We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay!!”
Review of Casa Colombo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Colombo
Ranked #16 of 51 Hotels in Colombo
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stay!!”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

Had a lovely stay in Casa, the architecture is amazing and the service was top notch! Arrun our personal butler was lovely & catered to our every need. Breakfast was huge! Would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CJordanTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review on Trip Advisor. We love it that your stay at CASA Colombo has been a memorable one.

Our Team’s one aim is to ensure that your stay with us is both luxurious and personalized in every way, and memorable enough to keep you coming back to CASA Colombo. We would love to see you again soon.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    604
    239
    61
    24
    29
See reviews for
103
560
50
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
256 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2014

We stayed one night here prior to departing Colombo. The team have done a wonderful job refurbishing the 200+ year old building and putting a very unique spin on the rooms with the designs. The tiles are from the original building, coupled with some modern touches including some interesting lighting (see below for the bed lighting). The rooms are very large, we had a lounge room, bedroom, massive bathroom with dual vanities, dual waterfall showers and a study. It was an amazing amount of space for a very old building that has been refurbished very well.

We were tended to by our own butler Guiyan who was very helpful in arranging a driver for us on our last day. We were keen to head out to another restaurant we were recommended, but he was very keen for us to try their restaurant. Tired after a long journey, we ate there and enjoyed a fantastic meal which was also great value - probably the best Kotthu Roti I had in my whole time in SL, although a little too hot for my wife's liking! From this experience and the recommendations for our driver, if you have your own itinerary, I'd suggest being firm on where you'd like to go and what you want to see.

The only downside to our stay was an incessant mouse, bug etc which seemed to be rustling around in our air conditioning system all night. I guess this is part and parcel of staying in an older building, but did cause something of an interrupted sleep.

I'm sure we'll be back to SL again in the future, and whilst I enjoyed my stay, might look at something closer to the Old Dutch hospital next time around.

Keep up the good work team.

Room Tip: There are only a handful of rooms which may be very different in size and decor. See if you can have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdmiller83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for a wonderful review about your experience at CASA Colombo, and we love it that you have enjoyed the design, architecture and ambience of our pride and joy.

Our greatest endeavor is to make your stay with us unique in every possible way, and we love giving you a very personalized service at CASA Colombo, because we truly believe that that is where we make the biggest difference in your stay.

We do look forward to another visit from you in the future, so please do come back.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of our 3 week holiday and it was the perfect end. This hotel, or should I say, stunningly refurbished mansion, is spectacular. Our personal butler Guiyan was brilliant, we felt like royalty!

We hadn't planned on dining here, but were tired on our first night so chose to eat in. It was the most amazing food and service - we both agree it was the best (and cheapest) 3 course meal we have had together in 2.5 years. Service was the most attentive I've ever experienced.

I would absolutely recommend, I can't speak more highly of this hotel, and all it's staff - thank you Casa Colombo!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fionanmcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
You are much more than royalty to us… you are family, which is why we love taking care of you whilst you are with us at CASA Colombo.

At CASA Colombo you can be sure of a very personalized experience, coupled with luxury and the peace and quiet you need to make your holiday a relaxing one.

Thank you for your lovely comments and recommendation, and we look forward to seeing you again at CASA Colombo.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

I loved this hotel. What a stunning building. I saw 2 of the rooms while we were there as we also had friends staying there. I love this kind of boutique hotel. Some really quirky touches that were very much to my taste. I didn’t hear any noise from the nightclub that others have mentioned but then again I am a heavy sleeper – and even moreso in the very comfortable beds at Casa Colombo.

The pool area is also great to relax in after a long hot day sightseeing. The service was also great and they couldn’t do enough for us. We spent a few hours drinking cocktails in the bar one night which was also fun.

I highly recommend the hotel arranging a tuk tuk driver to take you around the city for a few hours. Casa Colombo arranged this for us.

We had breakfast at the hotel each morning as it was included. I can’t say much about the breakfast as it wasn’t really to my taste although a lot of selection. Having said that, I found the food in Sri Lanka generally disappointing so not specific to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank auscnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
We absolutely loved reading your review! What super comments about your stay at CASA Colombo!

We are thrilled to note that your stay has been comfortable, unique and memorable, and that you have really enjoyed the design and ambience of CASA Colombo. Yes, our famous “Pink Pool” has been known to help you relax after a tiring day out sightseeing or shopping, and it is especially refreshing during the hot days in Colombo.

We would love to see you again at CASA Colombo, and hope it will be very very soon.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We really enjoyed our 2 night stay in Casa Colombo. The rooms are really something special, spacious and many cool details. Its a little dated, but it didnt matter for our short stay. The rooms comes with your private butler. We had a really funny butler who arranged restaurant bookings, tuk tuk trip around town and transport to the airport.
The food was ok. We had curry for dinner- really good. The breakfast not so good, it was not as fresh as the other hotels we stayed on in Sri Lanka.
The pool area is good, pink pool is fun but needs a little clean- up.
All in all a very nice stay, a very special boutique hotel in the middel of Colombo.

Regards from Oslo, Norway
Thomas & Hanne

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HanneHolst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
You are very special to us too, which is why we love taking care of you whilst you are at CASA Colombo. Thank you for sharing your experience with other travelers.

CASA Colombo is our pride and joy and our entire team puts in a lot of love and care to the work, and there is nothing that we love more than giving you a unique and luxurious experience. We love pampering you in the luxury that is synonymous with CASA Colombo.

See you soon for another memorable stay at your “home away from home”, CASA Colombo.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Luxury hotel and friendly staff but only for honeymoon or couple

Quite and small hotel not recommended for the people who like interaction

Location far from 5 stars hotels

Rooms excellent with expected and unexpected facilities

Food by order only












Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Oufiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for your review of CASA Colombo.

We at CASA Colombo truly believe that the best holiday experience is one where you get to relax and unwind to your heart’s content, leaving all the rush and stress of day-to-day life behind you. This is why we have created such a cool and relaxing ambience at CASA Colombo, and why we personally make sure that your stay is hassle free from beginning to end.

We loved having you at CASA Colombo and more than anything would love to see you again.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
892 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

We arrived here hot and dusty com a long drive from Galle. We were met by Arrum and he brought us an iced cinnamon tea. Very refreshing. Our room not ready so we had lunch in the hotel restaurant. Arrum was our butler. He took us and belongings to our room. It is Spacious, the bath and sinks have waterspouts for the water to pour out. Fun design. The second day he organized a tuk tuk to take us on a city tour and to a lunch spot. Our whole stay was made very comfortable by Arrum! He also organized our taxi to,the airport! This hotel is off of the beaten path, beautiful, small and comfy!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Morcella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Rest, relaxation, luxury and personalized service. These are the key words that make up CASA Colombo.

We do love taking care of you whilst you are with us, and it is nothing but a pleasure to ensure that you are looked after. It is the little details that truly count in making a stay memorable, and this is certainly our forte.

Please do visit us again soon. We look forward to another opportunity to pamper you in the luxury that is CASA Colombo.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
2.3 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.6 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#8 of 51 in Colombo
741 reviews
2.0 mi away
Uga Residence
Uga Residence
#1 of 51 in Colombo
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
2.1 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
0.5 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#11 of 51 in Colombo
1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Colombo

Property: Casa Colombo
Address: 231 Galle Rd, Colombo 4, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Colombo
#2 Business Hotel in Colombo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#13 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 200 year old mansion restored and converted to a retro-chic hotel with 12 exclusive designer suites, 2 trendy restaurants, the stylish bar and tea garden, and a pink pool. Guests looked after by private Domos and transfers done in vintage cars or helicopters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Colombo Hotel Colombo
Casa Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing