We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view but very average food”

Seven Hills Restaurant
Ranked #88 of 13,538 Restaurants in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Buffet, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Sultanahmet
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great view but very average food”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We enjoyed the view and the location but the food was very average. We did however have violin playing and fireworks during the meal which was quite interesting!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank TessaCanadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,473 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    713
    448
    166
    70
    76
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Happy tummy, happy eyes”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

This restaurant is a winner for 3 reasons: 1) For a woman traveling alone in a somewhat "traditional" country, they are welcoming and attentive without being uncomfortable. 2) The views of Istanbul's attractions, plus the Bosphorus and Sea of Marmara are fantastic. I went for lunch and, a couple days later, for dinner so I could get day and night photographs from the roof. 3) The menu, while poorly translated into English, has a good selection of Turkish food.
If I could I would give them 4.5 stars because they don't have a less expensive lunch menu but, between 4 and 5 stars, they definitely deserve 5. Recommend the fried calamari and the cheese and "bacon" wrapped in phyllo dough and fried for the apps. For dinner, the lamb chops are great and the chicken kebab is safe.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SkyFlies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Spectacular view of beautiful Istanbul.”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We found this treasure, by just looking up after leaving Saint Sophia. What a find! The view of the Bosphorus is breathtaking. You will also find yourself in between St. Sophia and the Blue Mosque almost being able to touch them. I do not want to forget to mention the wonderful customer service and of course the great menu. This is a must while you are in Istanbul.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thechameleone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
“Stunning 360 views of hagia Sofia, blue mosque and Istanbul”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

AMAZING! The views are breathtaking! Before eating we were led up to the rooftop terrace with 360 degree views of the hagia Sofia, the blue mosque and the Bosphorus! The views in the restaurant are equally incredible. Bring your camera and head there before sunset on a clear night.

The food was also great and service was excellent! We got the shepherds roast which was really good. Prices were reasonable. The views alone justify the price.

Highly recommend going after visiting the hagia Sofia and blue mosque. 5 minute walk from the central square.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ashley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“the view”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

This was one of the most memorable meals we have ever had. The fish was brought to the table and descriptions and preparation suggestions were made by a very knowledgable waiter. Excellant service was provided throughout the meal. The rooftop view is the best in the city. We followed dinner with a stroll around the neighbourhood which is the area between the Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque. This was our final night in Istanbul and left us with the feeling that we will definately be back.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seven Hills Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Seven Hills Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing