We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy endings”
Review of Casa Colombo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Colombo
Ranked #16 of 51 Hotels in Colombo
London
Level Contributor
64 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Happy endings”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We spent our last night in Sri Lanka at Casa Colombo and it was rather a magnificent end to our wonderful tour of the country.

Our suite was ginormous with what has got to be one of the biggest beds I've ever slept in. I loved the way the hotel mixes the contemporary with the classical in this venerable old building, and the fact that many of the original features are still in tact - the high decoratively plastered ceilings, the beautiful old wooden doors and the tiled floors.

Having a butler (domo) was something of a surprise and although we were a bit embarrassed at having someone at our beck and call, he was very helpful and friendly. It was Valentine's Day when we stayed and we returned to our room to find the bed strewn with rose petals and chocolates and many candles flickering all around the room. What a lovely touch - thanks to Gayen!

There are aspects to the hotel which I guess could be improved. It's ever so slightly faded - the carpet in our room was a bit worn and stained in places, the windows are somewhat ill-fiting and ours were opaque so there was no natural light in the room, the pool wasn't really available as there was building work going on, the service in the bar was haphazard and slow and the breakfast was adequate but not that great, but I can't bring myself to give the place less than 5 out of 5 as it is just so different and unique and it's plusses far outweigh its minuses. Definitely worth a stay.

Room Tip: We had room 9 on the ground floor. The music from the lobby area started up quite early and was qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Xanadustar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
We really enjoyed reading your review of your stay at CASA Colombo, and a heartfelt thank you to you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers.

We are very happy that you enjoyed some special moments on Valentine’s Day, it was our pleasure to have made it a memorable one for you. The entire CASA Colombo team is at your disposal during your stay with us, and we are only too pleased to fulfill all your needs and wants in order to make your stay with us simply perfect.

We would also like to thank you for your other comments, which will be looked into and improved wherever possible, and we greatly value your feedback.

Please do visit us again as we would love the opportunity to take care of you at CASA Colombo once again.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    604
    239
    61
    24
    29
See reviews for
103
560
50
55
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

As an avid contributor I also read other reviews and where I can visit these locations and hence my visit to this establishment. I have rarely been as surprised as when I visited here as I have to say I found it lacking and had an altercation with staff. Sooo..... We arrived and tool a quick look around first - first impression was that it was a little over designed but the pool area at the back was quite impressive. Every square inch of the property is put to use leaving no space to relax in. Out the front of the hotel is an over engineered bar that has uncomfortable but 'designer' seats complete with plastic covers still in place. The bar itself is a glass square and the batman was professional and courteous ...... To start with.
The restaurant space was very busy but the more I looked around the busier the decor was to the point of 'too much' and the gold leaf painted ceiling on top of what is already an intricate ceiling was the last straw z- theis place lacked taste. Back to bar where when we returned of the second drink the manager had arrived ( well I am presuming manager) and he and the batman were having throng words. Note we re the only patrons. Well this 100% rubbed onto our service where they become rude and abrupt. When at the end I came up to the bar to pay , I was asked to sit down , I said nicely that it was no problem to wait but I didnt ned to sit again ( plastic covers were making sitting down hot and uncomfortable) and then the quest for change in a way that I could leave a tip started. The wait become silly as he left, returned , left and then both he and the manager?? Came back in and at this point I was getting peeved. I was asked to sit again, this time by the manager. This is where I became quite annoyed .......... After a while with change in hand and NO tip left I went to the hotel reception to complain where the front desk were playing computer games and did not raise their heads to look at me. I decided why bother ....... And simply left.
so to sum up this lace failed me on basically every count of decor , service and amenities and without sounding like I have it in for them , the area was not the best. There were far nicer areas and closer tot he attractions that Colombo had to offer.
I urge you to read more about here and other hotels in Colombo before you make any commit timers to Casa Colombo.
Someone with a little too much money and not enought taste built a hotel that maybe when it opened took Colombo hotels someplace good but since then there have been many new places that have left this tired old place for dust.
FAIL :-(

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank TravellingRainbow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for your feedback. In this case however, I may have to disagree with some of your observations, since taste is an individual choice we regret that you feel the way you do and it is quite obvious that we did not meet your taste buds, as you are obviously accustomed to other designs. It would be too easy to believe that we are able to impress everyone, however, we do understand that this is not possible. We have very painstakingly restored a very old building and have kept the charm of the old era and combined it with modern architecture and features, in order to make the experience at CASA Colombo one that is unique in every way. We have more seating areas than any other hotel of that size as you have surely seen in T-Republic, an outside open area in cool and comfortable surroundings, the Veranda with the traditional fans and handmade spacious and very comfortable chairs 25mtr long, the pool area which you have mentioned, the new Bar which features the lit up chairs during the night and hence the use of the pillows, the library with many books, the HVN restaurant you mentioned and last but not least our fine dining romantic spot on the very top of the building. All that for a small 12 suite Boutique Hotel which incidentally very recently won the Award of being “THE BEST DESIGNED BOUTIQUE HOTEL IN THE WORLD”

We are not perfect as much as we want to be, however, with every day we learn and adjust to our customers’ needs and improve where possible, nor are we ignorant of things we can improve on, nevertheless it is very clear from the outset that CASA Colombo is not for you and that fact, although disappointing to us, we have to accept.

May we wish you all the very best on your future travels.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

This is my second time staying in my lovely CASA. Ever since my first trip here 1.5 year ago, I could not ever forget this marvelous hotel, the ever best hotel among hundred of places that I've stayed over years.

This time I spent 10 days here, experiencing several different suites out of the 12 fabulous rooms they have and completely fell in love with this modern, professional and friendly boutique hotel.

The staffs still remembered me well after more than 1 year, what a homely and sweet feeling the moment I stepped into the well-paved and clean driveway.

My last time Domo Kumara was greeting me at the gate with his usual and attracting smile, arranging my luggages in a neat & quiet way, within a few minutes time I was in another artistically designed room different from last time, all my belongings laying in its position already. I even did not notice the hustle u usually had in non-boutique hotels.
The place is still so quiet, and it's so nice to stay in another extraordinary room with all the facilities and necessities available any time you want as what you have at home. Each room has its unique styles, designs and layout, so it makes your stay very fresh and enjoyable other than the standard setup in normal hotels.

Besides these sophisticated hardwares, more impressing was the hotel software -- personal service the hotel provides to each guest in its unique way. Kumara was 24 hours stand by for any need and help I might have, so it did not make me a stranger in a different country. The time I spent here therefore was very peaceful, the surrounding & everything around me made me more than comfortable and at ease all the time.
Kumara is the best and really professional in guest attending. I love Kumara for all the work he had ever done, which made the overall stay another unforgettable memory.
If you choose to stay in CASA for your Sri Lanka visit, do get Kumara as your domo, trust you'll feel how I felt.

Apart from Kumara, I also made good friends with the chef Shareef. Because of my particular food selection and taste requirement, I always gave challenge to the chef, asking him to do sth different so as to keep my stomach happy. He's more than happy to accept the request from a lady from China, smiling at my comment. Isn't this another lovely homely feeling you're expecting when you're away from your hometown?

All the people here can be your friends, housekeeping Manoja,Kasun, waiter Channa, Amila, bartender Nimal, F&B Rhaim, Ferdi, domo Arun, and even GM Mr. Horst. You can chat with them for any stories you're interested in, even share a small pack of chocolate! This is the lovely family that you are with and will be with upon your choice when you travel to this tropical island.

If you are a bar lover, you can spend your fun time in their newly furnished glass walled bar at any time you want. Every design is rare here.

My dear CASA, wait for me next time, will see all very soon again. Keep my second home well done!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ina6080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
Oh wow!! What a review! You have indeed left us quite speechless!!

Thank you for some very lovely and encouraging words, and most of all we are so happy that you consider CASA Colombo to be your second home, and us as your family. Indeed we do remember you…. how could we ever forget a family member…..! Giving you a very personalized experience is what we strive for always at CASA Colombo and what a great feeling to know that we have succeeded in impressing you and satisfying you in every way.

We are happy to note your promise of returning soon to CASA Colombo, which we will await with impatience. See you soon….. very very soon…..

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2013

We stayed for 1 night on our way to and again from safari at zala nat park. It was exceptional. We had 2 different rooms, one on the ground floor the other on the first floor. Both interesting, comfortable, and spacious. The tub is fantastic. Great internet, wonderful amenities. Only exceedingly minor quibble is the lighting is a little inadequate in the sink for putting in contact lenses.
As others have noted, staff is fantastic. Our personal butler was even there to help with our 4AM departure. Kudos to manager Wilhem for running a friendly, casual, but highly effective operation.
Restaurant was nice. Sri Lankan breakfast highly recommended.
Only 1 masseuse at spa, so more than 1 could not go at once. Balinese massage was very nice. Average value (middle between US and SE Asian pricing). Signature Ayurveda was not offered at the time. Would've liked to try.
Did not get a chance to tour Colombo, so can not comment on convenience to rest of city.
But will most definitely stay here on a return to Colombo.

Room Tip: First floor room with terrace has private jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aequanimitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
We are so glad that you have selected CASA Colombo as your preferred hotel while in Colombo, and to note that you had an enjoyable stay whilst with us. Thank you for some very kind words in your review.

Colombo does have some lovely places to visit while you are here and an enormous variety of shops for the shopaholic. We do hope that on your next visit to Colombo you will be able to experience the uniqueness of the city of Colombo together with the uniqueness of CASA Colombo, and we would only be too happy to assist you with any travel arrangements or make any recommendation to you on where to go. After all, we are here to serve you, and to make sure that your stay is as hassle free as possible so that all you have to do is enjoy.

Do come back soon….. we would love to have you at CASA Colombo once again.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2013

We were here for dinner and that dining experience was amazing! an absolute treat! you would expect the prices to be super high, however this wasnt the case. I would say that the meals may not be BIG but the flavours are more than so, therefore it does give value for money.
the atmosphere was great, my favourite was the pink pool....it has been done up beautifully and really, the star here is the architecture and the attention to detail in the interior decorations.

This was a celebration and the staff were extremely helpful in making the neccessary arrangements so i would say service was great!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lakigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
We are so glad that you had a fabulous dining experience at CASA Colombo, and thank you for sharing this experience with other travelers on Trip Advisor.

We love your comments with regard to our food, service, design and décor, and we will be sharing these comments with our entire CASA Colombo team. We hope one day you will visit us not only for dinner, but to stay a few days, so that we can have the opportunity to give you the total CASA Colombo experience, where you can relax and unwind, and have a cool dip in your favourite pink pool….

Come back soon.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

I recently travelled to Sri Lanka for two weeks, seeing as much of the country as I could in that time, staying in a total of seven hotels. Casa Colombo was the final hotel and what a finale!!! I absolutely love this place! Very clean, very modern and amazing staff! I can't gush enough! We had our own butler (they're called domos) called Gayan. What a nice guy! Very funky bedroom with under-bed lighting and all the mod cons you could wish for. My fave was the sink in the restaurant toilets - it was like a waterfall with water coming down a trough from the ceiling and you caught it in a ledge to wash. Has to be seen to be believed!

Very minor gripe was the pool was too cold to get in, but I imagine that's a godsend after a hot sweaty day sightseeing!

There are twelve rooms here, we stayed in Tickell Road which was beautiful and tucked away upstairs round the back so very quiet. There are two rooms off the dining room which I imagine can get noisy and also one off the reception corridor so I'd recommend a suite upstairs.

Try it, we loved it!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blue_monkees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
We loved reading your review of CASA Colombo, and knowing that we have been successful in giving you a fabulous experience whilst with us. Your comments have been shared with our entire CASA Colombo team, who are thrilled to have been able to look after you and pamper you.

We also love it that you like the design of CASA Colombo and its many unique features, which were designed by our CEO and Founder Mr. Lalin Jinasena, and it is this very same uniqueness that has won us many international awards, of which we are very proud.

We loved having you at CASA Colombo, and can’t wait for the day when you will return again.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
62 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in one of the corporate suites. It was huge, and very well appointed. There was a slight mix up with our rooms when we arrived at around 2.00 am, however this was handled very well by the hotel - always a test of a good hotel. The rooms are eclectic in their design but with a great attention to detail and a lot of style. I would generally class the feel of the hotel as on the chic side of shabby chic. The rooms don't have a view (at least the two that we had didn't) and the windows that do face outside are either frosted or coloured glass, with the result that the room is very inward feeling. Not necessarily a bad thing, given how beautiful the rooms are, but it might not suit everyone. The beds are huge and extremely comfortable. The pool is lovely partly because of a large tree around which it is built, however it is also rather cool (blame the tree I'm thinking). The service was very good. The manager, Willem, was great, as was our butler Arrun - both excellent. The hotel is off a busy road, but is quiet and peaceful. The breakfast is very good, as was dinner on the one night that we ate at the hotel (and very reasonably priced). Overall we thought that the hotel was good value for money and a fun place to stay. Minor quibbles: the room lighting is too dim, and there are some areas where the building maintenance could be improved. All in all a highly recommended hotel and we would stay there again if we come back to Colombo. BTW we had also considered Tintagel as a possible hotel, and are very pleased that we didn't stay there - we visited for lunch one day and there was no one in the restaurant and although it is an extremely beautiful building it would not appeal to those who like a little more activity in and around the hotel or who like a little more of the local Sri Lankan feel.

Room Tip: We chose room 4, because the bath is not in the bedroom but in a bathroom. It was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rqf55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
We are so pleased that you selected CASA Colombo as your preferred hotel for your Sri Lankan vacation, and thank you for a really great review.

CASA Colombo is unique in its design and concept, and we are very happy that it has appealed to you and that you enjoyed staying with us. Thank you for your lovely comments regarding our service and food. We always endeavor to give our guests the most personalized service possible, which is why we allocate a personal butler for you during your stay with us. We would not dream of even your smallest need or want being unattended to.

We are looking forward to your promise of returning to CASA Colombo, and hope it will be very soon.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
2.3 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
0.6 mi away
Colombo Courtyard
Colombo Courtyard
#8 of 51 in Colombo
741 reviews
2.0 mi away
Uga Residence
Uga Residence
#1 of 51 in Colombo
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
2.1 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
0.5 mi away
OZO Colombo
OZO Colombo
#11 of 51 in Colombo
1,285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Colombo

Property: Casa Colombo
Address: 231 Galle Rd, Colombo 4, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#2 Family Hotel in Colombo
#2 Business Hotel in Colombo
#13 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 200 year old mansion restored and converted to a retro-chic hotel with 12 exclusive designer suites, 2 trendy restaurants, the stylish bar and tea garden, and a pink pool. Guests looked after by private Domos and transfers done in vintage cars or helicopters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Colombo Hotel Colombo
Casa Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing