We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Adamar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Adamar Hotel
Ranked #69 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We stayed at the Adamar for 3 nights at the beginning of September. The front desk people were amazingly friendly and helpful. The breakfast was well prepared and served in an upstairs area with view of the Blue Mosque. The rooftop restaurant was also amazing. It was centrally located, could walk everywhere. We tried to get rooms for our return trip but unfortunately were totally booked up. Would totally recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    828
    333
    42
    9
    2
See reviews for
345
486
43
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We spent 3 nights each at the Adamar at the beginning and finish of a small ship cruise around the Black Sea. The location is superb; all the staff were excellent; panoramic views from the rooftop terrace as well as the breakfast room were spectacular.The rooms were not large but were clean, quiet and well equipped. We'll be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pafiorini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We chose Adamar Hotel after checking out the reviews on Tripadvisor.

It has a superb location (about 5 mins walk from Hagia Sophia & Blue Mosque and about 15 mins walk from the Grand Bazaar)

The Istanbul Tram runs from nearby Sultanahmet stop taking you to stops near the spice bazaar, the Galata Tower & the Dolmabaçhe Palace.

We booked an excellent transfer (via Expedia) however I notice that if you book direct with the hotel for more than 3 nights you get a free transfer anyway.

The rooms are compact , we chose a bigger Deluxe Room & it was fine.
Free -Wi-fi throughout the hotel & a very good breakfast with views over the city.

The Panoramic Restaurant on the roof is well worth a visit as the views are truly breathtaking - http://panoramicrestaurant.com/

Overall if you are looking for a base to explore Istanbul I cannot think of a better place to stay

Room Tip: We chose a deluxe room which was bigger & this is probably a good idea. It had a cracking view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bongbrummie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

We spent five nights at the Adamar in July and were delighted with this gem of a hotel right in the center of the old city. We were a family of five (three teenagers) and were able to walk almost everywhere we wanted to go! The views from our room, breakfast room and rooftop restaurant were amazing. The staff could not have been nicer, especially Halil at the front desk.He always had a smile for us. They even upgraded our room when I mentioned one day that next time I come I would request a room with a view. The Hotel had warmth and charm, something that the chain hotels lack! Since we booked two rooms for five days, we had free transfers to and from the airport. What a delight to see our driver with a sign upon arrival. We enjoyed our breakfasts each morning and sunsets on the rooftop deck. We would definitely go back to the Adamar and recommend it to all our friends!

Room Tip: Request a room on an upper floor. You might have to wait for the elevator if you don't want to w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

This hotel is brilliantly situated for visiting all the attractions of the old city, and the reception staff, particularly Halil, were exceptionally helpful in sorting out both both attractions and restaurants. The rooms, while not large, were well equipped and quiet, and extremely good value. The breakfast bar was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jean s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

We have just returned from a holiday in Istanbul and would strongly recommend this hotel. It is in a wonderful location for all the sights of Old Istanbul and the staff (especially the receptionist Halil) are exceptionally helpful. The rooms are comfortable and clean and as others have mentioned the terrace provides provides wonderful views of the City.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

Just back from 2 nights in wonderful Istanbul. This hotel was excellent. The reception staff could not have been more helpful and accommodating -big hotels chains could learn a lot from the guys at Adamar. Our room was very good for the price we paid. On the first night we ate at the rooftop restaurant and the food was very good. The views and the vibe were sensational. I can't imagine there is a hotel in Istanbul with a better roof top view. The Haghia Sophia and Blue Mosque lit up looked beautiful; and the view looking north up the Bosphorus was excellent too.

I'd you are looking for a break from the over priced and stuffy big hotels, this is really worth trying.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IanNodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Arden City Hotel
Arden City Hotel
#70 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Sultanahmet
Agora Life Hotel
Agora Life Hotel
#50 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antusa Palace Hotel
Antusa Palace Hotel
#26 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Nowy Efendi Hotel "Special Class"
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sari Konak
Hotel Sari Konak
#113 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
Sultanahmet
Muyan Suites
Muyan Suites
#22 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adamar Hotel

Property: Adamar Hotel
Address: Yerebatan Cad. No:37 Sultanahmet, Fatih | Yerebatan Cad. No:37 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#52 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#57 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#109 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Adamar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Istanbul and surrounded by many of the most famous attractions, this luxury 4-star hotel combines quality service with modern comforts. Enjoy a panoramic view of the city from our top-floor restaurant, where the city lights create a romantic glow in the evenings, adding to the atmosphere and attractive ambiance. In addition to the warm decor, all 25 rooms are fully-equipped with a private bathroom and adjustable air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Adamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adamar Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing