We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not in Eminonu - cheap but cheerful”
Review of Hotel Antik Ipek

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Antik Ipek
Ranked #857 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Hotel is actually in Kumkapi, which, can only be described as a somewhat 'interesting and cosmopolitan' area. I was initially meant to
Be staying here on my own but very thankfully my partner was able to come with me otherwise, I would definitely not have left the hotel on my own at night.

The hotel is very noisy at nighttime - but for a budget hotel is what you would expect. The bathroom was in dire need of a deep clean (including a stained toilet seat) other than that the bedding was clean And bed quite comfortable.

Staff were extremely helpful and the wireless signal was good all over hotel ( wireless routers on all floors)

All in all for £26 p n not a bad hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank hubahubayumyum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (44)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Antik Ipek
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 44 reviews

Reviewed April 11, 2012

Location first:
5 minutes walk to Kumkapi railway station which is quite nice,
15 minutes uphill to Beyazit subway station and Grand Bazaar.
Right beside the hotel is a police station with a penitentiary for foreigners in custody pending deportation as well as a mosque. The hotel itself is located at a noisy street, thus together with the mosque this was not the ideal place to relax in the evening.

Rooms:
General Appearance - old fashioned and run down, especially our bathroom.
There was an old refridgerator in our room which made a lot of noise so we simply unplugged it. As to electrical sockets: 1 in the room and one in the bathroom.
Bed was comfortable, room wasn't too hot or too cold. Bedding seemed ok.
Bathroom was old and stained. I saw other bathrooms in the hotel which were modernized but not ours.
We asked to change our room but were refused as they told us that this was the best room in the entire hotel.

Breakfast:
normal selection of typical turkish food.
Tablecloth and tableware were stained thus seemed dirty.

People were smoking everywhere in the hotel even though it is against the law to smoke in hotels. The luggage room was unattended, thus leaving us with an uneasy feeling.
The staff tried to push us to book tours.

Everything did function all right but I have been in other hotels for the same price which were a lot lovelier. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone, rather stay in a hostel or pay more.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank guineapiglet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

We were 3 couples and stayed there on January 2011 for 5 days. The place was quite cheap for us. We got nice clean rooms, they were small, but this wasn't a problem for us, we had just a place to sleep. The staff was friendly and welcome, no problem here. The hotel located not far from the centre of historical part of the town and from tram station. It is also not far from the shore, so you can go down and buy a fresh fish and ask a nearby restraunt to cook it for you. The hotel isn't far from many shops and food courts where you can have cheap and tasty dishes. We found only two minuses of this place: 1. Breakfasts in the hotel weren't good, we all didn't like it, don't use. 2. They have thin walls there, so you can hear what your neighborhoods do, but luckily there weren't many guests that time.
Anyway, we had good time and warm memories about Istanbul and the hotel also, I can recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank koteikos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

We had confirmed reservations at a nearby hotel ( Malabadi beyezit) for 55 eruos. hey stiffed us but hustled us down the hill to this place. ( for the same price; RIPOFF) We had to leave early so I can't comment on the breakfast. The room was small and dirty. Pillows like bags of sand and cheap matterus. The free wifi didn't work on the 4th floor. This place is part of a scam. Take your chances here. I'm not a picky person but this is a shady operation!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank luxhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

This hotel isn't as bad (for the price) as some reviewers claim. A lot of what they say is right (the breakfast is just about ok, they seem to be running some kind of import/export business with Africa from the lobby, and so on) but AS LONG AS YOU GET A ROOM ON THE FRONT, and I can't stress that enough, you should be all right. The location is perfect for most of the sights in Istanbul, yet the area is genuinely, authentically (perhaps even too authentically...) local. The manager, Ramazan Gol, tries to be helpful and speaks good English. The other staff try to be helpful but don't speak a word of anything other than Turkish, sometimes with quite hilarious results!

The only thing that really irritated us, because it was so stupid and needless, was that despite the fact we booked months before coming here, when we arrived we were put in rooms I am loath to even call by that name. Stifling little cupboards under the stairs might be more appropriate. When we remonstrated, we were almost immediately shown to perfectly pleasant rooms a few floors up, on the (non-noisy) front. So WHY ON EARTH weren't we put there from the start? It would've have changed our whole attitude to the hotel and this review would probably have been a lot better!!

Oh, and be warned: don't take the manager's proffered recommendation of a fish restaurant in the horrendously touristy area just behind the back of the hotel. We stayed in Istanbul for five days and generally ate very well for very little money. At the fish restaurant we ate appallingly badly and got thoroughly ripped off, after being accompanied there personally by the manager who assured us that the restaurant owner would "take good care of us". He certainly did that!

Room Tip: Accept nothing less than a room on the front, and on the upper floors
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dickonfotheringay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Don't be fooled by the name of the hotel: there's nothing "antique" or "silky" (ipek) about it. Rooms are pretty small and basic. Bed sheets, covers and upholstery leave the impression of not being cleaned for a long time. My window was level with a trash dump between the hotel and next buildings.

Bathroom floor was not clean - we had to use slippers every time we stepped on it. There was no shampoo, and when I asked for it, I was brought some more soap and told that "shampoo is not included".

On the upside: the staff, as everywhere in Turkey, was helpful. I overheard them giving quite helpful and detailed shopping advice to other guests. The payment is accepted in the currency of your choice, with commercial rates - there's no "hotel rate" nonsense. I was staying with a kid - nobody was haggling about his age and/or demanding extra payment. Breakfast was basic, but OK.

The main advantages of the hotel, I suppose, are the low price and proximity to Grand Bazaar and Laleli shopping district. I had an impression that the management is content with these winning ponts and is not willing to do much beyond providing just passable service for everything else.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HafizQayib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2011

Pros:
* Good location: 2 stops on street car from Sultanahmet area & near fish restaurants
* Very service-oriented & helpful hotel manager, Ramazan Gol
* Clean bathroom, sheets, & blankets
* Free Internet
Cons
* Very noisy, especially if your room is near the staircase from lobby
* Dirty floor/carpet in room
* V. small, claustrophobic room with a somewhat grimy feeling
* Very poor lighting
* Desk staff other than hotel manager friendly but in general incompetent: a message we left for 2 friends at 10PM was not passed on to them when they arrived at midnite -- in fact our friends were told we had checked out! Our friends never received the message during the next 3 days.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is not noisy
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank casjf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Amber Hotel
#72 of 1,159 in Istanbul
648 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
#518 of 1,159 in Istanbul
364 reviews
Tayhan Hotel
#999 of 1,159 in Istanbul
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Abella Hotel
Abella Hotel
#1,033 of 1,159 in Istanbul
93 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ast Hotel
Ast Hotel
#1,043 of 1,159 in Istanbul
130 reviews
Beyazıt
Antik Hotel Istanbul
Antik Hotel Istanbul
#528 of 1,159 in Istanbul
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Antik Ipek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Antik Ipek

Address: Kumkapi Cifte Gelinler Cad. No 39:41 | Eminönü, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #857 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $30 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Antik Ipek 2*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Antik Ipek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing