We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel with wonderful service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
GLK PREMIER Regency Suites & Spa
Ranked #42 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We just left this hotel after a 3 night stay booked via Expedia. As with any vacation booking, it's hard to know if the photos will be accurate. We were not disappointed. The hotel is small (12 rooms) but they are clean and modern. We have 2 children ages 5 &9 and we had room 201 which faced onto the street. The hotel is on a cute cobblestone road with lots of shopping, restaurants and hotels. In fact, there are 2 other Best Westerns on the same road. It's also close to the waterfront. We had a king sized bed plus 2 singles, plenty of room for all plus a jetted tub. Very close to the key attractions (Topkapi Palace, Blue Mosque, Aya Sofya). We used the turkish bath one day and it was amazing. Great for getting over jet lag. The staff are friendly and we had a nice fruit basket, bottle of wine and dried fruits and nuts waiting as a welcome gift when we arrived. The breakfast is traditional Turkish with eggs made to order and they make a terrific cafe latte as well! All in all we had a great time and would highly recommend this hotel. Don't let the Best western label fool you, this is a boutique hotel with a great location. The beds were also very comfortable with crisp duvets. Lots of restaurant choices on the same road. We ate next door at the Turquoise but I would say it was just mediocre. All in all a great stay!

Room Tip: Room 201 had a nice view of the street out front. The mosque is noisy at prayer time but I don'...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLandMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (504)
There are newer reviews for GLK PREMIER Regency Suites & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 504 reviews

Reviewed March 24, 2013

We spent 4 nights in a family suite. We travelled with 2 young boys 13 and 10, we had a wonderful family room. We cannot say enough about the kind hotel staff and wonderful Mr. Murcel the hotel manager.

Our children did not want to leave Istanbul. The food at the hotel was excellent from the breakfast to the dinners.

The manager recommended a restaurant across the street ( Tria Ellegance) and the food there was the best we ate in Istanbul.

The Turkish bath at the hotel was great. We enjoyed that and the kids got massages at the hotel's Spa. The hotel is small and has only 16 rooms don't be fooled by that. It is cleaner and nicer than many fancy hotels we have stayed at.

More than anything it was the kindness and friendliness of the staff that made our stay memorable.

The location is excellent for old city sights.

Room Tip: Suite is nice.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rans_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Excellent place to stay if your going to Istanbul. It has everything you need for a great stay in the city, close to all the major attractions.

It also has great views of the city. The staff are very very helpful and respond to your needs and inquiries in a timely and effective manner.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AvidTraveller312659
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Spent four nights here and couldn't argue with less than £80/night for a good sized room with a balcony and breakfast included.

The hotel is small and the decor is traditional. Staff are friendly, helpful, and courteous. Peaceful, with no disturbance from the street at night. Good bed with a firm mattress. Interior bathroom with a slight smell of drains, but scrupulously cleaned.

There are plenty of restaurants in the street (be choosy - not all are equal).

The location is perfect for the main historic sites, just 5 mins from Sultanahmet Square, and a great base for exploring further.

Great base for a cultural immersion.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Most hotels in Sultanahmet old town are sandwiched in terraced rows of restaurants, cafes and other hotels (unless of course you go to somewhere like Four Seasons). Don't let this put you off. Because of the tightly packed businesses it means that they build upwards rather than backwards or sideways. This hotel looked tiny from the outside, but when inside the rooms were spacious, the spa and sauna where lovely (located in the basement of the hotel) and it's location in the heart of the old town was perfect.

A taxi ride from Ataturk airport cost us 50 TL on arrival and 45 TL for the return trip for a 20-25 min journey (don't tip the taxi driver, it's not expected in Istanbul). We were offered a drink on arrival (I had a large glass of red wine and my partner had a large beer) and we were shown to our room. Plenty of towels in the room and more available if you want them, a dressing gown and flip-flop slippers also in the room. Our room looked over the main street and at night you can hear the restaurants with people milling around. This shouldn't bother you because you should be out when it's at its busiest. The mornings were quiet on the street and I had no trouble sleeping at all even though I am quite a light sleeper.

We didn't eat in the restaurants on the same street as our hotel as we found some really nice restaurants only a 5-10 min walk away. Each restaurant has a 'spotter' out on the street that will call you over and try and get you inside to eat or drink. It's easier just to walk straight past them and say 'no' or 'we'll come back tomorrow'. If you stop to talk they are very pushy. The hotel is literally round the corner from the Blue Mosque, the Hagia Sophia and the Topkapi Palace. It's also only a 10-15 min walk to the Grand Bazaar and the same to the Spice Bazaar.

We bought an Eyewitness Travel Top 10 Istanbul guide book which was very helpful in finding really nice restaurants and locating all the main tourist attractions. We ate at various restaurants in the evenings ranging from 120 TL (£40) to 220TL (£75) for two with starter and main with a bottle of wine and bottled water. The most expensive night was at Sarnic which is located in an old Byzantine cistern where there was live music with a violinist and pianist and a roaring fire on one wall. I say expensive but considering what we got, £75 is a bargain. We didn't have to book because we went in winter however if you go in high season I suggest you book a table.

We tried to go in the Spice Bazaar but the foot traffic was immense. Me and my partner lost one another right at the beginning because once you're caught in the movement of people it's impossible to change direction. We had to leave the Bazaar to find each other again - nightmare!

You have to buy some turkish delight and turkish loose tea. It's delicious!!

In summary, the hotel is ideally placed with plenty to occupy us in the 4 days we were there. The staff were helpful and friendly, the breakfast was plentyful with hot and cold selections and the room was spacious. All in all an excellent holiday.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hmjg2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

A totally lovely hotel with a great team of well managed, friendly staff. Stayed with friends and we were all amazed at the quality and the value of this well located hotel, 5 mins from the Blue Mosque and in an area with lots of restaurants and bags of character. Impromptu decision to have lunch there as soon as we arrived was a good decision. The young chef is really excellent - delicious mezze and a great choice of lamb, fish and vegetarian dishes. Good wine. I just loved the hotel which totally surprised us for its perfect mix of customer care, quality and value for money. No time to try the spa but it looked good.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank milly_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in this small boutique hotel last December.Rooms are small (I booked 1 honeymoon suite and 1 jr suite) compare to Asian hotel standard.1 Elevator serves 5 floors.Very small and steep staircase, typical for old and small building.The room in general very good : clean and well maintained.Worth the money if you consider Four Seasons hotel on its next door that charge 3-4 times of this hotel price.Very close to Blue Mosque, Topkappi and Hagan Sophia. Grand bazaar is only two stops of Tram. Sulaymen tomb and Sultan Ahmed Ii tomb also within walking distance.Restaurant and cafe really in your surrounding.On top of it, the hotel service is superb.Just tell them what you want and you can rest assured everything will be taken care of.They serve Turkish breakfast so make sure you can deal with sugar and sweets.

Room Tip: Try the honeymoon suites as it is the only room that has a sea view
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank taufik_sd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
GLK PREMIER Acropol Suites & Spa
Sultanahmet
GLK PREMIER Sea Mansion Suites & Spa
Sultanahmet
GLK PREMIER The Home Suites & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet
Sura Design Hotel & Suites
Sura Design Hotel & Suites
#104 of 1,159 in Istanbul
926 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
#121 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GLK PREMIER Regency Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GLK PREMIER Regency Suites & Spa

Address: Akbiyik Cad. No. 38, Istanbul 34122, Turkey (Formerly BEST WESTERN PREMIER Regency Suites & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#26 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#28 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#105 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $119 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — GLK PREMIER Regency Suites & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Istanbul Art De Vivre!Located at he heart of Istanbul between Europe and Asia, the GLK PREMIER Regency Suites Hotel & Spa commands an extensive view of a relatively small area that has nonetheless witnessed 2000 years of the history of some of the richest civilisations humanity has ever known: Ancient, Greece the Roman Empire, The Byzantine Empire and the Ottoman Empire!It is only a few steps from the Blue Mosque, Saint Sophie and Topkapi Palace. The hotel, a lovely mansion built in 1905, is a listed historic monument today. The elegance of its origin is still amply visible in the neo-classical moulding on the facade and the solid wood or beige Bursa granite floors. Numerous details and features in the house bear witness to a world of such sophistication that its sultans are portrayed holding a flower.The hotel's rugs, like the motifs on the walls, seem to have stepped straight out of the Topkapi Palace.As century old traditions require, the hammam of the GLK PREMIER Regency Suites Hotel & Spa features a suite of three rooms with different functions: hot room, warm room and cool room.The hotel is equally dedicated to maintaining state-of-the-art international hotel standards, which rather than detracting from its historic past, leave its guests free to savour and appreciate this heritage.In this way, the GLK PREMIER Regency Suites Hotel & Spa distils the quintessence of Istanbul's distinctive lifestyle, particularly from its 16 suites:the dome of the Blue Mosque surrounded by six slender minarets, the monotonous chant of the muezzin, the enchanting hush that reigns over the city in the morning, the sweetly scented Topkapi Park, the view of Bosphorous or the Marmara Sea on which the Prince's Islands seem almost to float or its mouth-watering exotic cuisine, etc. The justly dubbed 'Golden Horn', which the hotel overlooks, sumptuously sums up the inexhaustible wealth of this matchless location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your GLK PREMIER Regency Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier Regency Hotel Istanbul
Best Western Premier Regency Suites And Spa
Best Western Premier Hotel
Best Western Istanbul
Istanbul Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing