We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decidedly average”
Review of Hotel Uzbekistan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Uzbekistan
Ranked #20 of 40 Hotels in Tashkent
Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed for one night at the start of a tour in a single room. Clearly not in the refurbished part of the hotel. Three power points didn't work, which took out two lamps and the TV, there were exposed wires in a couple of places, there was no water in the room even though you are advised not to drink the tap water. The room itself was small and shabby and just a bit depressing. The public areas are a bit grander. Breakfast was in a huge ballroom still set up for a big wedding the night before. The breakfast was quite good, with a lot of choice and even an omelette chef. A couple of the others in the group had eaten in the cafe at the hotel the night before and said it was a good meal with some reasonably priced French wine.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diannemaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (552)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

154 - 160 of 552 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013

Don't be put off by the "Soviet bloc" appearance - this is really quite a decent hotel. It is in the best location, right on Amur Timur Square (the central park), next door to the metro station, and within 15 minutes' walk of the National Museum. The park is a really nice place to hang out around sunset and people watch or chat with the locals. OK, the rooms are not brand new, but in mine everything worked. The breakfast buffet is lavish. Staff were pleasant. There is a bar and restaurant on the top floor (one floor ABOVE the top floor on the lift), more economical than the main dining room - it is not advertised and I did not discover this until the second day!

Room Tip: Ask for view over park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christine r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stayed at Hotel Uzbekistan for four nights (2+2) in October 2013 as part of a group.

Both rooms and staff are of variable quality as mentioned in a previous review.

It is centrally located in a very safe city with taxis always on hand and close to the metro.
Wi-Fi speed very variable depending of the distance to the nearest router.

I found the breakfast good and complete with omelets by choice.

Room tariffs much to high to offer value for money

Room Tip: go for a refefurbished room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael Juul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for a total of 5 nights in September / October 2013. Rooms and staff are both highly variable. Some of the larger, recently refurbished rooms are quite good with decent beds, functioning TVs and modern bathrooms. Others are dingy and small with stained carpets, cracked bathroom tiles, non functioning toilets and ancient AC units.

Pros: good location, taxis always on hand, easy to change money on the premises at black market rates, efficient front desk, credit cards accepted.

Cons: some rooms dingy and old fashioned, no safety boxes in rooms, old and noisy AC units in rooms, poor breakfast, some staff disinterested and unfriendly, wifi slow

If you can afford I would pay a bit more and go for one of the better 4 stars.

Room Tip: Avoid standard rooms and request a refurbished room at the front of the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank savvy_dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

We were part of a small tour group staying at this hotel at the beginning and end of our trip. I can't recommend this hotel: some members did not have air-conditioning (temps were around 30 C or 85 F) and one day our room did not have hot water. We encountered only one member of the staff who was friendly and helpful. The sound-proofing was not good - loud music from weddings could be heard many floors up. Many of the rooms were in need of renovation. The good thing about breakfast was you could get eggs cooked to order. Location was all right, metro station below, although not a lot of restaurants close by. If traveling independently would choose another hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Nice enough hotel with spacious rooms, pleasant staff and good breakfast.

Location is okay, close to metro but not many places to eat close by. And the "burger" joint just outside does not sell beer as mentioned in other reviews.

It is a bit dated, but not too bad. The carpet in the room could do with a steam clean. Other than that, it is reasonably clean and sufficient for a short stay.

Taxi to train station 6000 sum if booked from reception. The ones lingering out the front want much more.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyTravelMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at hotel Uzbekistan in Tashkent - 2 nights on landing in Tashkent and 1 night before leaving.

I cannot write more about the excellent location of the hotel. There is a metro station right underneath, and Broadway starts just across the Amir Temur Square right in front of the hotel.

The room was okay, but AC wasn't working at all. We spent 2 days without AC, and they told us that AC was down in the entire hotel. That is unbelievable. There was no water in the flush, had to call a plumber! That was most ridiculous!

The staff seemed uninterested, and rude.

We paid $70 a night, but the rates mentioned at the reception started from $200 and went up to $500, clear rip off! Book online only!

Room Tip: You don't have a choice, do you?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aditto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tashkent hotels
3.8 mi away
Hotel Rohat
Hotel Rohat
#17 of 40 in Tashkent
43 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Tashkent
Hyatt Regency Tashkent
#1 of 40 in Tashkent
104 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ichan Qal'a Hotel
Ichan Qal'a Hotel
#4 of 40 in Tashkent
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Shodlik Palace
Shodlik Palace
#7 of 40 in Tashkent
270 reviews
1.5 mi away
Safar Hotel
Safar Hotel
#19 of 40 in Tashkent
9 reviews
1.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tashkent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Uzbekistan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Uzbekistan

Address: Musakhanov street 45, Tashkent 100047, Uzbekistan
Location: Uzbekistan > Tashkent Province > Tashkent
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Tashkent
Price Range: $59 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Uzbekistan 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Uzbekistan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uzbekistan Hotel Tashkent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing