We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding hotel and base to explore Istanbul”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
GLK PREMIER Regency Suites & Spa
Ranked #46 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Outstanding hotel and base to explore Istanbul”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

This hotel is absolutely wonderful. It is located in an ideal location to explore the sites of old Istanbul. The rooms easily accommodate a family of four which is a great relief coming from the USA. The staff is top notch especially for Turkey, where hospitality and good command if english can be elusive in many cases.

The food in the restaurant is generally quite good, particularly when compared to the other offerings in that part of town (which tend to be overpriced tourist traps with below average food run by pushy wait staff). Often you can have the terrace almost alone with attentive staff and amazing views. Breakfast is excellent and included in the room rates.

Wifi is reliable, and the hotel will arrange airport transfers (avoiding the often dicey taxi services of the city) and any tours desired. As other review have mentioned, rooms are quite, clean, and well appointed.

All in all this place is great. My family and I have stayed here two years in a row and will do so again in any trips to Istanbul.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nbamba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    98
    16
    6
    1
See reviews for
167
206
25
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We had a two night stay over with our 16 and 13 year old children and can recommend this little hotel without hesitation. The staff is friendly and helpful and went out of their way to make our stay memorable. Our flight back to South Africa was late the evening and although we checked out at 12pm they welcomed us back at 6 the afternoon to have a refreshing shower before we caught a taxi to the airport. The hotel is situated in a vibrant street and although the street side cafes were quite busy during evenings we were never bothered by noise when going to sleep. Our visit to Istanbul was way too short and we hope to be welcomed again at the Regency Suites in the not too distant future.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Johan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We arrived in Istanbul to run the Istanbul Marathon and booked this hotel due to the wonderful location. We arrived a bit earlier than check-in but the front desk was so friendly that we first had some chai and then they took us to our rooms. The room were small but this is typical in Istanbul. The decor was nice and the bathrooms were remodeled. The light breakfast buffet provided was good. The location is located very close (a 5 minute walk) to the Sultanahmet district. After the marathon, we were able to come back to the hotel and have a nice lunch across the street at the café. I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Istanbul...fabulous location!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PennyJo1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2013

As mentioned by other contributors this is a good option for short stays in istanbul as it is very well located near most of the tourist attractions in Sultanahmet. We found the room to be in very good condition and big enough for two persons. In the room you can get free water every day and some coffee and tea. Although the room was facing the street we never get any problem to sleep (even though there were a lot of restaurants in the street).

Service was excellent all the time it was needed.
Wifi connection was sometimes not so good, but this wasn´t a major problem. Breakfast was fine with a good selection and they can also cook any omelette or egg as you wish.

Near the hotel is plenty of restaurants, although we didn't try them. There are also many small shops around, but they will always overcharge if you buy water or any other thing.

The tram stop at Sultanahmet is 10 minutes walking from the Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Prayanak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2013

The hotel staff made arrangements for trasportation for me and family ( 6 people and 11 bag and carry ons) for 40 Euro each way which was like a breeze , we arrived at 7 AM and let us do early check in to one of the rooms after having breakfast which was a releif after long trip from US.
The staff were wonderful and tried their best to help us , the hotel was clean and Quiet which was ideal for my family . Everybody enjoyed staying and loved it.The location was wonderful with easy access to all places . Highly recommend this though little bit pricey but worth it,

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HassanBitar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

When we drove up to this 16 room hotel, bearing a downmarket US brand, in a street of small hotels our expectations were not high. But it turned out to be a wonderful hotel to be a base for exploring Istanbul over 5 days. Our room was big on the fourth floor. It was elegant and well proportioned. A very comfortable place to relax before or after a visit to a historic or modern part of the city. The staff is wonderful. Each one caring and helpful. Service was of a quality unachievable in even the most famous international hotels, because the hotel in so small and the staff so attentive. One example is that the room was cleaned while we were having breakfast so after eating you return to fresh accommodation. Quite a different standard from a big hotel where pressing the "make up room" button never gets the instant attention one expects. Food in the restaurant - breakfast and dinner - were excellent in Turkish style. Wi-Fi worked well. Difficult to find fault, and recommended without reservation.

Room Tip: 402 is a large room. No view except the next building, but who stays in the room as a tourist?
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oriental88traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
223 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I chose this hotel because I'd stayed on this street (Akbiyik Caddesi) some 8 years before.
It's a great location for restaurants and for sight-seeing (75% of the top sights in Istanbul are within 10-15 minutes walk, such as Hagia Sofia, Blue Mosque, Basilica Cistern, Mosaic Museum, Topkapi Palace), and the Sultanahmet Tram stop is close as well for getting further afield (such as Grand Bazaar or Bosphorus Boat Trip).
We stayed here for 5 nights; there are only 14 rooms, the restaurant serves a decent breakfast including made-to-order omelettes, and also evening meals.
There is a small 3-person lift, otherwise the stairs are a very tight spiral.
The room was very spacious, a very comfortable bed.
There was no noise from the street outside.
The TV has over 100 channels, with BBC World in English as Channel 1.
There was a refrigerator/mini-bar in the room, all mineral water was free, but there was no ice.
The room had 3 chairs and a sofa (one of the chairs appeared to convert into a single sofabed).
There was an electronic safe in the room (at no extra charge).
The sides of the bath were a bit high, I guessed at 22 inches / 55 cm, perhaps difficult for those with restrictions on hip movement when stepping in/out of the shower.
For some reason we didn't get offered the omelettes on the last 2 days.
There isn't a swimming pool, but there was a spa and health club in the basement.
There was a roof terrace - nice to sit and drink up there in the evenings.

Room Tip: I think all rooms face the street, so they're all the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kapple999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
GLK PREMIER Sea Mansion Suites & Spa
Sultanahmet
GLK PREMIER Acropol Suites & Spa
Sultanahmet
GLK PREMIER The Home Suites & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sura Design Hotel & Suites
Sura Design Hotel & Suites
#111 of 1,156 in Istanbul
919 reviews
Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
#122 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GLK PREMIER Regency Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GLK PREMIER Regency Suites & Spa

Property: GLK PREMIER Regency Suites & Spa
Address: Akbiyik Cad. No. 38, Istanbul 34122, Turkey (Formerly BEST WESTERN PREMIER Regency Suites & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#27 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#30 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#106 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — GLK PREMIER Regency Suites & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Istanbul Art De Vivre!Located at he heart of Istanbul between Europe and Asia, the GLK PREMIER Regency Suites Hotel & Spa commands an extensive view of a relatively small area that has nonetheless witnessed 2000 years of the history of some of the richest civilisations humanity has ever known: Ancient, Greece the Roman Empire, The Byzantine Empire and the Ottoman Empire!It is only a few steps from the Blue Mosque, Saint Sophie and Topkapi Palace. The hotel, a lovely mansion built in 1905, is a listed historic monument today. The elegance of its origin is still amply visible in the neo-classical moulding on the facade and the solid wood or beige Bursa granite floors. Numerous details and features in the house bear witness to a world of such sophistication that its sultans are portrayed holding a flower.The hotel's rugs, like the motifs on the walls, seem to have stepped straight out of the Topkapi Palace.As century old traditions require, the hammam of the GLK PREMIER Regency Suites Hotel & Spa features a suite of three rooms with different functions: hot room, warm room and cool room.The hotel is equally dedicated to maintaining state-of-the-art international hotel standards, which rather than detracting from its historic past, leave its guests free to savour and appreciate this heritage.In this way, the GLK PREMIER Regency Suites Hotel & Spa distils the quintessence of Istanbul's distinctive lifestyle, particularly from its 16 suites:the dome of the Blue Mosque surrounded by six slender minarets, the monotonous chant of the muezzin, the enchanting hush that reigns over the city in the morning, the sweetly scented Topkapi Park, the view of Bosphorous or the Marmara Sea on which the Prince's Islands seem almost to float or its mouth-watering exotic cuisine, etc. The justly dubbed 'Golden Horn', which the hotel overlooks, sumptuously sums up the inexhaustible wealth of this matchless location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your GLK PREMIER Regency Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier Regency Hotel Istanbul
Best Western Premier Regency Suites And Spa
Best Western Premier Hotel
Best Western Istanbul
Istanbul Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing