We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average 2-3 star standard service and room.”
Review of Hotel Uzbekistan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Uzbekistan
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in Tashkent
London, England
Level Contributor
314 reviews
271 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 341 helpful votes
“Average 2-3 star standard service and room.”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Location
Located around 15-20 minute drive or 10km from Tashkent airport. It is located in the main business district on one side of the large roundabout that surrounds Amir Temur Square. Other than the square in which is worth a walk around with its grand statue and fountains there is little else in the vicinity in relation to shops and resturants, at least walking distance. However the main government conference centre is also located on the roundabout and is a very interesting looking building.
Room
The room is fairly basic 2-3 star international standards. There was a double bed which was just adequate level of comfort with pillow duvet set looking grand but not so comfortable. The room was clean but clearly old and has limited plugs for charging (had to unplug TV). There was a TV in which was a old style early 90's box TV with not that many channels- couldn't find any in English. A/C was quite noisy but worked adequately. Lighting is not great as old style not by bed side. Bathroom area was clean but quite old fittings with limited amenities - just basic shower gel and shampoo. Towel was poor quality and actually tore a little. However the room although dated was clean.
Facilities
WIFI is secure and worked fairly well- quite quick. There is a cafe and bar on the ground floor which only used to buy water (no water supplied complementary in room) food looked ok though and staff were friendly. Believe there is a gym and spa are but did not see/use. There is a also a gift shop for Uzbek traditional souvenirs.
Staff
Staff are quiet serious at reception ( no warm smile welcome) and some speak only basic English. However they are helpful but not the friendliest or felt approachable as hotel reception staff goes. However staff at the bar, who did speak English and bell boys were very friendly and welcoming.
Overall stayed here because of brief work in the country and was sorted out by company doing work for. As was in and out of country was only here for a 5-6 hours twice within a week- just for a quik sleep. I would say i wouldn't choose this hotel for much longer than a night- its quite a bland atmosphere and rooms were not that convenient for business travellers such as limited plugs and no desk, with TV not much use to anyone other than from Uzbekistan.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank docdot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    181
    207
    66
    33
See reviews for
41
100
116
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

Huge Soviet style hotel with many rooms and indifferent service, located in what used to be the center of Tashkent, but the area is dead now, no cafes or restaurants (besides the Gamburger place right next which serves a terrible fare). Rooms are big, beds comfy and bathrooms ok, but I can only echo what other people said about the carpets, they are terribly disgusting). Breakfast is ok. We shifted to a smaller B&B place close to Chorsu.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaudiaH H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arizona, USA
Level Contributor
309 reviews
209 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights on our own and then joined a tour group for a third night. Check-in was reasonably friendly and efficient. I had booked a “superior” room though Booking.com and they (somewhat reluctantly) let us stay in the same room when we joined our tour. The room (1424) was decent enough except for the filthy, torn carpet. I almost thought I was back in Soviet days and the ratty Intourist hotels. Also, the curtains were thin and let in outside light (the exterior is floodlit at night). The room was fairly large, with twin beds (as requested), a TV, a refrigerator, and a closet. The bathroom was clean, stocked with amenities, and had a tub/shower combination. There was plenty of hot water available all the time. There were several English channels on the TV. The wifi signal was strong and responsive. The air conditioning worked well, although there didn’t seem to be any way to set the temperature (there were three different fan speed settings, though). There is a little traffic noise; not objectionable. Breakfast was included and was very good, with a wide selection, including cooked-to-order eggs and omelets. Lots of tour groups stay at this hotel. I’d have given it a higher rating if the carpet hadn’t been so grubby.
For an economical lunch or dinner, go around the outside of the hotel to “Gamberger”, attached to the north side of the hotel. They have outside tables and a few inside. You can get hamburgers, donars, etc. Ice cream cones are also available and you can buy cold beer here to take to your room. We also ate at the restaurant on the top floor of the hotel. The food was OK and not particularly overpriced. You can watch the sunset from there.
The hotel is adjacent to a Metro station. Go wherever you want on the Metro for 800 Som, equivalent to about $US0.40)
For a better exchange rate than offered by the hotel go see the moneychangers at the Chorso Bazaar, but make sure you’re not cheated.

Room Tip: Pick rooms in front for views of the square; rooms in back for balconies and views of a park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jspace63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Great location and quiet. Huge place, many rooms and floors. I was on a group tour and spent first and last nights at this place. The first night was ok. The last night there was no hot water and no heating in the hotel and guests found it cold. Excuse was that the heating was turned off at this time of year despite the weather being on the cool side but that did not explain that there was no hot water so had a cold shower.
The maintenance staff could not care less when asked to solve the problem. Offered another room but still no hot water. They said they could do no more. No reasonable reason given.
The breakfast buffet was acceptable but not great. Nonetheless, I don't expect luxury so was not over surprised. Slept well as it was quiet.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stayed here at the beginning and end of a group tour to Uzbekistan - really not a good place to stay.
Erratic hot water, aircon that doesn't work, holes in the sheets, curtains that let in the light and management that doesn't care - this really is a poor advert for Uzbekistan and its attempts to rebrand itself as a tourist destination.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ikonos44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tashkent hotels

kota rajasthan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

uzbekistan ....... dream place to be .. very silent.. very sweet hotel uzbekistan is located in centre of city just opposite amir tamur square very silent and beautiful place .hotel looks good from outside but when u enters the room u find it not up to the mark rooms are not clean no airconditioning small toilets i have my room on 10th floor . good view from my room .the staff is not very supportive .they r so rude in talking .no swimming pool in the hotel . just an average hotel with a very good location

Room Tip: front side rooms has a good view of amir tamur square
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mannuanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I spent about 4 nights at the hotel. it is located right in the centre of Tashkent, opposite a beautiful park and right on a metro station.

It's a large impersonal hotel. The concierge, who was elderly and not interested in his job, was not very helpful when it came to finding out things about the city. He tried to sell me a Advantour map that was "free" and sent me to the wrong part of town when I asked for Advantour even though it was clearly marked on the map. The rest of the staff were also not particularly friendly or helpful.

The breakfast was buffet style and there was a large choice.

Room Tip: Choose an even nunbered room on the higher floors for the spectacular views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tashkent hotels
1.9 mi away
Ichan Qal'a Hotel
Ichan Qal'a Hotel
#5 of 39 in Tashkent
45 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lotte City Hotel Tashkent Palace
1.3 mi away
Ramada Tashkent
Ramada Tashkent
#9 of 39 in Tashkent
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Tashkent
Hyatt Regency Tashkent
#2 of 39 in Tashkent
58 reviews
1.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tashkent
3.8 mi away
Hotel Rohat
Hotel Rohat
#18 of 39 in Tashkent
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Uzbekistan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Uzbekistan

Property: Hotel Uzbekistan
Address: Musakhanov street 45, Tashkent 100047, Uzbekistan
Location: Uzbekistan > Tashkent Province > Tashkent
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Tashkent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Uzbekistan 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Uzbekistan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uzbekistan Hotel Tashkent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing