We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Coolest place ever!”
Review of Casa Colombo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Casa Colombo
Ranked #16 of 51 Hotels in Colombo
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Coolest place ever!”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Ever since I discovered this hidden gem back in 2010, I go here every time I go to Colombo. I just cant leave this place once I get here. I just love the way this place is decorated, the cheeky and very artistic items are so cool that you just wonder how they ever got it.
Food is the most awesome here. So yummy and soo bloody (ridiculously) good, and so cheap. (Is this the cheapest and best place to dine in colombo? YES) I wouldnt mind spending more on their food cos its just worth it. I always go for my favourite the kottu rotti. it comes with a side gravy dish which is perfect for kottu. Thank you chef! This is the best kottu in town. I often visit for dinner a couple of times during each visit. Its so romantic too.
It was so good the last time I went there as we got a tour of one of their quirky and fancy rooms. I was so impressed by the interiors of it and looks like heaven to me!
staff are always helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KrishanRodrigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Thank you for a great review of CASA Colombo, and may we mention that we also love to see you returning to us time and time again, which is why we always endeavor to give you the best possible experience at CASA Colombo.

Thank you for your lovely comments with regard to the food and service, which we have shared with our entire team, and you may be happy to note that there is one thrilled Chef in Colombo!!

See you again very very soon at CASA Colombo!

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    604
    238
    61
    24
    30
See reviews for
103
560
50
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
287 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This is a must stay in Colombo as Casa Colombo as everything; some lovely staff, excellent food, gorgeous rooms and beautiful surroundings. The manager (the Dutch gentleman) was so gorgeous to us, we had not enjoyed our visit to Sri Lanka and I think, as a result, he went out of his way to help us enjoy our last 24 hours and that we did! We had dinner, breakfast and lunch in Casa Colombo, we just could not leave as the food was so excellent. I wish it was closer to Ireland as I would adore to visit there again.

The only negative was our "duomo", he was basically a waste of time and we got no value out of him at all, just a completely wrong steer to a number of shops which wasted our evening but the manager gave us great stores for the following morning and gave us a late check out so that we could shop and that definitely made up for it.

This is absolutely worth a visit, enjoy, I am envious!

Room Tip: I think any as the property is just so beautiful though the Pepin suite where I was had all the orig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CaitDublin_Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
We are so happy to have made your final day in Sri Lanka enjoyable at CASA Colombo, even though we are sad that your trip overall has not been so good. Thank you for a lovely review.

We only wish you had stayed with us longer, so that we could have given you the experience of a lifetime at CASA Colombo. Our entire Team strives to give you the most memorable and relaxing stay ever, and it is a great pleasure to note that we have succeeded in doing so,

Thank you for your recommendation of us to other travelers, and we would like nothing more than to see you again at CASA Colombo.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sawtry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

This is a really majestic old residence which has very tastefully been renovated and improved with all manner of modern facilities and features, whilst still retaining the old world charm. We really enjoyed our stay here, with the room and the pool area being the real highlights. Food is excellent and well priced. The domo's are top quality and really try to look after you. We had the Ebeneezer suite and although fabulous, during an evening cloudburst the ceiling did spring a leak. I pushed a vase underneath it and let reception know, however, I think they are used to handling things like this. As the deputy manager put it, while throwing his head back "that old buildings for you".
Thanks to Kumara who did a great job of getting a cake made , decorating our room, and supplying a free bottle of wine, as he was aware that the trip was to celebrate the start of my wife and I's 50th birthday year. Unfortunately we went out that evening and didn't know about it until 0130hrs when we arrived back. Needless to say we didn't fancy any more wine or cake at that time... The thought was really nice though.
Be aware that although there are many wifi access points the internet is not of good enough quality to stream media or VOIP. However , this seems typical of some of the other places we stayed at in SL.

Pro's
Room and pool area, cheap quality lunch snacks.
Cons,
none really....

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank deeess9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for a really nice review of your stay at CASA Colombo. We too are very proud of CASA Colombo and the story of how it was “born” is one we always enjoy telling our guests. This 200-year old mansion was renovated with a great deal of love, and most of our staff have been with us from its very inception, which is why CASA Colombo is so dear to us and our greatest endeavor is to make your stay with us as homely and memorable as possible.

We love it that you liked the design and overall ambience of CASA Colombo, and that you had the opportunity to have a cool dip in our “Pink” pool.

We look forward to the day when we will see you once again at CASA Colombo, and hope it will be very very soon.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 21, 2013

This truly is a magnificent hideaway in the heart of Colombo City. Our stay was made all the more delightful by our Domo Kumara who couldn't have been more helpful. Extremely comfortable split level room with every modern facility including TV, radio, CD player etc. We were served absolutely delicious food by charming staff ..... a perfect end to a perfect holiday. The pink pool is something else! I even had a birthday surprise with dinner by the pool and an absolutely delicious birthday cake with candles - amazing!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Making your special day even more special and memorable is something we do from our heart, and we are glad that you enjoyed your birthday celebration at CASA Colombo. We of course would like to see you every year at CASA Colombo, so that we can make each and every birthday that much more special for you.

Thank you for a perfect review! We loved having you at CASA Colombo.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Trendy Hotel in Colombo in a magnificent mansion. Incredible roooms. Personalized service. Good food at the restaurant. It's better to choose the rooms on the second floor as the hotel hosts functions like weddings, when staying here becomes less pleasant. The only questionable thing was techno music at breakfast. That could be a bit too trendy but maybe it helps with the process of waking up. There is a plunge like swimming pool. Very pleasant spot overall.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattaroundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Thank you for your review of CASA Colombo and we are very happy that you had a pleasant and enjoyable stay with us.

The personalized service we offer you is what CASA Colombo is known for, and we enjoy nothing more than taking care of you whilst you are with us. We are very pleased that you liked our rooms, service and the food we had to offer you.

Looking forward to seeing you again at CASA Colombo…..

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We visited the hotel last year for 7 nights having booked on the recommendation of the travel firm. We were certainly not disappointed! The hotel provides a beautiful tranquility away from the hustle and bustle of Colombo . The hotel is tastefully decorated and the bedroom was amazing ! The bedroom consisted of two rooms with a large living area, which was extremely comfortable and the copper bath has to be experienced. The food was exceptional and was very reasonable given the quality of the hotel. Our domo could not have been anymore helpful sorting everything we asked for . Really looking forward to visiting this hotel again.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
We are so glad that you have had a wonderful experience at CASA Colombo, and thank you for your lovely review. We loved taking care of you whilst you were with us.

It is great that you enjoyed the unique copper bath of CASA Colombo, and we trust you also got the opportunity to sample some of the finest teas and cocktails at the Zaza Bar, and also to have a relaxing dip in our famous pink pool.

We too are looking forward to your return to CASA Colombo.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed in the most funky Hotel in Colombo. It really is a very special old mansion lovely restored into a Hotel. Trendy but tastefully decorated rooms, each room is different with a lot of space.Very nice helpful staff. We had our own personal assistant Arrun, who went out of his way to make us feel comfortable. It was our first night in Sri Lanka and it was a great experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 420Anna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
First impressions are the ones that last, and we are happy to have made such a great impression on you at CASA Colombo. Thank you so much for sharing your experience on Trip Advisor, we greatly appreciate it.

We are here to please you and to take care of you during you stay and to ensure that it is the most memorable and relaxing time you have….. after all, a holiday is meant to be enjoyed from the start to the finish.

We are glad that you had a comfortable and enjoyable stay with us, and we would love to have you back someday soon at CASA Colombo.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
2.3 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
2.8 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
0.6 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#8 of 51 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Cinnamon Red Colombo
Cinnamon Red Colombo
#5 of 51 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,690 reviews
0.5 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#10 of 51 in Colombo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,253 reviews
2.0 mi away
Uga Residence
Uga Residence
#1 of 51 in Colombo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Colombo

Property: Casa Colombo
Address: 231 Galle Rd, Colombo 4, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Colombo
#2 Business Hotel in Colombo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#13 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 200 year old mansion restored and converted to a retro-chic hotel with 12 exclusive designer suites, 2 trendy restaurants, the stylish bar and tea garden, and a pink pool. Guests looked after by private Domos and transfers done in vintage cars or helicopters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Colombo Hotel Colombo
Casa Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing