We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GoodChoice exept one thing”
Review of Laleli Gonen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Laleli Gonen Hotel
Ranked #475 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Finland
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“GoodChoice exept one thing”
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We were in this hotel because it has a nice pool on the roof. It was also great place for young people as we had 13 and 11 years grandson and -girl..
Good service everywhere
Clean hotel - good beds etc
if you take backside rooms they are notraffic places
try to take a room not near lifts because there is rooms very near those
BR is very taste and good
only negative point laleli that hotel has smoking and nonsmoking rooms side-by side
and smoke came from toilets ventilation to our room
when we made a notice of smoke hotel changes our neirbors -- what a good reactions!!!!!
If you take this hotel it will be a good choice

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EERO42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    86
    37
    11
    6
See reviews for
35
77
19
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

Clean and comfortable hotel.
Good facilities
Only downside is the walls are a little thin and you can hear lots of noise from people walking down the hallways.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ClareB77_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

Excellent location close to the Grand Bazaar and mosques. Staff were happy to assist with things such as transport and directions. Hotel management was very friendly and also happy to help. Breakfast was beautiful and was very impressed that it was included in such a low price for a very classy hotel. Additionally, the room was very clean and decorated modern. It was a great experience.

Room Tip: Rooms far from the elevator would probably be more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deniz H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2011

We stayed at the laleli gonen for 3 nights in Sept 2011 and enjoyed it. Paid about £65 to 70 for a double room which seemed good value compared to other hotels in the area. Room and pool were clean (pool was a bit chilly), breakfast was typical continental with some protein. Staff were fine. Hotel is in the middle of the shopping area for clothes, a bit like being just off oxford street, in walking times its 5 mins north of the tram stop (2 lira ticket machine near platform), 15 mins from the underground to the airport (2 lira again), 10 mins to the grandbazaar, 20 mins to the famous mosques. Locate it on a good map before you go as finding it for the first time needed a bit of seaching around. Ferries were good fun.
Tip for a day out is to go to the new aquarium, one of the best we've been to, take the coastal train to Florya (2 lira) which is a mile past it (and where there's a good beach) and walk back to it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LondonSteveG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We stayed 7 nights here and in 2 different rooms - one a twin (5th flr), the other a king size (3rd flr).
Good things.
Location was good - Close to the Tram and SultanAhmet tourist area, some good restaurants a few streets behind the hotel.
The rooms were clean and well presented but quite small.
The beds were firm but reasonably comfortable. Better than some hotels.
Staff were friendly, spoke some English but not enough if you have problems.
The wireless internet was a bit slow but did work on all floors unlike many other hotels.

Bad things
In both rooms we could smell cigaratte smoke every day, coming from the room next door through the bathroom ceiling.
We could hear the tv and conversations of people in the room next door and the floor above.
The included breakfast was so bad (tasteless plastic cheese, pink sausage like Spam and orange juice that was watered down) that we stopped eating it after a few days. The bread was nice and fresh though each morning.
On the 3rd night there was no water to the bathroom all evening and when it did come back it was a dirty brown.
The swimming pool on the roof was empty and out of action
Both our suitcase wheels were damaged by the hotel staff dragging our cases side ways when they changed our room half way through our stay due to problems of the cigarette smoke.
The hotel caters for large Russian tour parties and had a very noisy English student group who seemed to run riot in their rooms and spend most of the night being sick in the bathrooms - thin walls made it sound like they were in our room.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michaela-London-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2011

I have been to many hotels around the world with very shiney receptions and crappy rooms, but never the other way around!

The hotel reception was quite drab and shabby, but the rooms were actually very good. The beds were really comfortable, rooms were well sound-proofed, it was quite clean.

Main complaints: their breakfasts/suppers are not very good. The bathroom was very small.

All together a quite passable and well-located hotel!

Room Tip: Room size (even rooms with the same number of people) varies massively!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2011

around every months ım coming to istanbul for my bussiness and choosing gönen hotel.Hotel is very good and clean.Staffs are helpful and friendly.Gonen hotel is like my home.They made some renovatıon in the rooms and looks much better.Last year there was some times problem in internet but this year it look they solved the problem.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Muhammad k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sultan Palace Hotel
Sultan Palace Hotel
#550 of 1,149 in Istanbul
109 reviews
Fener & Balat
Lotus Hotel Istanbul
Lotus Hotel Istanbul
#295 of 1,149 in Istanbul
128 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Evsen
Hotel Evsen
#233 of 1,149 in Istanbul
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#630 of 1,149 in Istanbul
611 reviews
Grand Ons Hotel
#878 of 1,149 in Istanbul
225 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,149 in Istanbul
1,733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Laleli Gonen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Laleli Gonen Hotel

Property: Laleli Gonen Hotel
Address: Fethibey Caddesi Zeynepkamil Sokak No: 24 | Laleli, Istanbul 34134, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Grand Bazaar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #475 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Laleli Gonen Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HRS, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Laleli Gonen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing