We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Mango Tree

The Mango Tree
Ranked #15 of 555 Restaurants in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Katunayake, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
56 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Great food & equally great atmosphere, service was just superb, staff's were all ears to your need's, flavoring's & portions were smack on.. definitely would recommend this place to all

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shrikanth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delon466, Manager at The Mango Tree, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Shrikanth B,

Thank you for dining with us and for your positive review.
We try our best to make sure our guest receive the best service and great food.

Hope to see you soon @ The Mango Tree

Regards,
The Mango Tree team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    272
    313
    115
    38
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“As Good as it gets”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Over all the years, The Mango Tree hasn't lost its amazing platter of food. It truly is a wonderful experience dining at The mango tree. Do remember to reserve a table in advance since you might end up waiting for a while on busy nights.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karthik R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delon466, Manager at The Mango Tree, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear KarthikR360,

Thank you for your review. Yes as you mentioned We recommend a reservation for the convenience of all our guests.
We are happy you enjoy the food @ The Mango Tree and hoping to see you again.

Regards,
The Mango Tree Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Absolutely the place to eat, grilled fish is so tasty! Service is great and price is quite reasonable for such nice restaurant.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Saggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delon466, Manager at The Mango Tree, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear Saggie

Thank you for the review. Happy you enjoyed our food. Hope to see u again.

Regards,
The Mango Tree team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
169 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A little hairy!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

Good, busy restaurant which was pretty much full for the whole time we were there and we arrived early. There was a courtyard area outside which you can sit in whilst waiting or use if you are a smoker. Was slightly put of by hair found in poppadom but they took them away with an apology and brought fresh ones. Glad we didn't leave at that point as the food was delicious, we had 3 large Lion beers, 1 rice, 2 breads, 2 curries for RS4960, good value for the level of service and the portions which were huge. Highly recommended for and evening meal.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FunkyMarshmallow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delon466, Manager at The Mango Tree, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear FunkyMarshmallow,

Happy you enjoyed the food. apology on behalf of our whole team for the inconvenient.
hope to see you again at the mango tree.

Regards,
The Mango Tree team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb Value for Money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2013

Yummy food - comfortable and kind staff.- Excellent Ambiance - very good location with valet parking making the customers happy than angry trying to find parking. Personal touch and smile of Mr Singh always adds flavor to the food.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Helpful?
Thank Ibrahim913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delon466, Manager at The Mango Tree, responded to this review, February 9, 2013
Dear Mr. Ibrahim,

We very well know you enjoy The Mango Tree food and the service :)
Thank you for your review. Hope to see you many more times at The Mango Tree.

Regards,
The Mango Tree team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mango Tree also viewed

Colombo, Western Province
 
Colombo, Western Province
 
Colombo, Western Province
Colombo, Western Province
 

Been to The Mango Tree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing