We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Dushanbe”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dushanbe Serena Hotel
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Dushanbe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

My second trip to TJ and i was not sure about the hotel. But i can say its one of the best i have stayed. Nice and comfortable environment in every part of hotel, beautiful rooms and great personal. I really enjoyed my stay its also better located than the other hotels, nearby rush street, closed to official buildings (better security) and u can get easy everywhere. Simply perfect Central Asian place :)

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pinkforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (276)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

228 - 234 of 276 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2012

Located in the middle of the city the hotel is 15 minutes of drive from the airport. The location is good, within a walking distance to the center of the city where you can walk or take a public bus or taxi.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

The Serena is the prettiest modern hotel in Central Asia, and has great touches like a rooftop pool, top-notch fitness equipment and nice sitting areas (which I didn't have a change to try, but looked nice). Feather pillows, nice bathroom appointments, robes and dried fruits and nuts make the rooms special. And the rooms were quiet, with no sound from ventilation or neighbors.

The dinner buffet, at $25, is pricey for Dushanbe, but I got it twice because it offered fresh, healthy food, and super deserts. Breakfast was almost exactly the same each morning, which got a bit boring.

It clearly needs some work on details. The curtains don't block the sun adequately. On each of the five mornings of my stay, I had to ask twice and wait 5-10 minutes for my first cup of coffee. Spoons are scarce. The weight plates and the barbell don't match, making free weights a bit risky. The light switches in the room are an absolute puzzle: just keep flicking the switches until the one you want turns on or off, or just unplug it -- made me wonder if my mind was starting to go.

In sum, the Serena combines Western luxury with local beauty, and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it. And I do expect that the small problems are fixable and will get fixed

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dolkun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

The opening of Dushanbe's Serena hotel was long-awaited, and by all accounts, the road to opening, rocky. My long suffering partner deserved a treat for new year's eve, so we decided to stay over. The rooms really are worth the wait. In stark contrast to Dushanbe's other top-end hotel, Serena have tried to source as combine contemporary style and standards with Tajik influences. Consequently, there are local-style emroideries (suzani), Tajik 'silk' (Atlas) and woodcarving throughout. The effect is impressive and sumptuous. Although staff are still polishing up their act, in my experience, they are already knocking spots off Hyatt in terms of helpfulness, repsonsiveness and overall, willingness to improve. The buffet could still be improved but the bakery is fantastic with good standard patisserie and bakery for take out. We'll certainly be back when bank balance permits...

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank KashaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Владимир С
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe D, General Manager at Dushanbe Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2018
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank rtsu_2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe D, General Manager at Dushanbe Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 8, 2017
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gianniroma1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe D, General Manager at Dushanbe Serena Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Dushanbe hotels
2.1 mi away
Hyatt Regency Dushanbe
Hyatt Regency Dushanbe
#1 of 18 in Dushanbe
288 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Dushanbe Hotel
Sheraton Dushanbe Hotel
#4 of 18 in Dushanbe
137 reviews
0.8 mi away
Atlas Hotel
Atlas Hotel
#5 of 18 in Dushanbe
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Lotte Palace Dushanbe
Lotte Palace Dushanbe
#7 of 18 in Dushanbe
27 reviews
0 mi away
Asia Grand Hotel
Asia Grand Hotel
#11 of 18 in Dushanbe
21 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Twins
Hotel Twins
#6 of 18 in Dushanbe
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dushanbe Serena Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dushanbe Serena Hotel

Address: Rudaki Avenue 14, Dushanbe 734000, Tajikistan
Phone Number:
Location: Tajikistan > Dushanbe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Dushanbe
Price Range: $150 - $277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Dushanbe Serena Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Rudaki Avenue, a central location on the main boulevard of the city, the Dushanbe Serena Hotel sets a benchmark in the hospitality sector of Tajikistan for a deluxe five-star Hotel in the capital city. The spectacular facade with Tajik motifs is one-of-its-kind. Spread over 1.2 hectares of land, the Dushanbe Serena Hotel is with-in walking distance to Government Offices, Diplomatic Missions, Multinational and State Owned Companies, Tourist attractions such as National and Art Museums, Exhibition Centers, Cinemas, Opera Theater, and general commercial offices and institutions. A 10 minute drive from the Dushanbe International Airport, the five-star luxury Hotel has been designed and developed as a social and business hub for the residents of Dushanbe as well as the foreigners visiting the capital city for business or for leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Dushanbe Serena Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dushanbe Serena Hotel Tajikistan, Asia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing