We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis in Colombo, when you can't handle another night in the bathroom”

The Bavarian German Restaurant and Pub
Ranked #28 of 556 Restaurants in Colombo
Price range: $9 - $30
Cuisines: German, Bar, European, Pub, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Description: Located in the heart of Colombo, a true European Pub with great food, large portions and cheap beer and drinks
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“An oasis in Colombo, when you can't handle another night in the bathroom”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

What a find! Amazing steaks, lamb shanks and beers and only a stone throw away from my hotel (Taj), also across the road from the Galle Face Hotel. My colleagues and I needed a night or two away from some of the local cuisine, and the Bavarian provided it in spades.... Wonderful steaks perfectly cooked and some good beers. The atmosphere was as you'd expect and nice for a change of pace. Highly recommend.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DaTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    210
    68
    20
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
109 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Truly German.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

Amazing place to eat some good meat. We had the cream cheese and bacon wrapped prawns along with pork knuckle and steak (which was a bit chewy). But everything else was simply superb. It is walking distance from Taj Samudra.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ravi73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food in huge servings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

Buzzing and every table occupied on a Saturday evening, the place had a nice warm vibe, well informed waiters, and food to die for. We had the Prawn Batter Fried Starter, Roast Chicken and Pork Fillet Crumb Fried and stuffed with ham and cheese, all served with some sort of starch, veggies or salad.
Reasonably priced Lion draught to wash it down.
Awesomeness!! One of the best food we ate while in Sri Lanka

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank vipinmishra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
54 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

Have been visiting this restaurant for the last 24 years... Superb... I would rate this as in the top 3 in colombo... Authentic atmosphere... Superb service... Delicious food... Good sized portions ad value for money..

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Arunikaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Love, love, love! Never disappoints.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

I love this place, and this is my favorite place to go for when I am happy, and when I am sad! Their food is excellent. Even for vegetarians they make a good dish, and will even customize it a bit. I love their service. I have been coming to this place for over 4 years and I have always received great service. The staff are really friendly and they will make sure your stay is pleasant and that food meets your standard. And the portions are massive! Don't think I have ever finished a plate! Lovely place. And superb drinks too. The bartender is good with his drinks. Have a chat with him and get a drink you will love.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Madara_Ranmuthugala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bavarian German Restaurant and Pub also viewed

Colombo, Western Province
 
Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 

Been to The Bavarian German Restaurant and Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing