We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“View, location and breakfast”
Review of Adamar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Adamar Hotel
Ranked #64 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“View, location and breakfast”
Reviewed April 26, 2012

First day was a nightmare and please avoid room 101, it is small and I could hear all the cars on the street, though it's not busy at night. I asked to change and went on the 4th floor which was fine. Staff are friendly and the view is superb from the restaurant and they serve excellent breakfast. I was slightly disappointed they did not change the bedsheet daily otherwise the room are very clean. The hotel itself is located in a prime tourist spot and the Hagia Sophia and Blue Mosque are within walking distance including the Cistern. There are lots of restaurant nearby which makes it easy after a day out.

Room Tip: Avoid room 101,201 ,etc . Room 302, 402 and 502 are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mac C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    838
    336
    42
    9
    2
See reviews for
351
489
44
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frederiksberg, Denmark
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Perfect location, a short walk to everything.
The staff were very helpful, nice and spoke English.
A wonderful rooftop, I would think the best in town.
The room was small but well functioning and very clean.
Next times in Istanbul I am going to stay at Adamar Hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
118 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Great little hotel with a perfect location to see the major sights of Istanbul by foot. Short walk to get to all major sights, including hop on/off bus station. The staff at hotel are excellent and will help plan any exursion, or even arrange for airport pickup. The hotel has a rooftop restaurant which for an early evening dinner has excellent views of the blue mosque and bospherous. Rooms are clean, and spacious enough for a couple. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leslie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2012

I stayed at the Adamar in 2010 and returned with my son and daughter-in-law for another stay in February 2012. The rooms are not fancy, but they are nice and they are CLEAN! The off-season rates (including tax and breakfast) cannot be beat. You can walk to virtually any site in Istanbul from this location. The staff is great, and we made a fast friend in Bulut, who became our buddy during our stay and even offered to let me use his camera when mine broke. I have no reservations about wholeheartedly endorsing the Adamar after my second stay. Hope to return again.

Room Tip: Get a higher room for more quiet. Walls are a bit thin--but that is common and why I always travel w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lazyike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 30, 2012

Adamar Hotel was an excellent choice and we will definitely be returning. They picked us up at the airport, had a very helpful reception (even with the oddest of our questions) and the rooftop panoramic view is the perfect way to start the day with the complimentary breakfast and end a day with a drink at sunset. Everyone spoke fluent english. Within a block of Aya Sofia and other sights.

Room Tip: The rooms are not the same size. Make sure you indicate the number of people traveling (priced per...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ryanw663
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, dc
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2012

We were worried about staying at the Adamar Hotel just based on the descriptions of the room size and everything on tripadvisor. We were pleasantly surprised on how spacious the rooms were and how comfortable the bed was. We were prepared for a room with little or no space, but our room (Room No. 102) was terrific, although we wished we had a chair instead of a little cube/ottoman to sit on. The bathroom was small, so future guests should be ready for that. However, the location of the hotel is simply amazing. Its about 2 blocks from the Bascilla Cistern, 3 blocks from Hagia Sofia, a 5 minute walk to the Blue Mosque and Topaki Palace, and a 15 minute walk to the Grand Bazaar. The tram is a couple of blocks away as well. You simply cant beat the location and the price for the hotel. The free breakfast was nice - although we wish there was some more variety - we got really sick of eating the same 5-6 things on a daily basis. The views from the restaurant where you have breakfast are amazing. We also got the free one way airport transfer as well.

The only qualm I had was when we were leaving and I asked how much the hotel's service to the airport was, and he quoted me a price of "25," which i thought meant lira, rather than euro. but that may have been my mistake. We also thought the hotel was noisy, but we were prepared for that based on the prior reviews.

To travelers trying to figure out which hotel to stay at, please don't mind that the participants on the Istanbul Forum don't really recommend or tout this hotel. You will not be disappointed on the location/price.

Room Tip: Get a corner room on a high floor to avoid noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank facey007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essen, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

The hotel has nice rooms and is very clean. The service is good and employees very helpful. The roof terrace is great with a perfect view over the city to the Golden Horn. The location of the hotel is really perfect. Hagia Sofia, Blue Mosque and Topkapi Palace are just 5 min walking distance. Fish House Sultanahmet is 3 walking minutes away from the hotel and just delicious. We would definately come back to this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elke A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Arden City Hotel
Arden City Hotel
#71 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Sultanahmet
Antusa Palace Hotel
Antusa Palace Hotel
#24 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Sultanahmet
Agora Life Hotel
Agora Life Hotel
#44 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Nowy Efendi Hotel "Special Class"
Sultanahmet
Dosso Dossi Hotel Old City
Dosso Dossi Hotel Old City
#75 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Sultanahmet
Kybele Hotel
Kybele Hotel
#79 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adamar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adamar Hotel

Property: Adamar Hotel
Address: Yerebatan Cad. No:37 Sultanahmet, Fatih | Yerebatan Cad. No:37 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#48 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#57 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#77 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#109 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Adamar Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of historic Istanbul and surrounded by many of the most famous attractions, this luxury 4-star hotel combines quality service with modern comforts. Enjoy a panoramic view of the city from our top-floor restaurant, where the city lights create a romantic glow in the evenings, adding to the atmosphere and attractive ambiance. In addition to the warm decor, all 25 rooms are fully-equipped with a private bathroom and adjustable air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Adamar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adamar Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing