We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of Kupeli Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kupeli Hotel
Ranked #443 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We stayed here for one night because the hotel we had booked into had been double-booked. We had a very different experience to the other reviewers, and actually found it quite disappointing. The room we were given was very small - there was hardly any space between the bed and the wall, and there was very little room elsewhere. We're not fussy people when it comes to space - we'd just finished backpacking around Europe - but we barely had enough space to lay both of our suitcases down. We arrived for breakfast just before it finished - so we weren't really expecting much, but the tables were dirty and the waiter made no effort to clean them up for us, so we had to eat our breakfast surrounded by crumbs. Meanwhile, while we were at breakfast the maids had come in to make up our room - even though we were checking out that morning - and had taken our towels without replacing them. So I had to brush teeth etc without any towels. The hotel is in a good location, but we enjoyed our stay much more at the Legend Hotel, just around the corner.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emsy5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (424)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 424 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2012

Location has already been mentioned. My air-conditioned room was at the front of the hotel and I stayed mid-week through the weekend. I didn't find it overly noisy (it's located on a fairly busy street off the main thoroughfare), however the walls are quite thin and neighbours can be heard coughing and talking. The room was clean, tidy and comfortable if a little on the small side. If you are looking for a thoroughly modern, colour co-ordinated interior with throws and cushions everywhere - jog on. This hotel is for travellers who are more interested in what is outside of the hotel as opposed to one hundred and one facilities and gadgets in their room/hotel. The breakfast (from 7:30am) was a Turkish buffet affair and was great for kick-starting the day - again, if you expect cooked English Breakfasts you will be disappointed. Staff were very helpful and courteous. I would recommend using the safe (not that I think staff are light fingered). I had a bad experience where the cleaner left my room door open wide all day with spare keys sticking out of the lock. I am certain this was a one-off, but it did make me feel slightly edgy for the rest of my stay (expensive photography equipment doesn't fit in the safe. That blip aside, I would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank B_Thurston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

I soend 10 day in kupeli hotel and I found the hotel excelant with very good location and with very friendly staff specialy Bulent Yilmaz , Kamal Ayding and turgay whose every time offer for any help and ask us did we want tea or coffie and allways smileing and welcome us ..thank you kupeli hotel staff and manager ..

Room Tip: my room was 302 and its very nice
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
Thank nawaf a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Kupeli Hotel was recommended by an agent from lastminute.com and we didn't regret our decision to stay at the hotel. The hotel is in a prefect location, the heart of Sultanahmet old city of Istanbul, it's 5-10mins walking distance to major tourist attractions like The Blue mosque, Grand Bazaar, Sainte Sophia etc. The staff were wonderful & many thanks to Ozgur and his team & they all speak english. All in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Funmi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

My friend Mirjana, her daughter, and I spent 5 days here in June. I paid for two rooms, one room for the ladies and one for me. These rooms were quiet, clean, and not cramped. We checked-in around 8 PM and ate a delicious dinner in the restaurant just across the street. This hotel is centrally located near many of Istanbul's old city tourist attractions like the Grand Baazar and Blue Mosque. The tram/metro stop, to the rest of Istanbul not in walking distance, was only a couple hundred meters from the hotel. The staff spoke English well and the owner (Denis) was there daily overseeing the operation. Breakfast was served until 10:30 AM on the 6th floor and accessible by an elevator. And from that balcony, you could see the Bosporus Strait over the rooftops of surrounding buildings. I agree with some of the others whom have written reviews, this small hotel (approx 20 rooms) rates somewhere between a very high 3 star to a 4 star experience. I would have no problem recommending this hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Larry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

the hotel is situated in the heart of Sultanahmet old city. the rooms are smaller than they appear but they are clean with all the comfort necessary to spend some days.The hotel is not far from the tram. we can go to many important sites such as The Blue Mosque or Sainte Sophia on foot as well as to the Bazar.The breakfast is made of a lot of varieties from salty to sweety aliments. The staff is wonderful. Special thanks to Kemal, to Ozgur, to Emrak, to Atillah and to Selim.They are real professionals.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wailsissibouayed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2012

I'd chosen Kupeli Hotel based on the reviews of other TripAdvisor users and I don't regret my decision. It's in the perfect location, in the middle of the Old City of Istanbul, 5-10 mins walking distance of major tourist attractions. The tram stop is also only 2 mins away. So yeah, location-wise it couldn't get any better.
Our room was a little small (and in general I'd say this hotel is more of a 3+ star than 4), but was clean and also very quiet, which is a bonus in Istanbul. The breakfast was also a 3 star experience, but sufficient enough for starting off the day.
On the other hand the staff were just amazing! Especially Ozgur, Atilla and Kemal, who all spoke very good English. We actually spent our last night drinking tea, smoking and chatting with the latter two and a few other guests until very late.
And it is the staff who made me rate this hotel 5/5, instead of the 4/5 it should really get. All in all a great place to stay at, if you're going to Istanbul for the experience rather than the view from your hotel window or the size of the TV screen in your room...

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ttila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
#485 of 1,163 in Istanbul
365 reviews
Sultanahmet
Santa Sophia Hotel
Santa Sophia Hotel
#558 of 1,163 in Istanbul
229 reviews
Fener & Balat
Lotus Hotel Istanbul
Lotus Hotel Istanbul
#319 of 1,163 in Istanbul
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Asmali Hotel
Asmali Hotel
#899 of 1,163 in Istanbul
360 reviews
Sultanahmet
Galata Istanbul Hotel
Galata Istanbul Hotel
#571 of 1,163 in Istanbul
102 reviews
Sultanahmet
Serenity Hotel Istanbul
Serenity Hotel Istanbul
#733 of 1,163 in Istanbul
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kupeli Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kupeli Hotel

Address: Eminsinan Mah.Gedikpasa Hamam Cad. No 4 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#65 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#154 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#235 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $20 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kupeli Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Travelocity, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Kupeli Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kupeli Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing