We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ranjit's Ambalama
Nearby Hotels
$162
$125
Cinnamon Grand
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hilton Colombo(Colombo)
$142
$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
$93
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Taj Samudra Colombo(Colombo)
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
OZO Colombo(Colombo)
$76
$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$162
$117
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$127
$121
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$55
$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$117
$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (42)
Filter reviews
42 results
Traveler rating
6
8
4
11
13
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6
8
4
11
13
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 42 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2009

After confirmation by email we arrived in the night, 1 am on October 9 2009 at Ranjit. Waiting for 1 hour, using the horne of the taxi, he waited 1 hour for us! screaming, ringing, finally a boy woke up and opened the door. It took another 1 hour before we could go to our room, because other guests were sleeping in “our” room. From the boy we got a bottle of water. The bed was smelling and the airco not working,. Because we had to pay 1300 extra for it. Did not sleep because of the musquitos.
Next morning we decided to leave this place. The bill was amazing:

The (4star) roomprice of 3000 was excl 10% tax ( nobody could tell what kind of tax)For the taxi he charged us 3500, in stead of all the taxi’s on the airport 2200
For the bottle of water he charged us 60, EXCL 10% tax!! And 1 minute emailcheck 75, EXCL tax.
The man behaved very rude and is just a moneywolve.

JonathanHans

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jonathanhans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2008

I don't know where to begin... we got in late and tired, all we wanted was to be led to our rooms so we could put down our backpacks and take a small breather, but we were told to hand in a RS$1000 (USD$10) deposit for the room key!!

Nowhere in the online booking did it state this! The owner himself, Ranjit, was awefully rude and had very bad attitude about the whole thing. Never before have we been asked for a deposit for the room key throughout Sri Lanka. When we said we wanted to leave to look for another guest house, he refused to let us, and said we had to give him 24hr notice for this. Which is insanely ridiculous, if you asked me!

It's also true what the other guy wrote, the photo you see here in the website is the owner's actual home.... where you'll stay is actually next door!

Some of the room's windows had no curtains, so we felt slightly vulnerable. We had booked a room with ensuite bathroom, but were given a room with a shared one. There was a crocroach in there too! There were tons of insects and mozzies in the room, really "rustic", if you asked me.

I hardly have problems sleeping especially when i'm tired, but that night was the worst ever.

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank spinner_g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ranjitksam, OWNER at Ranjit's Ambalama, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2009

These visitors arrived in the early hours of the morning.There is a notice in the visitors book used for signing in,calling for payment of a refundable key deposit.this requirement had to be brought in as we had to meet the consequences of people walking away with the key and in some instances not making a payment for their stay.We insist on the full payment on arrival for their stay and the refundable deposit.
Infact in one instance a visitor who was attached to a NGO walked off with the key and Rs.40,000/- due to us having stayed for over two weeks.
Every time I lose a key this way I have to call a lock repairer to recut a key and all that costs.
All vistors who book a room are aware that they cannot just walkout wihout paying for their overnight stay and for the day following when they have booked the room.
A deliberate effort has been made to down grade my property as I did not agree to the non paymeny of their booking.
Ultimately they walked off without paying anything for their two day booking and wrote this horrendous report downgrading my property.
24 hr.notice is required to cancel a booking.We reserve a room for the visitor on receipt of a booking and thereby we are unable to make that room available to other people asking for accommodation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2008

This place is awefull. The two rooms are unlikely clean but without any nice decoration or anything to make your stay there warm. The shared bathroom is dirty and old.
But the worst thing is Mr. Ranjeed himself, who wants to make the more money he can get out of his customers. If you just go out by Riksha he is disappointed, cause he wants to earn money for even calling you a taxi and charges you the tripple price for the phone call
Another business of him is "organising" tours through Sri Lanka.
The spots he promised you will see, are never reachable with this scedule. The drivers earn just 20% of this Tours, he gets the rest.
For the money he wants for a room per night, you can have a four star hotel in the center. You better chose this.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MataHari20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ranjitksam, owner at Ranjit's Ambalama, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2009

my establishment and its operation along with services offered is very clearly defined in most travellers Guide Books and with Hostelworld and the price payable for any service we offer is spelt out in the file available to a visitor in each room.

We do not suddenly confront our visitors with sum payable for services rendered.
I am surprised with the comments made by this visitor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2008

The image displayed on the site is the owner's house and the neighboring house not displayed is where the guests sleep and dwell. This guest house has many mosquitoes, water bugs, roaches, and uncomfortable & extremely old bedding. The price doesn't complement the inadequate conditions offered per night. There isn't even complimentary water which is standard in every other place I have visited throughout Sri Lanka. Over priced, poor conditions and general unhealthy conditions to sleep in.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank tali22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ranjitksam, owner at Ranjit's Ambalama, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2009

we have had many good responses for what we offer and we regret to note the comments made by guests who cannot accept the fact that we have a set of rules for this organisation and is spelt out to every visitor both in writing and verbally.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews