We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for a City Break in Istanbul”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
GLK PREMIER Regency Suites & Spa
Ranked #30 of 1,159 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We were made welcome from the moment we arrived (and were offered a welcome drink on the street-side terrace), to the moment we left (at 0530) when we were wished a safe journey by the duty staff. The staff could not have been more helpful and friendly. The free buffet breakfast surpassed our expectations with its selection of Turkish delicacies and "cooked to order" omelettes. The room was large - easily accommodating a king size double and two sofa beds for our children. The location was also ideal - walking distance to Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Topkapi Palace and a good selection of restaurants along the cobbled Old Town street. We had our last dinner in the hotel and it was excellent and probably the best value too.

We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Great_Western
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (504)
There are newer reviews for GLK PREMIER Regency Suites & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

215 - 221 of 504 reviews

Reviewed October 11, 2012

We recently traveled to Istanbul for the first time and stayed at the Best Western Premier Regency Suites in the Sultanahmet neighborhood. The hotel had been highly recommended by a close relative. After our experience there, we would wholeheartedly make the same recommendation. There were several things we loved about this hotel. It has 16 rooms only and therefore has the look and feel of a small boutique hotel. It is located in the heart of Sultanahmet, the old Istanbul, in a renovated and charming area, and is within walking distance from Ayasofya, the Sultan Ahmet I Mosque (Blue Mosque) and the T1 line Tram that you can take to Kabatas to visit the Dolmabahçe palace. The amenities in the room were great e.g. bathrobes, fridge, safe, an electric water heater for coffee and tea, and complimentary drinking water replenished every day. We also had free wireless internet - many hotels in Istanbul make you pay for internet access, and a varied and delicious breakfast that was included with the rate. But without a doubt, what made our stay at the hotel most enjoyable was the staff. Everyone was extremely friendly and helpful, especially the nighttime and daytime concierges, Mursel and Göksel. Things to be aware of but which were not issues for us: Although the Queen Suites are very functional, they are on the small side. Also, our room was located in the back which we liked because it was quiet, but in terms of view, we faced the balconies of people's apartments and had to keep the drapes closed. If you ask for a room in the front of the hotel, ask about noise in the evening. If we go back to Istanbul, we will absolutely stay in this hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are quieter.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RimaeSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I enjoyed my stay. I was only in Istanbul two days. I stayed there my second night. I think I would stay there again. The location was great. The hotel had an elevator. I had a lovely room and felt that it was clean. I had a great view from my room. After I checked out, they let me return and take a shower before catching my plane. I was also able to leave my luggage at the hotel while I explored the city.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Service
1  Thank bibliotekarnorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This hotel is very well located. Rooms a bit small but comfortables and clean. Service is excellent. Wood floors and everything looks impeccable. Breakfast is not the best but is included. At night is a bit noisy. I recommend it. We came for business/vacation and it was OK. Staff is extremely kind, help a lot.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Jacqueline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Great place to stay. Staff were so friendly and hotel was great. We would definitely go there again. The hotel is located centrally of Sultanahmet so very convenient for travelling on trams and metros.

We had a lovely time and what a great place to visit and so much to see......

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catalar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Great location for the tourist sites
Wonderful welcome from friendly staff
Great breakfast
Room excellent - clean and comfortable and spacious
Spa a little small but understandable
Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank respiratorytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at this hotel, which is perfectly located. The staff were warm and friendly. Spa is nice but small. Overall, we'd stay here again. Good choice of dining places and a nice breakfast. Arrived very late and were still welcomed with a class of wine!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JLHIII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
GLK PREMIER Acropol Suites & Spa
Sultanahmet
GLK PREMIER Sea Mansion Suites & Spa
Sultanahmet
GLK PREMIER The Home Suites & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Four Seasons Hotel Istanbul at Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet
Sura Design Hotel & Suites
Sura Design Hotel & Suites
#106 of 1,159 in Istanbul
926 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
#121 of 1,159 in Istanbul
1,295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GLK PREMIER Regency Suites & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GLK PREMIER Regency Suites & Spa

Address: Akbiyik Cad. No. 38, Istanbul 34122, Turkey (Formerly BEST WESTERN PREMIER Regency Suites & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#22 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#26 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#105 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $119 - $245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — GLK PREMIER Regency Suites & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Istanbul Art De Vivre!Located at he heart of Istanbul between Europe and Asia, the GLK PREMIER Regency Suites Hotel & Spa commands an extensive view of a relatively small area that has nonetheless witnessed 2000 years of the history of some of the richest civilisations humanity has ever known: Ancient, Greece the Roman Empire, The Byzantine Empire and the Ottoman Empire!It is only a few steps from the Blue Mosque, Saint Sophie and Topkapi Palace. The hotel, a lovely mansion built in 1905, is a listed historic monument today. The elegance of its origin is still amply visible in the neo-classical moulding on the facade and the solid wood or beige Bursa granite floors. Numerous details and features in the house bear witness to a world of such sophistication that its sultans are portrayed holding a flower.The hotel's rugs, like the motifs on the walls, seem to have stepped straight out of the Topkapi Palace.As century old traditions require, the hammam of the GLK PREMIER Regency Suites Hotel & Spa features a suite of three rooms with different functions: hot room, warm room and cool room.The hotel is equally dedicated to maintaining state-of-the-art international hotel standards, which rather than detracting from its historic past, leave its guests free to savour and appreciate this heritage.In this way, the GLK PREMIER Regency Suites Hotel & Spa distils the quintessence of Istanbul's distinctive lifestyle, particularly from its 16 suites:the dome of the Blue Mosque surrounded by six slender minarets, the monotonous chant of the muezzin, the enchanting hush that reigns over the city in the morning, the sweetly scented Topkapi Park, the view of Bosphorous or the Marmara Sea on which the Prince's Islands seem almost to float or its mouth-watering exotic cuisine, etc. The justly dubbed 'Golden Horn', which the hotel overlooks, sumptuously sums up the inexhaustible wealth of this matchless location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your GLK PREMIER Regency Suites & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Premier Regency Hotel Istanbul
Best Western Premier Regency Suites And Spa
Best Western Premier Hotel
Best Western Istanbul
Istanbul Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing