We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thanks, but no thanks.”
Review of Colombo City Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Colombo City Hotel
Ranked #54 of 133 Colombo B&B and Inns
Macau, China
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Thanks, but no thanks.”
Reviewed June 5, 2012

My husband and I stayed tat Colombo City Hotel in April and chose it because of its location which was the only thing that was good about it. It's by the beach and the Hilton and has lots of little restaurants around. The room, however, was terrible: extremely old, dusty, smelly and small. The bathroom was tiny and smelly (we didn't use it at all) and the electrical stuff was unsafe (we got shocked a couple of times). Also, they were renovating the hotel, which gave it an even more eerie personality and it was really not pleasant.
I'll say that if the renovations work out and it does get a "facelift" this hotel is a good deal. As it is now, it's not worth it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myduckierocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    83
    96
    47
    55
See reviews for
31
92
64
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2012

City hotel great location , rooms very small but very clean , only problem breakfast passable but dinner if the restaurant is open to guests poor quality food ,they have a new manager called Oliver trying to sort out the problems if it was not for his customer care skills the restaurant would be a disaster .
Booked a car from there for 14 days to tour good price a chap called ralf and his boss deen , driver and car brilliant , one tip do not get into a tut tut unless meter working and do not pick up a guide from the streets in Colombo they will make out to be your friend , and they are there to get your money

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sonbou10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barcelona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Situated opposite the World Trade Centre and the Hilton Hotel and very near Fort Station. In April when we were there they were renovating the 1st and 2nd floors. We had a newly renovated room on the first floor.It was very nice all new.Restaurant fine for dinner.Staff helpful. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a newly renovated room on the first or second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mamieBarcelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enschede, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

The location is great near the beach, nice walking area opposite the World Trade Center.
Bt the floor in the room was dirty, poor facilities & hygiene.
Reception friendly but untrained hotel staff.

If this hotel gets a cleaning course with motivated manager it can be a good hotel, but this time too expensieve for the service!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Colombo hotels

Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Having read all the reviews about this hotel on the site, we were very worried about what to expect. Unfortunately, there was an international cricket match and a trade fair going on so hotel rooms were hard to find and very expensive. In general though, rooms in Colombo are expensive for what you get especially if you are travelling with a family.

However, our experience was not as bad as we thought it would be.

On the positive side:

a) the location is GREAT. Right beside the hotel is the newly-opened Old Dutch Hospital which has been well renovated and is filled with fantastic restaurants, a spa and some great shops. We ate at the Ministry of Crab which is wonderful. Make a reservation though.

It is within walking distance to the train station as well as the beach promanade. Very easy to catch a metered taxi or auto rickshaw.

b) the breakfasts were not bad with a good choice and a nice view from the balcony rooftop.

c) the staff were helpful and friendly and very polite.

d) the exchange rate offered to change USD to Rupees was fair and the same as the forex bureaus.

e) they are doing some renovation work to spruce up the place

f) there was a safe in the room to store valuables


On the negative:

a) the rooms are old and could use a new lick of paint, a new carpet or tiling and some minor clean-up work in the bathrooms.

b) we had a family room facing to the inside and it was very dark however, it was quiet.

c) the exchange rate used when paying for the room is a rip-off if paying in Rupees (135 at the time) so you are best to pay in USD. The normal exchange rate should have been between 120 and 125.

This hotel has a beautful facade, is in a great location and in any other city of the world, it would be a boutique hotel. Hopefully, they can come closer to this reality.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnAfricanWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 28, 2012

This is our second visit to Sri Lanka and as last time we stayed at this hotel, and this time round they have improved on the facilities available.

The entire front area has been landscaped with direct access to the World Trade Center and other facilities.

We had a great time and the hotel staff went out of their way and even purchased train tickets to Baddulla and Kandy for us and did it at cost with out any handling fees, which we thought was great of them and very generous of the hotel staff and the travel desk personnel for which we are very grateful, because we tried to buy the train tickets on line but this facility was not available.

We loved the hill country and the visit to Kandy and returned to the hotel for our final day before we returned home.

We hope to go back once again and we will certainly book this wonderful Hotel and we will definitely recommend the hotel to all our friends who may want to visit Sri Lanka, specially after peace has returned to this beautiful Island Paradise.

Kate & Molly

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kate618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2012

Had a couple of meals here, general feeling is it is a bit tired, there are much better places around but if you re on a budget it will probably suffice.

Room Tip: Just check the rooms out before you decide.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hugh F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
0.1 mi away
The Steuart by Citrus
The Steuart by Citrus
#17 of 51 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.1 mi away
Fairway Colombo
Fairway Colombo
#18 of 51 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.3 mi away
Grand Oriental Hotel
Grand Oriental Hotel
#37 of 51 in Colombo
3.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hilton Colombo
Hilton Colombo
#9 of 51 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,946 reviews
0.8 mi away
Metro City Hotel
Metro City Hotel
#36 of 51 in Colombo
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.1 mi away
CityRest Fort
CityRest Fort
#5 of 133 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colombo City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colombo City Hotel

Property: Colombo City Hotel
Address: 33 Canal Row | Fort Colombo 01, Colombo 00100, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 133 B&Bs / Inns in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Colombo City Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Colombo City Hotel is located in the heart of Colombo right opposite to the World Trade Center Twin Towers and the old Dutch Hospital,now converted to a modern shopping complex which is a world heritage site, it is also walking distance from the old parliament. A short stroll from the hotel and you will find your self amidst historic buildings and the Colombo port. This is the ideal location for business travelers and people who want a taste of the metropolitan. With 51 rooms and a wonderful rooftop restaurant/bar offering value for money food, beverages & sprites. This hotel is star classified by the tourist board and is offering affordable accommodation at the best location in the City of Colombo and is a great choice for most travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Colombo City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing