We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of My Dora Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
My Dora Hotel
Ranked #370 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great value and location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights and the hotel was smart, room was cozy and neat. The location was stiuated conceniently near to almost famous attraction in istanbul, we made our trip at Hotel for sightseeing the city and locals. Manager of hotel was smiling and inviting. Great stay!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sparkkling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    44
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
11
29
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cagliari
Level Contributor
67 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

This hotel is ideal in many respects. First of all, the area: staying in Kadikoy, on the Asian side, is definitely better than staying on the European side (especially in Sultanahmet): Kadikoy is less touristy, more authentic and interesting, and you can reach the European side by a nice, comfortable and pleasant ride on the ferry-boats which set off every 20 minutes. The hotel is very close (100 meters) to the pier and to where the buses depart for Sabiha Gokcen airport.
The rooms are fairly big, clean, nicely furnished, and they have complimentary tea/coffe facilities and water in the minibar, free wifi and Jacuzzi in the bathroom. The staff are professional, nice and helpful. It's value for money too: we paid 905 Turkish Liras (385 Euros) for 5 nights, buffet breakfast included.
Just a couple of little issues: buffet breakfast is plentiful, good and turkish-style (feta cheese, olives, cucumber...) but included hardly any sweet things (some croissants and - especially! - baklavas would do); central heating was not adjustable and the room got pretty stuffy during the night; in spite of the soundproof windows, if you stay in a room on the first floor which looks onto the main street, it's quite noisy.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bathor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

It was impossible to be at the other side of Istanbul on time due to traffic ..We enjoyed the beautiful Bahariye district ,it was already late to go home and needed to come back early in the morning to pick up some items that we ordered . We usually stay at doubletree by Hilton at Moda if we need to stay at the asian side of Istanbul,but they were full due to ..Me and my husband came across with this small hotel and really you can not imagine how nice it could be an old building turn to a hotel..It was totally non smoking but the team has arranged a nice terrace for smokers half open ,half closed with complimentary tea,coffee station nice wooden furniture ..the best part was to watch the bosphorus and be amazed with the well litted old Haydarpasa gar view....Rooms were very clean ,well arranged and bathroom had a great rain shower with massage fixtures..Probably we'll be there again to continue shopping till the late evenings in Bahariye...Thanks to my Dora hotel team.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bassenko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MYDORA, Front Office Manager at My Dora Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
As Dora Hotel Family, reading your kind review made all of us very happy. The most motivating thing for us is receiving such nice comments from our guests.
Accepting you also as a member of Dora Hotel Family, we will be very happy to host you with the same passion in Dora Hotel when you come back to Istanbul.

Hope to see you soon.
Best Wishes from Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
57 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

when you get off the ferry turn left and walk through the bus park hotel ıs then opposıte look up for sıgn.kadıkoy ıs a great area,no tourıst crowds and loads of eat and drınk places.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GRAHAM H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jozz13
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012 via mobile

Lovely hotel in a great location on the Asian side - away from the rip-off tourist areas but close enough and only 5 minutes to get to the ferry across to the key sights on the European side. Travel is cheap too (2tl for ferry, tram & train any distance). Hotel is very clean, comfortable & quiet. Good selection in the buffet breakfast; staff very friendly & helpful. Lots of bars, good inexpensive places to eat & variety of shops etc all close to the hotel. It cost us only 6tl each to get from Ataturk Airport to the hotel with no hassle (by metro, tram & ferry) and was a pleasant journey. Also saw a Havas shuttle going to Sabiha Gokcen airport across the road. Would rather stay in a hotel on this side for sightseeing, than the European side and this hotel was excellent. Highly recommended!

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank jozz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

I was passing through Istanbul on my way elsewhere and decided to stop for an extended (2 day) layover. A week before my arrival, I attempted to book some of the cheaper and more popular places in Sultanahmet, but was unsuccessful. My Dora is on the Asian side of the Bosporus, and so I didn't have any difficulty making a last-minute reservation.

I would have preferred to be walking distance to the old city, but it turned out very well at My Dora. It's walking distance (~2 minutes) to the ferry, which is super cheap (2 TKL) and easy, and provides nice bookends to a day of walking around the sights on the European side.

The rooms were very comfortable and clean, no complaints at all. Breakfast was simple but filling with plenty of vegetables, olives, cheeses, bread, and tea/coffee.

I highly recommend My Dora Hotel, but if you have to take a taxi from Ataturk Int'l Airport, add another $40 USD to your costs (more if you land one of the unscrupulous ones, as I did).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank teldonh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2012

Stayed here for a few days last summer. checked out few other places in Kadikoy, i definitely think this is the best one. very clean room and friendly service. i love the breakfast in the terrace. definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emreozen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MYDORA, Front Office Manager at My Dora Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
As Dora Hotel Family, reading your kind review made all of us very happy. The most motivating thing for us is receiving such nice comments from our guests.
Accepting you also as a member of Dora Hotel Family, we will be very happy to host you with the same passion in Dora Hotel when you come back to Istanbul.

Hope to see you soon.
Best Wishes from Istanbul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Iskele Boutique Hotel
#713 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 27 reviews
Parkhouse Hotel
#575 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Kadıköy
Khalkedon Hotel Istanbul
Khalkedon Hotel Istanbul
#302 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Zirve Hotel
#343 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Akin Suites Istanbul
#487 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Rihtim Otel
#800 of 1,129 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to My Dora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My Dora Hotel

Property: My Dora Hotel
Address: Rihtim Cad. Recaizade Sok. No 6, Istanbul 34716, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #370 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — My Dora Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your My Dora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing