We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over booked”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Adamar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Adamar Hotel
Ranked #64 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
122 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Over booked”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

We were to stay here for 6 nights but on arrival were told they were over booked but had arranged for us to stay across the road for the first night then relocate us back. Across the road was indeed across the road, around the corner and down the street. The guy behind the desk went out of his was to try and address our initial disappointment. Once trust is lost it is hard to regain. We were then put on level one over looking the intersection of two busy noisy roads. We were moved again much quieter room but intermittent air conditioning. I question the 4 star rating I suggest 3 more appropriate. You need to like sleeping on really hard beds.
On the positive side the views from the roof are spectacular and the staff are very friendly and helpful. We dined in a couple of evenings and the food was very good. Breakfast was ok but nothing special

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Anita C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    834
    335
    42
    9
    2
See reviews for
348
489
43
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

When my wife and I arrived at the Adamar, the manager offered us a refreshing drink and sat with us in the comfortable lounge to welcome us to his hotel. He provided us with tourist brochures and maps and explained his customer philosophy: we were to consider him our host and we were visiting as friends, he would enjoy looking after our every need and have the bonus of being paid by us. Over the next few days, the manager and his staff lived up to his commitment and assisted us at every opportunity to enjoy our stay.
This was the first time that my wife and I had visited Istanbul. We were only there for four days and needed to maximise our sightseeing opportunities. We could have bought a complete package tour (this reduces the risks of a first time trip to a new country with a new language) but decided to book our own hotel and make up our own basket of sightseeing trips from different providers. The Adamar Hotel is a boutique hotel In the heart of old Istanbul situated within easy walking distance, even for us seniors, of major Sultanahmet sightseeing attractions such as Blue Mosque, Ayasofya, Topkapi Palace, Hippodrome, Binbirderek and Basilica Cisterns, Grand Bazaar.
The Adamar rooms are clean, large and have all the facilities you would expect from a modern hotel. The glass enclosed restaurant on the 6th floor and the open air roof restaurant above provide memorable views over Istanbul. You can see ship movements on the Bosphorous and Golden Horn. At night all the Sultanahmet attractions are illuminated and, in the distance, you can see the first Bosphorous Bridge. We were hooked on the view and ate dinner in the Adamar most nights.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tagteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

City break taken with husband and 23 year old son. The hotel is small, however offers good value for money, being clean and comfortable and within easy walking distance of all the main tourist sites in Sultanamet. The staff are welcoming, helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. Whilst there we had a leak of water through the ceiling in our room, which was dealt with promptly and efficiently whilst we were sight seeing. The view from the top floor restaurant is breath taking, especially at sunset. Food in the restaurant is top class. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone taking a trip to Istanbul, however book through the hotel direct rather than through a booking agency, as we found out from the hotel website after we had booked that they offer a transfer service to and from the airport.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Travelled with 8 month old baby for the first time so was nervous. However staff made us feel very welcome which helped immensely.
Rooms - good size, we had a travel cot and kettle provided too on request
Location - central, walking distance to main sites and also on the flat rather than trekking up and down hills which is common in Istanbul
Travel - 2 tram stops walking distance, Sultanahmet and Gulhane
Facilities - terrace is very nice
Staff - all very friendly, Halil, Yasin and Everit to name a few
Extra - there is a supermarket called Greens about 50m away around the corner, here you can stock up on essentials at much lower prices than from the main tourist sites.

Note: you can buy tickets for the main tourist sites at the same price from reception therefore avoiding the queues at the main sites.

Room Tip: Stayed on 4th floor so away from the noise from street and also restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sloughboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Very nice hotel. Walking distance to main tourists places.
Gran Bazar, Blue Mosque...tem minutes walking.
Nice rooms.
Top floor restaurant with an AMAZING view.
The people from the hotel were very helpful and friendly.
Really worth it!

Room Tip: We shared a triple room and it was very nice. Not very big but really cute!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cristina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

I found my overall stay at the hotel an extremely satisfying and pleasant experience. The hotel is small however do not let that put you off as the service and amazing rooftop panoramic views of the city make it truly worthwhile and very good value for money. The location of the hotel is also a key plus point with all the key tourist attractions within very short walking distance from the hotel. Plus the staff are superb, very friendly and just can't seem to do enough for you. A very warm and welcoming environment that you are unlikely to experience anywhere else. I just can't thank the staff enough for ensuring our stay was excellent. My little boy was ill in the first couple of days however the staff just could not do enough for you to ensure everything was ok. Truly felt like being treated as their own!The food at the restaurant was delicious and complemented with outstanding service. Highly recommend this hotel to anyone thinking of staying in old Istanbul and will definitely return and stay again in the future! Well done to all the staff and management !!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 12johnSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Adamar Hotel for 3 nights in August. We had our 14 month old son with us.

In terms of location, Sultanahmet is perfect for seeing all the tourist destinations. The hotel is within walking distance of the Grand Bazaar and Egyptian Bazaar and almost next door to the Basilica Cistern, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque and a myriad of restaurants and cafes.

We booked directly through the Adamar Hotel website and got a free transfer from Airport to Hotel because we booked for 3 nights (which included buffet breakfast daily) . The transfer was a minivan that was clean and the driver was very friendly. We arrived at the hotel early in the morning and the day manager treated us to complimentary breakfast as our room was not yet ready. The hotel had complimentary wifi however the signal wasn't always strong or accessible from every place in the hotel.

The first night they did not have a large room available so we were squeezed into a smaller room (they offered to let us stay elsewhere for no extra charge but we declined) and because of this tiny inconvenience they gave us the return transfer to the airport for free!! The rooms were clean, had air-conditioning and had all the amenities you might require except for a kettle. However when we required boiling water for my son we went up to the restaurant and they gave it to us without an issue.

The buffet breakfast was excellent with a large variety and all the food was very fresh.
The restaurant to eat at lunch/dinner is expensive compared to the rest of the city however the view from the rooftop terrace is phenomenal, and a must see!

In terms of accommodating a baby/toddler I was very impressed. They had the travel cot set up in the room for us with a pillow and dooner. The restaurant had a high-chair and all the staff were very warm towards him and enjoyed playing with him.

Finally I must commend the day manager (Halil, I think it was). He was very very friendly, spoke almost perfect english and tried to accommodate us with regards to every aspect of our stay. We would happily return to Adamar Hotel and hope to see Halil there again!

Room Tip: If you need a cot, request for one of the bigger rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Foreigners201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Arden City Hotel
Arden City Hotel
#65 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antusa Palace Hotel
Antusa Palace Hotel
#26 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 272 reviews
Sultanahmet
Agora Life Hotel
Agora Life Hotel
#48 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 971 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Nowy Efendi Hotel "Special Class"
Sultanahmet
Dosso Dossi Hotel Old City
Dosso Dossi Hotel Old City
#70 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Sultanahmet
Kybele Hotel
Kybele Hotel
#79 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adamar Hotel

Property: Adamar Hotel
Address: Yerebatan Cad. No:37 Sultanahmet, Fatih | Yerebatan Cad. No:37 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#47 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#57 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#109 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Adamar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Istanbul and surrounded by many of the most famous attractions, this luxury 4-star hotel combines quality service with modern comforts. Enjoy a panoramic view of the city from our top-floor restaurant, where the city lights create a romantic glow in the evenings, adding to the atmosphere and attractive ambiance. In addition to the warm decor, all 25 rooms are fully-equipped with a private bathroom and adjustable air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adamar Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing