We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No frills place to stay in Sultanahmet with helpful staff” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Eris

Hotel Eris
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Istanbul
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Eris
Ranked #1,055 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“No frills place to stay in Sultanahmet with helpful staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Eris for one week in April/May 2009.

I have stayed in worst hotels and I have stayed in better hotels.

I would say the restaurant is a hidden gem in this hotel. A great view of the Bosphorus, good food (especially the breakfast), and a server that took pride in his profession and went out of his way to serve you.

They have paid internet onsite but you're better off going to one of the numerous internet cafes in the area as it was unreliable and slow.

I rated the cleanliness poor because the entire hotel should have a thorough cleaning. The most important thing though was that the beds were comfortable and clean. The rooms are quite small (probably the smallest room I have stayed in) but I don't expect you will be spending much time in it other than when you're sleeping. The bathroom was very clean with lots of hot water and good pressure.

Although it is out of the way behind the Sirkeci train station, you're within walking distance to the major sites in Sultanahmet and a tram stop is just around the corner.

I do not know if there are boxes behind the front desk but there are no safes in the rooms.

If you're looking for a budget (emphasis on the budget) hotel with comfortable and clean beds I would recommend the Eris.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fyzhix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    2
    2
    3
    5
See reviews for
Families
0
3
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2010

A beautiful place in a lovely part of town, reminded me of the Adriatic. Plus goes to the amazing rooms, vast and stylish in uncommon colors, and the bathrooms you don't want to leave. Nice spa and fitness center. Don't miss dinner at the top floor and the Balinese massage

Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank BandzolinoC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2010

Although our booking was confirmed, Eris had only half the number of rooms available when we arrived. So they shipped half of us off to nearby hotels that were scary dumps. For example, the hall light was down the hall and about the size of a Christmas tree light, so i had to feel for the keyhole. Room had no trash can or drinking glasses. Bathroom smelled of sewage. Only one sheet on the bed so I took one from another bed and saw the blood stains on the mattress.

There are many good hotels in Istanbul. Tonight I've moved to Hotel Ada and it's wonderful at a reasonable price - and much quieter and closer to the major sights Stay here instead of at the Eris.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ultrarun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2010

The service too bad, no air conditioning, I really didn't sleep that night . don't waste your time and money here .

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 45701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2010

After reading some of the negative reviews ,Eris Hotel has improved a lot. We stayed at Eris Hoteland and we received good service. It is good value for money if you're on a tight budget & since most budget / standard hotels in Istanbul dont serve a complimentary breakfast , Eris Hotel do their best to provide a decent breakfast. The location is great & safe (police station next door)and has a nice view of the Bosphorous sea from the 4th and 5th floors, especially the restaurant/breakfast area.We were due to fly back to London and were stranded in Istanbul because of cancelled flights resulting from the volcano in Iceland. We went back to Eris hotel and they were very helpful and accommodated us and kept us informed regularly about flights and transport to and from both airports. We spoke to many customers at Eris Hotel and they were satisfied with the hotel,especially with the friendly and helpful staff. BIG THANK YOU to the staff: Sadat,Yusuf,Uzjan,the tall guy (forgot his name),Gur(the lady who made our room) and 'Captain Nimo.' I hope we meet again. Faiyaaz&Mariam (UK)

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WildHorsesFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2010

If you've ever really wanted to know what it would be like to sleep in an ashtray, book yourself in. The rooms here are pretty bad to say the least. To give it 1 star would be generous. Apart from the intense smell of cigarette smoke, the sheets, furniture and bathroom date back to Byzantine times and have seldom been cleaned since. The restaurant on the top floor need not be there at all. They certainly don't need a menu as nothing on it was available to order (which I dare say was probably a good thing). I fervently recommend that you feed elsewhere or not at all. To top off my stay, a curious member of staff was opportunistic enough to steal USD$160 from an envelope that was hidden deep in my backpack, locked away in my room. Management were less than helpful, to the point of not caring at all. FIND ANOTHER HOTEL AT ALL COSTS!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank TJS912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
95 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2009

In the hotel precinct behind Sirceki Station. Quite a good location near to the old area old town and the light rail service.
THere is a large smoky foyer where drinks are served and there is a large screen TV.Staff were friendly but not overly enthusiastic.
Our room was small and drab but clean and comfortable. Twin beds with a curious mix of blankets. There was a small colour tv and a little fridge. The bathroom was a tiny, dingy room containing a toilet with a dodgy cistern and a shower with no shower screen.
Breakfast was very ordinary with just a handful of choices.

  • Stayed March 2009
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gurubob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Golden Horn Istanbul
Golden Horn Istanbul
#606 of 1,121 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Sultanahmet
Askoc Hotel
Askoc Hotel
#536 of 1,121 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 122 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dream Bosphorus Hotel
Dream Bosphorus Hotel
#426 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Barbera Hotel
Barbera Hotel
#127 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,121 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,701 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Yazar Hotel
Yazar Hotel
#355 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Eris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Eris

Property: Hotel Eris
Address: Istasyon Arkasi Sok. No:9 Sirkeci, Fatih, Istanbul 34420, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet , Sirkeci
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,055 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Number of rooms: 44
Also Known As:
Eris Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing