We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel, Lovely Stay”
Review of Casa Colombo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Colombo
Ranked #16 of 51 Hotels in Colombo
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel, Lovely Stay”
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Very high tech. Stunning room. Great staff, you have personal assistant ('domo') during your stay. Breakfast was very nice. Will definitely stay here again next time I am in Colombo. Close to the beach, which is nice.

Room Tip: I was on first floor room. Very quiet, nice views outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tariq S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
What a thrill to read your review of CASA Colombo, and it was definitely an encouragement to our Team, who strive to give you a stay that is perfect and unique in every way.

A very personalized service is our forte, and it is something we love to do to ensure that your stay with us is memorable and that you will always think of us when your travels bring you to Colombo.

We love the fact that you will be returning to CASA Colombo someday soon. We can’t wait to see you again.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    604
    239
    61
    24
    29
See reviews for
103
560
50
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

We had 2 nights at Casa Colombo at the start of our honeymoon in Sri Lanka. The room (one of the upstairs suites) was fantastic, and you are assigned a personal butler to look after you during your stay. Breakfast was good but we didn't eat any evening meals in the hotel so can't comment on that. Overall we had a great stay, were really well looked after and would recommend to others for a treat (or if on business)!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nomad1982Leeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Your honeymoon is a very special time for you, a time to create ever lasting memories, which you re-live throughout your life. We are happy that we have been able to make this time even more special for you at CASA Colombo.

We would love to see you relive those wonderful memories year after year at CASA Colombo, and look forward to seeing you again, and the next time around we will assure you more wonderful memories and exceptional moments at CASA Colombo.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We were a couple wanting to get out of city life and thats exactly what we got. Its a quaint mansion with well spread out and decorated rooms in Colombo. Great butler service as well. This hotel is 10-15 mins ride from the city center. The restaurant food was delicious. The Spa facilities were not upto the mark, not having arrangements for music or a decent shower. However the massage itself was good. Overall, a very good experience. I would recommend this hotel only for couples. Not a family hotel.

Room Tip: Do not get the room right next to reception, as the reception tends to get really loud in the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank escapadesdiaries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
It is such a pleasure to note that you have had a wonderful experience at CASA Colombo, and that we have been able to give you the quiet and relaxing stay you have wanted.

It is a great motivator for our team to know that you have enjoyed yourself whilst with us, and total satisfaction on your part is what we endeavor to achieve at all times.

Thank you also for your recommendation of us. We would love to see you again sometime at CASA Colombo.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manama
Level Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2014 via mobile

We had a superb 3 night stay at Casa Colombo in May. Everything from the welcome drink to the robes in the room were fabulous. We had a huge suite with standalone bath in the room which we loved. They have thought of everything from providing a laptop and wi if to beautiful bespoke toiletries. The only reasons for not giving a 5* rating was that the quality of the food was somewhat hit and miss - some of it was sensational and other items really quite poor. The other was that while the service was indeed very attentive it was sometimes almost too familiar and could be a little intrusive. However this is my personal preference and doesn't take away from Casa Colombo offering a very high standard of accommodation.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank ManamaClaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, June 19, 2014
Thank you for a super review of your stay at CASA Colombo, and nothing pleases us more than knowing that your stay was memorable and exceptional in every way.

We love it that you have been happy with our design and décor, and the reason we like to provide you with all amenities and a personalized service is to ensure that your stay is worry and hassle free, and lets you enjoy the comfort and luxury of CASA Colombo. We also take pride in providing you with cuisine that is of the highest standard, and if we have by any chance not achieved that, rest assured we will check on the same to ensure quality is a constant.

We would love to welcome you again at CASA Colombo.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Very pretty property and well located. You can get a drink at their outside bar area. The staff was helpful who even show you around the hotel. Their suites look charming. Great place to visit with a few friends for drinks.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jayanti S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments and we are happy to note that you have had a memorable experience at CASA Colombo, and that you have enjoyed some time away from the stress of day to day life over drinks at Zaza Bar.

We are also happy to note that you had an opportunity to have a look around CASA Colombo, and that you have found our suites to be charming, so we look forward to the day when you will visit us not just for drinks but a stay at CASA Colombo.

See you soon.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2014

small miracle. everything was perfect, rooms and pool was amazing. no words to in world to compare it, simply amazing.We LOVED Casa Colombo. The decor is amazing.staff was very friendly. food was very delicious.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emilio V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
We are truly in love with your amazing review of CASA Colombo. How wonderful to know that your experience with us has been a memorable one.

Your very encouraging comments have been shared with our entire CASA Colombo team and we look forward with eager anticipation to the day when we will see you again for another memorable, unique and amazing stay at CASA Colombo.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
221 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2014

The four and five star business hotel options are very limited in Colombo, and the Casa Colombo is a charming change of pace for a jaded business traveler like myself. It is centrally located off of Galle Face Road, the main drag, and hotel itself is a classic boutique hotel in a restored old colonial era mansion. The rooms are very large and quirkely decorated. The staff is attentive and friendly. Like any boutique hotel, it has its quirks - things like figuring out how the TV and air con work. Overall, I highly reommend it. I had a great breakfast and lunch in the dining room. There is a cool bar in the front and a pool and lounging area with chairs under a large shade tree in the back. Unfortunately, there is no gym, and th pool is on the small side.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gearhead85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
We are so glad to have been your choice in Colombo during your stay, and are very happy to have had the opportunity to give you a true CASA Colombo experience, one that is unique and amazing in every way.

We loved reading your review of CASA Colombo and a heartfelt thank you from the bottom of our hearts for the recommendation.

We would love to see you again at CASA Colombo, and await your return with much anticipation.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
2.3 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.6 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#8 of 51 in Colombo
741 reviews
2.0 mi away
Uga Residence
Uga Residence
#1 of 51 in Colombo
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
2.1 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
0.5 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#11 of 51 in Colombo
1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Colombo

Property: Casa Colombo
Address: 231 Galle Rd, Colombo 4, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Colombo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#2 Family Hotel in Colombo
#13 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 200 year old mansion restored and converted to a retro-chic hotel with 12 exclusive designer suites, 2 trendy restaurants, the stylish bar and tea garden, and a pink pool. Guests looked after by private Domos and transfers done in vintage cars or helicopters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Colombo Hotel Colombo
Casa Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing