We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Soviet swank”
Review of Hotel Uzbekistan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Uzbekistan
Ranked #21 of 42 Hotels in Tashkent
Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

I of course was here during off season, received a room on the 16th floor which was quite nice, great views! Front counter staff was brisk and efficient, staff in the 17th floor restaurant was attentive but not smothering, were very pleasant, food was better than most venues. Yes, hallways were kind of dark, but I think it added to the Soviet ambiance. Great central location for sightseeing, would have no issues staying here again. Loved the Uzbek people!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmericanRoadShow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (566)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 566 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2013

Despite some average reviews in the past, we decided this would be a reasonable first stop in Uzbekistan - a good way of easing ourselves in and an opportunity to rest up in standard accommodation after our long flight before moving onto more atmospheric stays in other towns. Overall, it was OK - not great, but we had no particular issues either. The room was large with plenty of space for suitcases, a little seating area, and a basic desk. Air-conditioning was good and did the job. The bathroom was good enough and reasonably clean. The bed was huge and the room was cleaned every day. There was no noise to speak of. The only negative comment I would have is that the carpet really needed a good clean. We had breakfast included and that was good - big buffet selection and lots of options for everyone, hot and cold. The location is both convenient and not - there is a metro station right out the front, but the hotel is in more of an embassy area and the cafe / restaurant / dining options are limited. This was our biggest struggle. I believe the hotel has a reasonable restaurant but we did not try it. There are small 'supermarkets' nearby but choices are limited and watch the closing hours.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Antip0de
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Eyecatching architecture, very clean and comfy rooms too. Breakfast was a bizarre and most enjoyable selection of all manner of buffet food. Right next to a tube station and many of the sites of Tashkent. Admittedly I have had a glass of wine as I write this, but as a start and end point of my tour of Uzbekistan, I was very happy!

Plus- it had the best toilet paper of my trip. Seriously, pack your own if you are going exploring. My experience in a yurt camp was like using a cheese grater.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Despite being located at a very good location and having grand facilities, they fail to deliver what a Hotel of this range is supposed to.........not so hospitable. Rooms are good but badly maintained. Old Hotel with poor managers.

Room Tip: Rooms at extreme ends of each floor are quieter, however the wifi is not strong enough to reach ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

Stayed at this hotel before and after tour of Tajikistan. It is a large hotel located in central Tashkent. Walking distance to most of the sites in the city. My room was on the 15th floor, clean, quiet, hot shower, hair dryer. I had no complaints. During the weekends, there are many weddings so it can get noisy and crowded in the lobby and entrance. One has to leave passport at reception to check-in but will be returned the next day. Reception area always seem busy, but most staff were congenial and helpful even though they are constantly distracted by demands from other guests. The restaurant atop the hotel is nothing to rave about; most of the offerings on the menu were not available. Slow service but food was palatable and hot. After several weeks in Tajikistan, this hotel will seem amazing.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShilohinBC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Must say I like the look of the Hotel Uzbekistan, its soviet block look, its curves, and the way that it is set back from the streetscape to further accentuate its grandeur. As for the rooms they are pleasant, basic, and haven't had much love or attention since Nikita Khrushchev was in the Kremlin. Staff are a mixed lot and vary from friendly, chatty and helpful to I wouldn't know service culture if it bit me on the caboose. Hotel Uzbekistan is well located, near the subway and within walking distance to lots of Tashkent's landmarks. Laundry costs are steep ( buying new clothes in Tashkent's Chorsu Bazaar is cheaper!)

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

The room is spacious and clean. The buffet breakfast is great. Hotel staff is helpful. And the location of the hotel is right in the city centre. Around the hotel is a local kebab cafe - cheap local food - no English menu though, get ready to use Russian or tourist sign language :)

However, when I was there the hotel had no hot water for over a day - something to do with the "switching" of water supply. I am assuming this is an one off issue. Don't expect strong hot water pressure for shower neither, but this seem to be an issue with hotels everywhere in the whole country (I travelled to 4 locations within the country). Free Wi-Fi available in the room, but it was weak signal at times.

I would have given it more star if it wasn't for the hot water issue.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lawrence N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tashkent hotels
1.2 mi away
Shodlik Palace
Shodlik Palace
#8 of 42 in Tashkent
282 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Grande Plaza Hotel
Le Grande Plaza Hotel
#36 of 42 in Tashkent
196 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Tashkent
Hyatt Regency Tashkent
#1 of 42 in Tashkent
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Miran International Hotel
Miran International Hotel
#6 of 42 in Tashkent
212 reviews
0 mi away
Golden Valley Hotel
Golden Valley Hotel
#32 of 42 in Tashkent
31 reviews
0.4 mi away
City Palace Hotel
City Palace Hotel
#7 of 42 in Tashkent
227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Uzbekistan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Uzbekistan

Address: Musakhanov street 45, Tashkent 100047, Uzbekistan
Location: Uzbekistan > Tashkent Province > Tashkent
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Tashkent
Price Range: $61 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Uzbekistan 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Uzbekistan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uzbekistan Hotel Tashkent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing