We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a fantastic find! For anyone in Colombo for a long or short stay - this one is an absolute gem!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Colombo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Casa Colombo
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What a fantastic find! For anyone in Colombo for a long or short stay - this one is an absolute gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

We booked this hotel last minute because the big central hotel our agent had booked for us was dismal. We were completely overwhelmed by how absolutely beautifully fantastic it was. Everything about the hotel is carefully and beautifully thought out from the amazingly comfortable beds and bedding, the stunning decor and excellent facilities throughout, whacky cocktail bar, stunning dining room and swimming pool through to our very own "casa domo" butler Arrun, who looked after our every need in a really gentle and caring way. The food was excellent, everyone so friendly and they even had real coffee! This hotel is not to be missed on the way in or out of Sri Lanka!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wordstreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
CASA Colombo is known for its warm smiles, hospitable welcome and personalized service, and we are very happy to have lived up to your expectations and to have given you an enjoyable time whilst with us. Thank you so very much for your kind words, which we have shared with our entire Team. You have encouraged us a great deal.

We would love to see you again at CASA Colombo and to give you another memorable experience with us.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

952 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    603
    236
    60
    23
    30
See reviews for
100
560
50
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2013

Loved this place. Tucked behind a Main Street, this is a gorgeous, funky, beautiful boutique hotel in a converted colonial building. It has a huge amount of character combining the original building with modern design. There is an airy reception opening onto a fab outdoor bar; pool with uber cool loungers and conservatory bar with a water feature pouring over the glass roof. Some fab design features throughout and great attention to detail including retro red lip shaped phone, laptop in the room & mini bar in converted old wooden chest. Aaron was our 'personal butler' who couldn't do enough for us, with a professional manner and big smile. Food in the tapas bar was good but not stunning, however we were recommended to go to The Gallery for dinner, which was a cracker - not to be missed. Absolutely 100% recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline3228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for your review of CASA Colombo, and it has given us immense pleasure to note that you have been satisfied with what CASA Colombo has had to offer you in terms of stay, meals and service. Our greatest endeavor is to ensure an enjoyable stay for you.

We absolutely love it that your stay with us has been a memorable one, and certainly look forward to seeing you someday again at CASA Colombo.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed here for two nights at the beginning of July 2013. Tucked away just behind the undeniable hustle-and-bustle of Galle Road, Casa Colombo provides a surprisingly peaceful oasis of calm. Set in a beautiful former mansion, the hotel exudes history and class, with some lovely modern touches, that border on the chic, dotted throughout. This may not be to the taste of everyone, but it was to ours.

The hotel is well located on the Galle Road and is within easy walking distance of some great little bars and cafes (most notably the fantastic Barefoot Café which is worth a visit at any time, but especially on a Sunday afternoon when they have a really rather good jazz band). The suites are generously sized, well equipped and clean with large, comfortable beds. Food is of a high standard and very reasonably priced.

The service that we received was excellent, and our DOMO (Arrun) was attentive and helpful. When our departure plans for the following day were thrown into chaos by a train strike, Arrun stepped in and liaised with the driver that we had booked to collect us from Kandy and negotiated a pick-up from Colombo for the following morning, saving us a considerable amount of hassle.

Having seen the area around Galle Face Green where the supposed 'better' hotels are located (many of which appear to have seen better days), I cannot recommend strongly enough eschewing these in favour of a few nights at Casa Colombo - though I would recommend sneaking in a cheeky sundowner on the sea-facing terrace at the Galle Face Hotel...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank L0nd0nT0Bright0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
The CASA Colombo Team is here to serve you and take care of you. Whether you need assistance while you are with us at CASA Colombo, or need some help while touring the country, we are there to assist you in whatever way we can, because we believe that your holiday should be spent with minimum hassle and maximum relaxation and enjoyment.

Thank you for some wonderful words about CASA Colombo in your review. We really appreciate it from the very bottom of our hearts and we would love to see you again sometime soon at CASA Colombo.

Take care and enjoy your travels!

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

Our stay at Casa Colombo was amazing. Casa Colombo is incredibly unique and comfortable. The location is very good and the service was excellent. The staff onsite is extremely helpful. We stayed for 3 nights and were able to experience two different suites. Both suites were amazing and included every imaginable 5 star amenity.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Beek_Ag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
We are so very happy to have given you an amazing and memorable stay at CASA Colombo. We always endeavor to give you a taste of the unique CASA Colombo experience, and are glad to have been successful in doing so during your visit with us.

We love it that you have been happy at CASA Colombo. Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us with other travelers.

We look forward to seeing you again at CASA Colombo.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed here in June and found the place amazing. We booked a Corporate Suite and it was really huge, well designed and equipped. Super clean! The location is great, you can easily reach everything by tuc tuc or taxi. Food and breakfast was excellent and special thanks goes to our Butler Kumara for whom nothing was too much trouble!
If you stay in Colombo - stay here!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FamMaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at CASA Colombo, and for your recommendation of us to other travelers.

We love it that you have enjoyed your stay with us and are happy with our service, rooms and meals. Nothing makes us happier than knowing that you have had a unique CASA Colombo experience whilst with us.

See you very very soon once again at CASA Colombo.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

We had just finished 13 days around Southern Sri Lanka and under advisement of friends had only decided to stay in Colombo for two nights.
What a mistake that was!
If we had any idea how wonderful Casa Colombo was we would've stayed a week.
The Hotel is hidden away behind another which blocks street noise and what a surprise it was when we saw it. This wonderful old Colonial building that just oozed history.
We were greeted by our 'Domo' who took care of us from the minute we arrived to the moment we left. Wonderful.
I have a penchant for old buildings and this Hotel with its wide hallways, creaky broad beam stairs and its (I think) original mosaic floors drew me in immediately.
Despite the buildings age (I think its around 200 years old!) it was immaculate. Almost Parisian chic in its design concept from the wonderful restaurant, to the glittering 'pink' swimming pool then upstairs into the guest rooms. Ours (Traveler Suite) was just brilliant. We had a mezzanine level which had a sitting area, tv and a plethora of electronic gadgetry to keep any audiophile engaged for hours! The big bed was downstairs with so much room to pop suitcases that there was never a fear of tripping over them as is often the case in other hotels.
The bathroom was its own area within the sleeping area - very cool. From the sleek taps to the concrete sinks and the large shower complete with its own signature shower gels / soaps (from memory)! Everything was spotlessly clean and sparkled... we could not have asked for more.
During our stay we had both breakfast in the HVN restaurant and dined at the T Republic outside. Fun, Fun, Fun... The HVN restaurant decor has to be seen to be believed. Very cool.
The T Republic outside was also the wonderful 'wind down' after a busy day in the hustle and bustle of Colombo. The staff were all attentive and ensured we wanted for nothing. Discrete yet available. We also surprisingly met the Hotel Manager - an asset to the Property for sure. Along with his staff I was aware of him 'meeting and greeting' all the guests. This is something I have never seen in any hotel anywhere around the world. Talk about 'leading by example'
Cannot talk highly enough about Casa Colombo. Brilliant rooms, warm and friendly staff (and Manager) and spotless. Who could ask for more?
The only experience we didn't try was the Spa and that was purely due to the limited time we had available to us, sadly. But we were always greeted with a smile and hello as we passed by!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Merhababob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Your review is absolutely sensational! We really enjoyed reading it, and it has been very encouraging to our entire team. We love the fact that you have enjoyed your holiday with us and that we have been able to leave an imprint of CASA Colombo in your memory.

Thank you for some lovely comments with regard to CASA Colombo, and it has been nothing but a pleasure to have served you and taken care of you whilst with us. We are so very happy that you have enjoyed almost every single aspect of CASA Colombo, from the T Republic to HVN to our famous Pink Pool to the rooms and décor and ambience. Your review and thoughts are really another trophy in our cabinet.

We would love to see you again at CASA Colombo and look forward to a much longer stay the next time around. Take care.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

we stayed here last week, we are still in Sri Lanka and I wanted to make sure I wrote a review while the experience was still fresh in my mind. Firstly we were greeted by our personal butler Arrun, so welcoming and very professional, a true credit to the hotel. The hotel itself offers something amazing I haven't seen anywhere else in the world. The attempt to provide a property that awakens all your senses has been with delvered with sophistication and flair and subtly. A sensational hotel, staff,food and pool. Amazing bath tubs and bathrooms! We were delighted to Stay here and will stay again for longer next time we are in Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Familyboomerang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for a most wonderful review of CASA Colombo, which we read with much pleasure.

We love nothing more than creating a wonderful and memorable experience for you at CASA Colombo, and we are glad that we have been successful in achieving this. There is nothing that encourages us more than knowing that you have been delighted with your stay at CASA Colombo and with what we have had to offer you.

Yes, we too would love to see you again for a longer stay the next time. Please come back soon.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
2.8 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
2.3 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
1.6 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#6 of 52 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#9 of 52 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
0.5 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#10 of 52 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
2.0 mi away
Uga Residence
Uga Residence
#1 of 52 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Colombo

Property: Casa Colombo
Address: 231 Galle Rd | Bambalapitiya, Colombo 4, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Colombo
#2 Family Hotel in Colombo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#12 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 200 year old mansion restored and converted to a retro-chic hotel with 12 exclusive designer suites, 2 trendy restaurants the stylish bar and tea garden, and a pink pool. Guests looked after by private Domos and transfers done in vantage cars or helicopters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Casa Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Colombo Hotel Colombo
Casa Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing