve”
Review of Adamar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Adamar Hotel
Ranked #63 of 1,141 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Would recommend this hotel without reserve”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We returned back from Istanbul last Monday, having stayed 7 days. I can support the previous reviews - we have nothing but good things to say about the Hotel Adamar. When we arrived we could not quite believe how good the location was. We were able to walk almost everywhere and the views from the restaurant are simply spectacular. We ate there a few evenings and found the food tasty but not inspirational. That said, it was hard to find places to eat which weren't geared to tourists. The staff went out of their way to be helpful, especially Everim, Halil and Selda (a waitress). Other people have commented on the rooms being small but we thought it was fine - most importantly very clean and comfortable.
If you need a taxi get the hotel staff to book it - they organised a taxi for us to visit the Chora church (highlight of our trip - unmissable!) - it cost just under 20 lira. On the way back the taxi driver would not quote a price - pointed at the meter which started at 2.95 lira (under £2.00) but deposited us in a side street about 10 minutes away from the hotel and moved the meter up to show 49,95 turkish lira (more than double what we had paid going to the church). My husband would not pay the full amount but we still paid more than on the way. This was our only bad experience in a week - everybody else was extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    850
    339
    42
    9
    2
See reviews for
359
492
45
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham
2 reviews
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed for six nights. A family of four sharing a room. Not acres of space but we could all sleep comfortably. Everything in the room was very clean and well presented.

The hotel is right at the heart of Sultanhamet and the view from the roof terrace is amazing; across the Bosphorous and Golden Horn, and over the roof tops to Hagia Sofia, Topkapi, and the Blue Mosque. That said, it is quiet at night and does not suffer from traffic noise.

Super breakfast on the sixth floor, again with great views, plenty of fresh fruit, yoghurt, cereals and hot things, plus more exotic items like Baklava (big favourite with daughter #2!)

Staff very friendly & helpful.

All in all a super place to stay, we were made to feel very welcome and had a super time in the lovely hotel and amazing city.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LEvans61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013 via mobile

Me and my wife came here on our first leg of our honeymoon and had a wonderful time in Istanbul. Now as for the hotel? Well, the location simply can't be. Beat. It walking distance to both bazaars, the aya sofya, the blue mosque and endless little cafes and shops. Plan on spending most of your time enjoying these spots because the room we were in was verrrrry small. However, the hotel does boast the best view of the city from it's rooftop which was quite enjoyable, especially for dinner. All in all, I would recommend it to a friend if only because of the location and the view from the roof.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Mike L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed only one night on our way back from visiting the southwest part of Turkey. Wish we had more time but had to fly back home.
The location is absolutely perfect.
The staff was brilliant! Super accommodating, courteous and really helpful.
The rooftop breakfast room is amazing, the rooms while small are well appointed, clean and had everything we needed.
Would highly recommend the Adamar Hotel and stay there again.

Room Tip: Corner suite was a good size, very bright, good city view but could be noisy in high peak tourist se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CocoandLouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We just loved this hotel. It has great position, great facilities, excellent staff and a very good top floor panoramic restaurant. The rooms were all comfortable and well-maintained and the front desk staff including Husnu and Evrim could not have been more helpful. The hotel is right on the edge of the top attractions of Sultanahmet which means that just about everything is an easy 5-10 minute walk away. The hotel will organize tours and hop on-hop off bus tickets as and if required. (A tip from us - buy the Museum Pass which lasts for 72 hours and enables you to by-pass the queues at all the major attractions).

The restaurant staff couldn't have been nicer and looked after us well especially when I had a "significant" birthday while we were there. The quality of the food was good and it ws just a magical place to eat looking out at the lights of Aya Sofya, the Blue Mosque, The Bosphorus and The Golden Horn. We wish we could have stayed longer than our 5 days.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the smallest double bed rooms. We were initially allocated one but could not fit all of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gbar4288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2013

The hotel itself is very cozy and the staff incredible friendly and very helpful.
We stayed at Adamar Hotel for a few days when celebrating my fathers birthday and the staff fixed both champange glasses and flowers to the room.

The location itself is fantastic. From the hotel it's walking distance to pretty much all the big attractions in Sultanhamed. Although, if you long for non-touristic restaurants I would take the nearby tram to Taksim square.

The standard rooms are ok, maybe a bit small, but cozy. The deluxe rooms are nice though with nice views. Sometimes it took a while to get hot water running in the shower. And the free wifi was not completely stable, but it worked most of the times.

There is a really nice roof terrace, but when we wanted to have our breakfast up there in the sunshine (there is a stair from the resturant area), the resturant staff told us they didn't allow that. Very strange I thought and perhaps the only thing at the hotel that I thought was really negative.

Overall, a great cozy hotel in a fantastic location.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are very nice! And the single room on the northeast side has a beautiful view over Hagi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I used to life in Istanbul when I was a teenager and come back to the city like every 2 years. This time I came back with 8 friends that have never been to Istanbul. All "must see"- sights are in walking distance. The sight from the terrace is incredible, the rooms are typically small, but clean and pretty quiet for downtown Istanbul. Breakfast is rich and nice.

I never staid in Adamar Hotel before, but I will come back for sure. The staff was lovely, helpful and always in a good mood. Special thanks to Musa, who picked us up at the airport, recommended a wonderful place to eat and made a reservation in the meat restaurant Hamdi, that I always visit when I come to Istanbul.

All 9 of us had a wonderful time at Adamar Hotel.

Room Tip: Corner suits are a little bit bigger than the other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Arden City Hotel
Arden City Hotel
#74 of 1,141 in Istanbul
379 reviews
Sultanahmet
Nowy Efendi Hotel "Special Class"
Sultanahmet
Antusa Palace Hotel
Antusa Palace Hotel
#27 of 1,141 in Istanbul
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#41 of 1,141 in Istanbul
724 reviews
Sultanahmet
Recital Hotel
Recital Hotel
#64 of 1,141 in Istanbul
865 reviews
Sultanahmet
Agora Life Hotel
Agora Life Hotel
#52 of 1,141 in Istanbul
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adamar Hotel

Property: Adamar Hotel
Address: Yerebatan Cad. No:37 Sultanahmet, Fatih | Yerebatan Cad. No:37 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#47 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#57 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#99 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#109 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Adamar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Istanbul and surrounded by many of the most famous attractions, this luxury 4-star hotel combines quality service with modern comforts. Enjoy a panoramic view of the city from our top-floor restaurant, where the city lights create a romantic glow in the evenings, adding to the atmosphere and attractive ambiance. In addition to the warm decor, all 25 rooms are fully-equipped with a private bathroom and adjustable air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adamar Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing