We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dinner”

Paradise Road The Gallery Cafe
Ranked #37 of 820 Restaurants in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $52
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Paradise Road Galleries -the Gallery Cafe Opened In 1998 In A Structure Which Was The Former Offices Of World Renowned Sri Lankan Architect, The Late Geoffrey Bawa. Bawa Personally Approved Fernando Taking Over His Beloved Property And Converting It Into A Restaurant And Art Gallery And Respected Shanth's Design Sense In The Conversion And Renovation Of The Building To Complement His Own. Bawa's Only Input Was The Location Of The Main Pavilion Where Most Diners Are Seated. The Art Gallery Features Regularly Changing Exhibitions By Established And Emerging Local Artists, For Sale. As The Cafe Is Open From 10AM Through To Midnight Daily, Visitors Frequent The Property For Meals, Site Seeing, Coffee, Cake, Shopping And The Complimentary Wi-fi Available For Use Of Patrons. The Gallery Cafe's Menu Has Not Changed In Years As Regulars Have Their Favourites And Fernando Prides Himself On The Fact That They May Always Return For That Option. It Is Particularly Known For Its Cocktails And Desserts As Well As It's Consistently 'good Food.'
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This place is really beautiful. The food was excellent. We al had crab appy very yummy. Great ambience

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Companion485624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TintagelColombo, Asst. Front Office Manager at Paradise Road The Gallery Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing Paradise Road The Gallery Cafe.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your recent meal in our restaurant. Our eclectic a'la carte menu has been created to please every palate. We appreciate your comments about service quality as we strive to excel in our standards continuously. The interior of the restaurant has been designed with much thought and care to ensure our guests are treated to a unique experience. Thank you for your review and we look forward to serving you again.

Kind Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (2,247)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 2,247 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

If you are in Colombo, you have to come. First of all, the place and ambience is gorgeous. The menu is extensive and you can find western and eastern food, so there are options.
My first problem with the place is that service is slow. 30 minutes later I am still waiting.
Then, food came and everything changed as it was really delicious.
The dessert menu is LONG! and mine, at least, was delicious!!!!!
So, sit down, relax and prepare to enjoy a real good experience.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank victorguezflores
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TintagelColombo, Asst. Front Office Manager at Paradise Road The Gallery Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing Paradise Road The Gallery Cafe.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your recent meal in our restaurant. Every aspect of the interior is designed with much thought and care to ensure our guest are treated to a unique experience. The eclectic a'la carte menu has been created to please every palate.

We have well noted your feedback about the delay in service and we shall investigate further in order to ensure that similar situations are prevented. Thank you for your great recommendation and we look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

A nice place for lunch. Incredibly slow waiter service so much so that our friend who comes regularly complained that tourists who arrived before us were served before us! Food was ok. My salad was drenched in dressing which was poor. I should have asked for it on the side. The place is very nice and I would recommend going there but they could offer better service and improve the food.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank University_Doc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TintagelColombo, Asst. Front Office Manager at Paradise Road The Gallery Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing Paradise Road The Gallery Cafe.

It is quite unfortunate that your recent dining experience did not meet your expectations. We have well noted your feedback about the food and shall investigate further in order to understand and prevent such situations from taking place int he future. We can assure you that our team is dedicated and committed to ensure that our guests are treated to a unique experience. We hope you will return to experience true Paradise Road hospitality.

Kind Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2019 via mobile

Handmade clothes, homeware, jewellery and more. Unique great to rake back to Australia nothing like it here

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank rosemarieb564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TintagelColombo, Asst. Front Office Manager at Paradise Road The Gallery Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing Paradise Road.

We are pleased that you visited our store recently. Every item displayed is an artistic expression designed with great thought and care. The products on offer have been created to please every taste and we are glad that you were able to acquire which ever the items that caught your eye. Thank you for visiting Paradise Road and we look forward to serving you again during your next visit.

Kind Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2019 via mobile

Always our favorite place when we have visitors. We enjoyed the food and the service here. Eventhough black pork curry always must have dish but I had tried prawn curry this time. It was very tasty. Highly recommend this place.

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank WanpenT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TintagelColombo, Asst. Front Office Manager at Paradise Road The Gallery Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2019

Dear Guest,

Thank you for reviewing Paradise Road The Gallery Cafe.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your recent meal in our restaurant. We appreciate your feedback on food and service as we strive to maintain our standards continuously. We are happy that the black pork curry is an all time favorite and the prawn curry also stood out.

Every aspect of the interior of the cafe has been designed with great care to ensure our guests are treated to a unique dining experience. Thank you for patronizing The Gallery Cafe and we look forward to serving you again during your next visit.

Kind Regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paradise Road The Gallery Cafe also viewed

 
Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 
Colombo, Western Province
 

Been to Paradise Road The Gallery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing