We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dining out with friends at paradise cafe”

Paradise Road the Gallery Cafe
Ranked #4 of 578 Restaurants in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $52
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Paradise Road Galleries -the Gallery Cafe Opened In 1998 In A Structure Which Was The Former Offices Of World Renowned Sri Lankan Architect, The Late Geoffrey Bawa. Bawa Personally Approved Fernando Taking Over His Beloved Property And Converting It Into A Restaurant And Art Gallery And Respected Shanth's Design Sense In The Conversion And Renovation Of The Building To Complement His Own. Bawa's Only Input Was The Location Of The Main Pavilion Where Most Diners Are Seated. The Art Gallery Features Regularly Changing Exhibitions By Established And Emerging Local Artists, For Sale. As The Cafe Is Open From 10am Through To Midnight Daily, Visitors Frequent The Property For Meals, Site Seeing, Coffee, Cake, Shopping And The Complimentary Wi-fi Available For Use Of Patrons. The Gallery Cafe's Menu Has Not Changed In Years As Regulars Have Their Favourites And Fernando Prides Himself On The Fact That They May Always Return For That Option. It Is Particularly Known For Its Cocktails And Desserts As Well As It's Consistently 'good Food.'
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“dining out with friends at paradise cafe”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

this is one place which has maintained its quality of food. The prices were a little steep but its worth as what we got was quality food.It rather a crowded place especially at weekends but still fun to eat out at.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank khairy60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,708 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    910
    559
    138
    56
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Karachi, Sindh, Pakistan
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“great ambience”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We enjoyed a nice dinner in a lovely setting. good shop inside and best of contemporary art. It has the perfect lighting. One can stroll around, browse the art and collectibles, get sovenirs.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank moyenan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We did some research and made it a point to visit this place for lunch during our visit to Sri Lanka last year. The setting, ambiance, decor, food and service were absolutely top notch. This is not just a place to dine, but also to just be and soak in the calm and beauty of the surroundings.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jra1541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wormed”
Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

There was much to enjoy in last weeks lunch, the proteins were cooked as requested, the decor was interesting. Tragically our lunch will be remembered for the dead, bloated, white worm on top of the salad that accompanied my wife's main course. While the dish was replaced, none of our guests wanted their salads as they were afraid the sides had been prepared together. This oversight unfortunately made our overall meal uncomfortable.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anteline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome desserts but expensive”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Really awesome place in the middle of a very busy city. As soon as enter to this place you'll feel the difference. Very nice atmosphere.
I've been to this place about twice but have not had a main meal so I'm not going to comment about that. However, this is one of the best places to have really yummy desserts.
My favourites are the cheesecakes, especially the Dulche de Leche cheesecake! However, as I've mentioned in the title, the prices are a bit high (despite the cheesecake being well worth the amount paid!).

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mohamed_Junkeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Paradise Road the Gallery Cafe also viewed

Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 
Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 

Been to Paradise Road the Gallery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing