We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent room with a dirty carpet”
Review of Hotel Uzbekistan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Uzbekistan
Ranked #26 of 41 Hotels in Tashkent
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights on our own and then joined a tour group for a third night. Check-in was reasonably friendly and efficient. I had booked a “superior” room though Booking.com and they (somewhat reluctantly) let us stay in the same room when we joined our tour. The room (1424) was decent enough except for the filthy, torn carpet. I almost thought I was back in Soviet days and the ratty Intourist hotels. Also, the curtains were thin and let in outside light (the exterior is floodlit at night). The room was fairly large, with twin beds (as requested), a TV, a refrigerator, and a closet. The bathroom was clean, stocked with amenities, and had a tub/shower combination. There was plenty of hot water available all the time. There were several English channels on the TV. The wifi signal was strong and responsive. The air conditioning worked well, although there didn’t seem to be any way to set the temperature (there were three different fan speed settings, though). There is a little traffic noise; not objectionable. Breakfast was included and was very good, with a wide selection, including cooked-to-order eggs and omelets. Lots of tour groups stay at this hotel. I’d have given it a higher rating if the carpet hadn’t been so grubby.
For an economical lunch or dinner, go around the outside of the hotel to “Gamberger”, attached to the north side of the hotel. They have outside tables and a few inside. You can get hamburgers, donars, etc. Ice cream cones are also available and you can buy cold beer here to take to your room. We also ate at the restaurant on the top floor of the hotel. The food was OK and not particularly overpriced. You can watch the sunset from there.
The hotel is adjacent to a Metro station. Go wherever you want on the Metro for 800 Som, equivalent to about $US0.40)
For a better exchange rate than offered by the hotel go see the moneychangers at the Chorso Bazaar, but make sure you’re not cheated.

Room Tip: Pick rooms in front for views of the square; rooms in back for balconies and views of a park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jspace63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (564)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 564 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2013

Great location and quiet. Huge place, many rooms and floors. I was on a group tour and spent first and last nights at this place. The first night was ok. The last night there was no hot water and no heating in the hotel and guests found it cold. Excuse was that the heating was turned off at this time of year despite the weather being on the cool side but that did not explain that there was no hot water so had a cold shower.
The maintenance staff could not care less when asked to solve the problem. Offered another room but still no hot water. They said they could do no more. No reasonable reason given.
The breakfast buffet was acceptable but not great. Nonetheless, I don't expect luxury so was not over surprised. Slept well as it was quiet.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stayed here at the beginning and end of a group tour to Uzbekistan - really not a good place to stay.
Erratic hot water, aircon that doesn't work, holes in the sheets, curtains that let in the light and management that doesn't care - this really is a poor advert for Uzbekistan and its attempts to rebrand itself as a tourist destination.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ikonos44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2013

uzbekistan ....... dream place to be .. very silent.. very sweet hotel uzbekistan is located in centre of city just opposite amir tamur square very silent and beautiful place .hotel looks good from outside but when u enters the room u find it not up to the mark rooms are not clean no airconditioning small toilets i have my room on 10th floor . good view from my room .the staff is not very supportive .they r so rude in talking .no swimming pool in the hotel . just an average hotel with a very good location

Room Tip: front side rooms has a good view of amir tamur square
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mannuanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I spent about 4 nights at the hotel. it is located right in the centre of Tashkent, opposite a beautiful park and right on a metro station.

It's a large impersonal hotel. The concierge, who was elderly and not interested in his job, was not very helpful when it came to finding out things about the city. He tried to sell me a Advantour map that was "free" and sent me to the wrong part of town when I asked for Advantour even though it was clearly marked on the map. The rest of the staff were also not particularly friendly or helpful.

The breakfast was buffet style and there was a large choice.

Room Tip: Choose an even nunbered room on the higher floors for the spectacular views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Ideally located hotel with horrible amenities,broken toilets,no airconditioning and had to run the tap for 15 minutes to finally get hot water.Very ordinary breakfast,the only efficient thing in this hotel was the lift.

Never ever will suggest this hotel to anyone.

Room Tip: No rooms are worth taking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rashmigupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Imposing structure, at least frontally. The back looks like a 50's hospital structure.Retains the Soviet 'rustic' grandeur. Overlooking luscious garden square. Slightly dull inside but adequate. Revamped. Located like anything in central green belt Tashkent. Rooms adequate but not spacious. Catering again adequate to superior for the post-soviet lack of finesse. Good to look at and to look from. Definitely emblematic. A must for the aficionados

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bardangas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tashkent hotels
1.2 mi away
Shodlik Palace
Shodlik Palace
#8 of 41 in Tashkent
280 reviews
0.5 mi away
Miran International Hotel
Miran International Hotel
#6 of 41 in Tashkent
211 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Tashkent
Hyatt Regency Tashkent
#1 of 41 in Tashkent
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Grande Plaza Hotel
Le Grande Plaza Hotel
#36 of 41 in Tashkent
195 reviews
0 mi away
Golden Valley Hotel
Golden Valley Hotel
#32 of 41 in Tashkent
31 reviews
0.4 mi away
City Palace Hotel
City Palace Hotel
#7 of 41 in Tashkent
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Uzbekistan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Uzbekistan

Address: Musakhanov street 45, Tashkent 100047, Uzbekistan
Location: Uzbekistan > Tashkent Province > Tashkent
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Tashkent
Price Range: $61 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Uzbekistan 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Uzbekistan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uzbekistan Hotel Tashkent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing