We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic cosyness”
Review of Casa Colombo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Colombo
Ranked #20 of 55 Hotels in Colombo
Male
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Chic cosyness”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

Amazing place with a deep spirit of the antient times. beautiful old fashion house with lots of hi-tech invasions. spacious suits, ellegant interior and comfortable ambience.delicious restaurant cuisine and good service, we ve been guided by the butler but in a very professional way, taht was pleasant.nice outdoor lounge garden area perfect for the evening coctailing and morning surise breakfast.
the location is inside the city center little far from the seaside but would advice thet boutique hotel as an silence oasis inside the city rush.

Room Tip: Traveller suit is spaceous enough but if staying for a longer time definatelyu choose the 3 rooms s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kamila_kuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Wow! We were absolutely speechless after reading your review of CASA Colombo!

How wonderful to know that we have given you an amazing stay at CASA Colombo, and thank you so very much for your wonderful comments with regard to our ambience, décor and service. We loved reading every single word.

We are so happy that your stay with us has been a memorable one, and look forward to seeing you again soon at CASA Colombo.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    604
    239
    61
    24
    29
See reviews for
103
560
50
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

This is undoubtedly a boutique hotel experience. The hotel is a converted colonial building and they have retained many of the original features.We were greeted by our "butler" who showed us around our suite, which was huge and wonderfully appointed - copper roll top bath, state of the art sound system, a lounge area and contemporary bathroom. The furnishings and art were funky and kitsch. It certainly had the "wow" factor.

We ate at the restaurant which was good, not outstanding, but good enough and well priced.

The only real negative was that the bedding was not very comfortable.

There are many chain hotels being built in Colombo but I would strongly suggest you bypass them all and check in to the Casa Colombo. It books out well in advance and there can be no better testimony.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADTGP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you for words that have really touched our hearts, and this comes from the entire team at CASA Colombo! We loved reading your review of your experience with us.

CASA Colombo is our pride and joy, and it was a very painstaking task bringing a house which was almost in ruins to the glory it is today, an international award winning boutique hotel! Nothing depicts the true feeling of how CASA Colombo came into being than the picture collage we have put up, and we hope you got a chance to take a peek at it while you were with us.

We are so happy to have given you a fantastic and memorable stay, and look forward to seeing you again at CASA Colombo.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Queensferry, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2014

This is a really very nice boutique hotel in Colombo.

We stayed for two nights and found everything to be very much as we had expected after reading the reviews here.

We arrived at 6am and the staff helpful told us to sleep late and they would prepare breakfast whenever we wanted it - which they did.

We ate in the restaurant twice and found it very good.

I took a treatment in the Spa. The treatment itself was very good and the staff were lovely. The Spa building felt makeshift and didn't really match the quality of the rest of this hotel.

Highly recommended

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveFaull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
We are thrilled to note that you have had a wonderful and memorable stay at CASA Colombo and that you have recommended us so highly on Trip Advisor. A heartfelt thank you from all of us at CASA Colombo.

At CASA Colombo we never like sticking to strict meal times or keeping rules and regulations for our guests, your vacation time is supposed to be a time free of rules and strict policies, and a time for you to enjoy to the maximum. When you are at CASA Colombo our main focus is you, and hence we love going that extra mile to ensure that your stay is as relaxing and enjoyable as possible.

We look forward to seeing you again someday soon at CASA Colombo.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

This small boutique hotel is a really great find. Comfortable and quirky. Our room was large with high ceilings and full of wonderfully eccentric design features making it truly original and very functional. A great fusion of cool concrete and kitsch.
The staff were very helpful and food was fine.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Touchstone123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
CASA Colombo is certainly synonymous with being totally “out of the box”, which is why we endeavor to give you a totally unique and never-before-had experience whilst you are with us.

Thank you for some lovely comments in your review, and there is nothing we would like better than to see you again at CASA Colombo. Come back soon.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We went there for evening tea yesterday, Great atmosphere and great service, All the staff was helpful and welcoming, And the place is amazing. Very calm and peaceful.

About the drinks, price range are higher than normal bars/pub but quality of drinks/food is exceptional. Highly recommended

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nisal L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
It is certainly a pleasure to have served someone who knows what being exceptional is all about. Thank you for your lovely comments.

We do love giving that exceptional experience at CASA Colombo, and this is what we endeavor to achieve always. We are so very happy that you have enjoyed your time with us, and look forward to more visits from you in the near future.

See you soon.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

A treat to me from my boyfriend after an amazing and exhausting travel around Sri Lanka. We spent two nights here. We were greeted by taking our bags and giving us a drink. Our room was not ready but we were early so we booked in for a gorgeous Spa treatment while we were waiting. The treatments were exquisite and I booked another straight after! Once finished, we went to our room shown to us by our personal butler and it was beautiful. We had a corporate suite; the lounge area was lovely, a gorgeous TV, huge shower and bath, separate toilet (first time in Sri Lanka!) and enormous bed. It was gorgeous and i didn't want to leave it! However when we did, the restaurant was beautiful, Tapas absolutely gorgeous the best iv had, pool area nice although usually shaded and the outside bar really cool and quirky. All in all, its a cool hotel and nice luxury. The butler did everything we asked and went above and beyond when we had a few requests. Id stay here again in an instant, although at £180 maybe not every year! Thank you for the experience Casa Colombo.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
We simply love it that your experience at CASA Colombo has been enjoyable, unique and luxurious, not to mention memorable! Thank you for some delightful comments in your review.

There is nothing we love doing more than taking care of you whilst you are with us, because we know that it is little things like this that make your stay the most memorable.

We look forward to seeing you again soon at CASA Colombo.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farsund, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

A surrealistic experience in a fantastic way. Far beyond expectations, terrific rooms, great food and best of all, the caring staff. We are coming back soon. Sri lanka was all in all above expectations, so go now before everybody else.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank TravellingSOAAI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
What a fantastic review of CASA Colombo! Thank you so very much.

We are truly happy that you have loved your experience in Sri Lanka, and most especially the time you spent at CASA Colombo. We are very pleased to have made your stay a truly memorable one and we are absolutely thrilled to note that you will be returning to us someday soon.

We are waiting for your next visit to CASA Colombo.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
2.3 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
2.8 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
2.0 mi away
Uga Residence
Uga Residence
#1 of 55 in Colombo
271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#8 of 55 in Colombo
2,172 reviews
2.1 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
0.6 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#9 of 55 in Colombo
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Colombo

Property: Casa Colombo
Address: 231 Galle Rd, Colombo 4, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Colombo
#2 Family Hotel in Colombo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#16 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 200 year old mansion restored and converted to a retro-chic hotel with 12 exclusive designer suites, 2 trendy restaurants, the stylish bar and tea garden, and a pink pool. Guests looked after by private Domos and transfers done in vintage cars or helicopters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Colombo Hotel Colombo
Casa Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing