We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not very good place to spend time there”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Beryozka - CLOSED

Beryozka
Cuisines: Russian
Description: Another possible link is http://www.orexca.com/restaurants_tashkent_beryozka.shtml. Located opposite Le Grande Plaza Hotel
Restaurant details
Description: Another possible link is http://www.orexca.com/restaurants_tashkent_beryozka.shtml. Located opposite Le Grande Plaza Hotel
Tashkent, Uzbekistan
Level Contributor
82 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Not very good place to spend time there”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

I did not like food there at all, because it is made with not healthy product, such as mayonnaise, sausages and so on. Positionong itself as Russian cuisine restaurant, they do not have the majority of russian food. Do not waste your time on it, it is intended for citizens just to eat, not for torist to enjoy culture, cuisine or everything else. It has an average interior design, so I will not go there by my own will.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank EvgeniyaBajenova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    1
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“ok place with Russian food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

Once upon a time this place used to be one of the best places for beer and good places for food. There have been no promotions or improvements, but nor there have been significant deterioration. It now more viewed as a mediocre place with decent food and so so beer.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank VZF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayutthaya, Thailand
Level Contributor
88 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2011

My comments are written within the context of the fact that 50 years ago my Mother owning a highly rated Russian Restaurant in San Francisco. She only used quality ingredients.

AA. Well written menus in both Russian and English. I wish the dishes matched the descriptions.

BB. Ordered the Bliny (pancakes) with meat and the plate of Red Caviar and unsalted butter.

The bliny were OK, but the meat was of less than high quality. In Russian, it would be called GEERNY -a bit greasy and gristly.

The red caviar dish evoked a smile. The portion of red caviar appeared to be about two small tea ice cream spoons worth on a large mound of butter. Ratio of red caviar to butter was about 1: 20 or 30.

CC. The house wine by the glass is Italia (local wine) made from a grape concentrate, not by traditional methods. Also the wine was warm, so that the poor quality was not masked.

Good value for the Vodka.

DD. The acoustics are good for private conversations as all voices are mixed together into a load background noise.

EE. Would I go here again - NO.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Putachesnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Perfect Russian”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2011

This cafe has great decor as is always full of locals in the evenings.

My Russian wife loved the food options, and the actual food, and it was great value. The beer is brewed on the premises and was also very nice.

The service was also good and fast, with only 1 instance out of a few visits where we had to wait what seemed like a very long time to get someones attention.

They also have an English menu.

  • Visited September 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank maccamlc_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beryozka also viewed

Tashkent, Tashkent Province
Tashkent, Tashkent Province
 
Tashkent, Tashkent Province
Tashkent, Tashkent Province
 
Tashkent, Tashkent Province
Tashkent, Tashkent Province
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing