We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't believe the Lonely Planet”
Review of Hotel Uzbekistan

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Uzbekistan
Ranked #15 of 39 Hotels in Tashkent
Tassie tourers
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Don't believe the Lonely Planet”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed here twice in August 2012...had read about flat screen TV's and white walls...not so. Dodgy electrics, water supply, drainage etc. Fine but not as described...had to 'run the water for 20-25 minutes if you want hot"...true. Nice foyer/entrance but very much a remnant of the Russian era.Staff at reception had a bit of attitude and did not pass on messages etc. Door staff and bar staff good. Food OK.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tassiestourers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    183
    212
    70
    32
See reviews for
43
102
118
97
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angles
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2012

Well I have stayed in this hotel on 3 different occasions in the month of August and July of 2012. The air conditioners vary in strength and dont work very well.This hotel has NO POOL!!The gym LOL not bad if you are living in Soviet era Russia. The staff try, but this hotel is run down and need to be redone. Its old,carpet is stained,smell a bit musty and is NOT at international standards!! The hotels idea of free wifi is to have a very small area by the front desk where you get to share a signal with ten other people in a cramped very small area. Its a good deal for $50 a night but not for one penny more!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 7ContinentGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tashkent hotels

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

If you are expecting a four star comfort, this is definitely not the recommended place to be. My first impression when I entered the hotel was the very bad smell of cigarettes (and I am a smoker). The staff is rude and unfriendly; if you pre-booked your stay via an online search engine and have pre-selected your payment method, forget about changing it when you check-in.
The rooms small, not expecting Dubai standards sizes, are fine; however when it comes to cleanliness, forget having clean bed sheets, or a bathroom without hair.

Room Tip: You don't need a non smoking room to stay in that hotel. All of it smells cigarettes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChristianJabre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

A good hotel in Tashkent if you are nostalgic of grand soviet hotels. Very nice views from most room, a simple restaurant with amazing views of the city. Very good location near the metro and a good numbers of sights that can be accessed on foot. Staff speaks English and are as good as you can expect in an ex-soviet hotel. Breakfast was not the nicest, the rooms are really roomy but could definitely do with an upgrade. Good value by western standards.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JCLON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in June 2012. The room was clean and modern, although the door to the balcony fell off the hinges when we tried to open it! The location is good, opposite Amir Temur square and a short walk to Independance Square. There is a metro subway station just outside.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amzstar83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2012

While there are still hints of grandeur to be found in this hotel, it had definitely seen better days.

The rooms are quite spacious, but the smell of cigarette smokes permeates throughout.

I wanted to try out the gym, but it doesn't open until 9 am! So I ended up spending more time in the lobby as free wifi is only accessible from there.

On the positive side, the buffet breakfast had a good selection to suit most tastes and the location is excellent as it is right across from Amir Timur Park and a metro station.

In general, you will be fine with the Uzbekistan Hotel as long as you don't expect four stars standards.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank krafih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayutthaya, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

This hotel would not be my first choice in this price range.

I was on a business trip. I stayed here for 4 nights, went to Bukhara for 3 nights, and returned here for 4 nights. I stayed on the same floor.

Staff were friendly and helpful. One has to keep in mind that their average salary is USD 100 to 300 / month, so it is no wonder that they may not always be smiling.

The restaurant on the 16th (or 17th) floor is less expensive than the restaurant off of the lobby. They also serve items that the restaurant off of the lobby are out of - go figure.

WIFI is in the lobby. So learn to enjoy the lobby.

The location is not bad; about 10 to 15 minute walk from a Supermarket, some restaurants, and a store where one can buy wine and spirits and another store that sells beer. So all of the basic food groups were near by.

Keep in mind that Uzbekistan has high taxes on wine and the local wine is barely palatable.

Laundry is expensive. One shirt and 1 pair of pants cost USD 9.00. Wow.

The rooms are adequate although the A/C system is Soviet style. The room is warmer than I like. My four business associates also found the rooms to be warm and stuffy.

The buffet breakfast is not bad.

Room Tip: Tipping a $ or two to the maids never hurts
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Putachesnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tashkent hotels
1.9 mi away
Ichan Qal'a Hotel
Ichan Qal'a Hotel
#4 of 39 in Tashkent
56 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hyatt Regency Tashkent
Hyatt Regency Tashkent
#1 of 39 in Tashkent
83 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hotel Rohat
Hotel Rohat
#17 of 39 in Tashkent
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Lotte City Hotel Tashkent Palace
1.2 mi away
Shodlik Palace
Shodlik Palace
#6 of 39 in Tashkent
259 reviews
1.6 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Tashkent
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Uzbekistan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Uzbekistan

Property: Hotel Uzbekistan
Address: Musakhanov street 45, Tashkent 100047, Uzbekistan
Location: Uzbekistan > Tashkent Province > Tashkent
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Tashkent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Uzbekistan 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Uzbekistan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Uzbekistan Hotel Tashkent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing