We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place to stay in Istanbul”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Emine Sultan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Emine Sultan Hotel
Ranked #174 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Best place to stay in Istanbul”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Lovely place. Very helpful and friendly stuff, great location in the centre of the city (near Blue Mosk and Hagia Sofia) but at very quiet street.
Breakfasts on terrace with sea views - it was AMAZING!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yulia Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    504
    172
    36
    5
    8
See reviews for
141
300
77
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2014

The hotel is lovely, the rooms and very clean - beds conferrable and the staff are absolutely first rate and I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting istambul. Fantastic! I had some problems with my bicycle - as soon as I mentioned to the staff,they made every possible effort to fix the problem (which has been running for weeks - they fixed it in one morning!).

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bigminiminty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014

My name is sahar live in Ireland came back on 22/2/14from Emine sultan hotel had lovely time stayed in the suite in third floor for four people there was no lift that's the only negative thing otherwise the staff were very helpful and the breakfast was delicious ... location is fantastic I have seen so many places by walking distance I will definitely stay in that hotel if am visiting Istanbul again ...

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetsahar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aleppo, Syria
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014

We are a family of four, two adults and two children. We booked a suite at emine sultan, a 5 minute walk from the main hotel, yet the decor was very homey and comfortable, and the entire suite very luxurious. They arranged timely transport for us, both to and from the hotel. As for its location, the hotel and suite apartments are situated conveniently close to many great sites in istanbul, all within walking distance (including topakapi, the grand bazaar, and hagia sofia), and there are plenty of great cafes and restaurants in the vicinity. The receptionist, Sumeyye was very kind and helpful, arranging trips for us, and helping us with just about everything we asked of her. The entire staff is incredibly friendly, always offering us things to drink, delivering a plate of chocolates for valentines day, ans and asking us if we needed anything. The rooms were always clean, and the breakfast was just as inviting and clean.
I definitely advise this hotel, and look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malyyy919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014

We are a swiss couple and we loved our stay in the Emine Sultan Hotel. So much! We were juste staying for three days so we had to make the most of it... And we did! Thanks to the service the hotel provided us. Everyone was so helpful, nice, funny, always taking time to discuss with us and give us some good tips... We liked coming back to the hotel at the end of the day, and talk with the people at the reception. It almost felt like family!
The breakfast takes place at the top of the hotel and the view is superb. It makes you start your day with a smile! The rooms are charming, and you sleep like a baby in those beds. You're at less than 5 minutes from the Mosquee and St. Sophia, which is great, because you can almost do anything by foot (which we did, and it is really great, even in winter the sun shines).
We fell in love with Istanbul, and the hotel definetly contributed to it. We want to go back!

Room Tip: The rooms above the first floor must have a prettier view from the windows, but that put besides, ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amandine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

We just got back from a wonderful 6 night stay at Emine Sultan Hotel. I like 5 star luxury hotels and hub prefers boutique properties. On this trip, he won. And I'm glad he did. This charming hotel was ideally located with an incredibly sweet staff.

Initially, I booked the suite with a terrace overlooking the sea but received an email from the manager that it was under renovation. So instead, we ended up in a triple with a sea view.

The Room

Since I was planning on alot of shopping, we brought two large suitcases and two carry-ons. The single bed was big enough to hold both suitcases so we had enough room to move about. The room decor was a bit outdated but it was very clean and the bed was very comfortable (which was really all we wanted). Though it was Feb, we opened the windows both for the beautiful view and the fresh air. The bathroom was also a bit outdated but very clean and the shower had fantastic water pressure.

I'm a light sleeper and as the hotel warns, this is an old building and sound carries. However, with my earplugs, I slept fine. Though there was a closet to hang up some of our things, there was no chest of drawers so we just lived out of our suitcases, which didn't bother us.

Hotel Staff

I had emailed the hotel to let them know this was a special week as it was both my birthday and our anniversary. Upon arrival, we had wine and fruit waiting for us in the room with rose petals strewn throughout at no extra charge. Then everyday afterwards, there was a new surprise, including a plate of desserts on my b-day!

This unbelievable hospitality was in line with the whole atmosphere of the hotel. Everyone who worked there, especially the people at reception, seemed genuinely interested in helping make our entire trip fantastic.

Location

You just can't beat the location with its gorgeous sea views and close proximity to Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque (around a 10-15 minute walk). Plus, the hotel is located in a cute little area with many delicious restaurants around.

Breakfast

Breakfast was fantastic with lots of fresh choices.

Overall

There's a ton of hotels in this area so there are alot of choices. However, Emine Sultan Hotel exceeded our expectations and we'd be happy to stay there again. At a great price and ideal location, this is a real find.

Room Tip: Triple room 202 with a sea view was great and relatively quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlobalGirl358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

We like our stay at Emine a lot. The location is perfect: very close to Blue mosque (ca 5-7 min walk), very pleasant small streets with many hotels and small shops on the way from the hotel to Sultanahmet. On the reception lobby they always have some fruits, lokum and cakes for free for their guests, wich is very nice of them. The staff at the reception was very friendly and helpfull. We stayed at suite bulding, which is like 3 min walk from the main building. The fact that out room was not in the main building was not a problem for us at all. It was actually an advantage, because it is pleasant to walk on that street. Besides that there are only 4 rooms in a suite bulding. So you dont get disturbed by neighbours or anything else. We stayed 3 nights there and have not heard any neghbours at all. I think if you need some privacy the suite buiding is a perfect choice. In addition to that there is small sauna and turkish hamman in suite building, which is really cool. Unfortunatly we didnt have time to use it, but would really like to if we had some more time in this wonderfull place. We stayed in suite with terace and jacuzi. This is eversome. The size of the room if sufficiently big. There are free toiletrees, slippers, coffee and tea. The terrace was very nice and big with a table and branches to sit. We enjoyed it a lot. In our room there was big jaccuzi. it was so big that I think 5 people can stay there at the same time:) this is cool! and it warked quite well. The bed was big and comfortable. There is a sitting area too. 2 armchairs with a small table. I wish we could stay there some more days.
The only small things I would reccommend them to improve:
1) to put an additional rubbish bin to the room, since in our room there was one in the bathroom and one in the terrace, but not in the room. Of course its not critical, but would be more convinient to have it.
2) regarding the cleaning services. every day we woke up very late while the cleaning time for rooms, as I understood is between 11-14. It was a little bit inconvinient time for us. But I am sure if we would have made a request to clean our room after this time the staff would help us with that.
Regarding the window between the bathroom and the room, I think in general now its modern and cool idea. For thouse people who have problem with this I would just recomment not to use the light in the bathroom while you are there if you need privacy since the light from the room is sufficient enough to use the bathroom.
I visit Istanbul quite often and this was the best place I have ever stayed in. And I am sure we would not be able to get a better choice for that period of time taking into account our requests to the facilities, services, location and price. Thank you! We would really like to come back to Emine again, preferably to the same room if the price would be in the same range as we got it for :)

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank manager-zeytun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Historia Hotel
Historia Hotel
#152 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#43 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 721 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#58 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Tashkonak Hotel
Tashkonak Hotel
#87 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,448 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
#146 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 456 reviews
Sultanahmet
Almina Hotel
Almina Hotel
#75 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emine Sultan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emine Sultan Hotel

Property: Emine Sultan Hotel
Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Cad. Kapiagasi Sok. No:6 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#68 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#89 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#133 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Emine Sultan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Emine Sultan Hotel, Located in the old city of Istanbul, small boutique hotel that has only 10 rooms, we have very nice see view in our Terrace and some of our rooms, our hotel is max. 10 Minutes away from Historical Places by walking. We have open buffet Breakfast with special Turkish homemade cookies etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Emine Sultan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Emine Sultan
Emine Sultan Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing