We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“colombo”
Review of Colombo City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Colombo City Hotel
Ranked #54 of 136 Colombo B&B and Inns
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“colombo”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

this is a great place too...the outside balcony is very nice in front of the WTC(world trade center)nice place for a get together

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rehana h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    83
    97
    48
    56
See reviews for
31
93
64
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2012

This is the absolute worst place I have every stayed at. The reception was a joke! The rooms smelled of dirty feet and the walls in the bathroom were filthy. The elevators were just nasty and the staff never smiled. The hotel should be rated 1 star. We paid for 3 star and received 1. There were 7 of us and we all felt the same about this dump! Renovation will not help this place, just tear it down. It was a rip off with base price + 26% tax and service. Breakfast was nasty! Do not stay at this place for any reason!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Stay away from this dump. I'm a very experienced traveler and this the worst of the worst I have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Merrill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Colombo hotels

Chennai
Level Contributor
56 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

I think the hotel will go under renovation soon. The rooms are small and soggy. Nothing fancy about the room or the hotel. Though the building looks nice from outside. The service is also not quick. Though the location is good. Near to beach. Near to many eateries. Go around for shopping. Nice location

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sand1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

We got our room for about £25 a night so it wasn't too bad. You can actually haggle at these places so don't be afraid to do so.

Although the overall room and general feel of the place is pretty awful, we found the staff helpful, and kind. Our room wasn't too small but the bathroom was smelly and mouldy, there are also some creepy crawlies running about and the place looks as though it hasn't been cleaned in years. The bedroom itself is not the cleanest but we asked for new bedding and someone promptly came and changed everything for us. The hotel is also pretty good with it's security. I did feel safe here.

Although the hotel lacks on the luxury side of things, it is in a fantastic location - the bus station is minutes away, and also is the Pettah market. In front of the hotel you can pick up a tuk tuk and expect to pay around 200-300 max for almost wherever you want. The staff also arrange taxis to the airport - good, safe car and good driver - and the staff are helpful if you ask for exactly what you need.

The food here however is terrible... their chips tasted of fish, and their meat is fatty and horrible. Try Gallery Cafe on Paradise Road, or Galle Face which is within walking distance.

I would recommend it for the location, the security and even the service, but I did find myself wishing I was staying somewhere else for the price. Still, if you can haggle, I guess it isn't that bad.

Room Tip: Try and book a room on the 3rd floor The reception has moved there for the time being - with someone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2012

When travelling around this country, we got to expect a happy smile and a friendly greeting on arrival. "NOT HERE" The staff seemed all unhappy and preoccupied which is indicative of poor management. At breakfast the chef was being repremanded by a manager in front of us because of the quality of food presented. Not a good look.
When you consider the average price for a room in this country, paying $96 per night for this dog box is excessive considering the size of the room, lack of cleanliness and the excessive noise from the reconstruction of the hotel . The hotel is located across the road from the World Trade Centre and the Hilton Hotel. You would thing they would lift their game even under present circumstances.

Room Tip: Give it a miss
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

My partner and I stayed at the hotel at the start of our month long spell in Sri Lanka. Overall we were very disappointed with the hotel. Our room was very basic and there were many stains on the walls and the bed linen did not smell of look clean. The rooftop restaurant had good views out over the city and over to the sea and the food was fine. The area in which the hotel is located is not very nice either, it is near the bus station which seemed to attract a wide range of suspicious looking characters. We stayed in Colombo later on in our trip near the Embassies, this was a much nicer area and we would recommend looking for a hotel here.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rossweir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 6, 2012

what a nightmare the Colombo City Hotel is! the hotel was swarming with flies, cockroaches and rats! our room, which was supposed to be a deluxe was very small and extremely dirty! the staff at the reception were clueless that we had booked with them. and they kept saying we have to ask our boss mr. g.m. mathews! the food was tasteless and smelly and 01 dish had a dead cockroach in it! Do not ever book this place.... the worst stay of our lives! the hotel should be closed down!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.1 mi away
The Steuart by Citrus
The Steuart by Citrus
#18 of 51 in Colombo
279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairway Colombo
Fairway Colombo
#17 of 51 in Colombo
160 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Oriental Hotel
Grand Oriental Hotel
#37 of 51 in Colombo
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Colombo
Hilton Colombo
#10 of 51 in Colombo
1,985 reviews
0.1 mi away
Galadari Hotel
Galadari Hotel
#29 of 51 in Colombo
828 reviews
0.1 mi away
CityRest Fort
CityRest Fort
#5 of 136 in Colombo
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colombo City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colombo City Hotel

Property: Colombo City Hotel
Address: 33 Canal Row | Fort Colombo 01, Colombo 00100, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 136 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Colombo City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colombo City Hotel is located in the heart of Colombo right opposite to the World Trade Center Twin Towers and the old Dutch Hospital,now converted to a modern shopping complex which is a world heritage site, it is also walking distance from the old parliament. A short stroll from the hotel and you will find your self amidst historic buildings and the Colombo port. This is the ideal location for business travelers and people who want a taste of the metropolitan. With 51 rooms and a wonderful rooftop restaurant/bar offering value for money food, beverages & sprites. This hotel is star classified by the tourist board and is offering affordable accommodation at the best location in the City of Colombo and is a great choice for most travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Colombo City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing