We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All Mountains”
Review of Chimgon

Chimgon
Ranked #5 of 82 things to do in Tashkent
Certificate of Excellence
Panaji
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“All Mountains”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

My visit to Chimgon and Charvak Lake was in September'12. The season was not proper perhaps to enjoy the real beauty of this two places but a nature lover will certainly enjoy landscaping of both the places. I did not find anything interesting at Charvak lake though, since the water sports option was very limited compared to what we offer in Goa. And the biggest drawback of chair car at Chimgon mountain was lack of safety. The one way ride is almost 25-30 minutes and there is no rescue possible incase of any medical emergency with the occupant. Infact, i thought we were left to God for our safety but the locals have no problem in enjoying it. Since the mountains were dry, the beauty of the place was not at the best. Dont forget to buy almonds fried with honey, it tastes really nice.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gaurish D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    63
    18
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Raipur (Chhattisgarh)
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“My visit to Chimgon Lake & Charvak Mountains”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Beautiful views of the mountains through chair lift. Lots of water sports at the lake. It will be better to visit this place in winters from december to february when the whole area is covered with snow.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Rajgaurav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hike near Aksagata stream”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We were 4 french people and we spend three wonderfull days hiking and bathing near the Aksagata stream. Viola and André took very good care of us and we discovered beautiful landscapes. Viola speaks good english so we were also able to exchange about the ouzbeck and french culture. We had a lot of fun and we wish we could have stayed longer...

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank afilloux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Worth The Trip”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Beautiful mountains not so far from the city, specially if you have been living in a desert for quiet some time!
The experience going down the mountain towards the lake is not worth the stop at Pyramid Hotel. Quiet busy with local snobish people and no place to sunbath properly. Maintenance for the property is needed though quiet expensive to stay in or just to sunbath and swim.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank ChristianJabre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A pleasent day's break from Tashkent”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

We decided to visit Chimgon as a day trip from Tashkent. It is an easy 2 hour drive. There is not much to do at the attraction apart from chair lift. It is a relatively longer chair lift (25 minutes each side) and the view from the same is excellent.
At the top, the only thing you can do is bit of horse riding or just walk around taking in the views. Near the bottom of chair lift, there is a small river flowing with clean cold water wherein you can spend a few relaxing moments.
We also visited the Charwak lake which is close by. This man made lake supplies drinking water to Tashkent. Lake side has been converted into a beach like arrangement where you will find people lazing around. There is plenty of opportunities for water sports and swimming. Pyramid hotel offers food at reasonable price here.

Suggestion: Pyramid's hotel menu lists the price per serving and you might be surprised at the actual bill (which is anyways not too much)
Do buy Honey Badam from the place which is a local specialty. Extremely delicious!

All in all, worth exploring as a day option from Tashkent.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank swapc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chimgon also viewed

Tashkent, Tashkent Province
Tashkent, Tashkent Province
 
Tashkent, Tashkent Province
 

Been to Chimgon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing