We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel in best locality”
Review of City Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
City Palace Hotel
Ranked #7 of 41 Hotels in Tashkent
Reviewed April 30, 2014

During my stay in last month I find very friedly environment,good hospitality,clean freash atmosphere,beautiful swimming pool,sauna& turkish bath,......worth staying in hotel.Location &front view is marvellous...hotel staff is very cooperative.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bobby_Dr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (226)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 226 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2014

This is a typical tourist hotel with lots of coach parties arriving, which to be fair are dealt with efficiently.
I stayed at this hotel at the start and end of my trip and it was perfectly adequate. Bedrooms were spacious and furnishings quite grand although if dated, bathroom and bedlinen were of a good standard.
Breakfast was plentiful and the omlettes were excellent. My main complaint here would be there is not enough seating at peak times due to coach parties arriving on mass.
The lobby area is comfortable with a rather slow internet connection (same issue in all hotels I stayed in) however there was no wifi reception in bothe rooms I stayed in.
It is near a good bazaar, independent square, the government district and a goo park - all within a 10 minute walk.
Overall, it was a perfectly adequate and comfortable hotel

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Awaywegoagain22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I have to agree totally with MVC499. On our last evening, we were seated in the breakfast room as they had a wedding in the main restaurant, and they had completely run out of red wine! A warm and disgusting bottle of white was produced, but it was awful.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2013

Recently spent a week in this hotel and all-in-all it was absolutely fine. The hotel is situated in the city centre not far from the main square and the local Oloy market. The room was a very good size, comfortable bed, free wifi (though sometimes a bit slow), nice bathroom with plenty of hot water. Room was very clean - even a bit over the top with cleaners changing the bed linen and towels on a daily basis! I could definitely have done with a kettle and an iron - it is annoying to be totally beholden to (expensive) hotel services and such a small addition would make a lot of difference. Breakfasts were generally ok with a fair amount of choice. One plea, however, is don't keep pancakes under the same cover as the frankfurter sausages! The fried egg and omelet man, though, was excellent!
So, overall, a good experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fiona E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I spent 2 nights here and was pleasantly surprised as I'd read some mixed reviews. Room was quite large and well furnished with heavily Russian influenced dark wood furniture. The bed was very comfortable and there was plenty of hot water available. There is free Wifi available in the room which is a bonus and the A/C worked well. There is a fixed hairdryer in the bathroom but no iron available. The only downside is that the bar in the lobby is very small with not much seating and they don't accept USD, which are accepted everywhere else, only Uzbekistan Som. Breakfast is buffet style and quite good although not a lot of choice.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bev G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

This hotel looks grand but there are various problems with it. It's not well located - no tourist sites nearby. It's expensive. The food is not good. My door card/key didn't work and had to be replaced; the second one was unreliable too. The staff were not particularly friendly. Havign said that, though, the rooms are spacious and everything inside the room worked well.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MVC499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

It's not as bad as the previous reviews had suggested. We stayed in this hotel on three separate occasions during a recent trip to Uzbekistan and each time we had a room which was quiet, and relatively comfortable.
Yes, the decor is dated, yes, the bathrooms need a bit of TLC and the rooms lack any signs of being updated to the 21st century. But, at least the air conditioning works, and the curtains close and the TV works.
I am not sure whether it is an Uzbek custom but our bed was unmade and we had to do it ourselves.
The hotel is in a good location as it is close to a park a bazaar and metro stations.
Breakfast is a bit of an experience- be prepared to fight for cups and saucers. There seems to be a distinct lack of staff on duty.
Realistically, it is not a 5 star hotel, but this IS Uzbekistan so what can you expect?

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank queensquitter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tashkent hotels
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Tashkent
Hyatt Regency Tashkent
#1 of 41 in Tashkent
137 reviews
0.1 mi away
Wyndham Tashkent
Wyndham Tashkent
#5 of 41 in Tashkent
436 reviews
0.9 mi away
Miran International Hotel
Miran International Hotel
#6 of 41 in Tashkent
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Lotte City Hotel Tashkent Palace
1.5 mi away
Grand Mir Hotel
Grand Mir Hotel
#9 of 41 in Tashkent
136 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Uzbekistan
Hotel Uzbekistan
#26 of 41 in Tashkent
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Palace Hotel

Address: Amir Temur Street 15, Tashkent 100000, Uzbekistan (Formerly Markaziy Hotel)
Location: Uzbekistan > Tashkent Province > Tashkent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tashkent
Price Range: $119 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — City Palace Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your City Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Markaziy Hotel Tashkent

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing