We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Casa Colombo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Colombo
Ranked #18 of 54 Hotels in Colombo
Reviewed June 13, 2012

We were only at Casablanca Colombo for 8 hours as our flight arrived at 1 in the morning but what we saw we liked.

The rooms are AMAZING! Spacious and very ultramodern.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeresaRimquist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2012

It was very nice reading your review of CASA Colombo, and we are happy that we have been able to make such an impression on you in such a short time. We do hope you will come again to CASA Colombo for a much longer stay, so that you will be able to fully experience what we are all about.

See you soon at CASA Colombo!

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (959)
There are newer reviews for Casa Colombo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

606 - 612 of 959 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2012

Casa Colombo is a very special experience. Going armed with more detailled information than the TA reviews usually provide will keep you from being "unpleasantly" surprised. First of all, if you're looking for a Golden Age of Travel experience of Colombo, this isn't it. Stay at the Galle Face for that. This is a renovated colonial mansion surrounded on all side by towering buildings. I can only assume that the building occupy what was once lush grounds. So the hotel is actually down in a tree tunnel.

The renovation is really boutique classic. You should always book what they call a "suite". Don't expect to be able to see out the windows (ours were covered with translucent privacy plastic). Avoid like the plague the suites on the ground floor. There, you will be living with every argument between owner and staff, all the diner's discussions, as well as whatever the drivers are talking about. The service is cheery but a bit slapdash by usual Asian standards. They tend to leave you waiting for a long time while they take care of other guests. And guess what...a beer? Or a glass of wine? Well they have to send out to the liquor store a couple of blocks away because they do not have a liquor license. The decor in the rooms is fabulous. The bathroom design swell. That copper tub in the balcony alcove is a keeper!

Room Tip: Second floor. Be sure you go for a suite. Do not accept ground floor suites.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anadamansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2012

Thank you for your review of CASA Colombo, and we are glad you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Yes, CASA Colombo was formed out of a 200 year old mansion, which underwent a great deal of renovation and refurbishment to bring it to what it is today. We can now boast of CASA Colombo being one of the top end designed hotels in Sri Lanka for which we have won many international awards.

You will be happy to know that we now have a Bar at CASA Colombo which we opened a few days back. What an amazing reception we got!! So on your next visit with us we are sure you will enjoy having a drink of your choice at the new Zaza Bar.

We have also now increased our workforce at CASA Colombo, and rest assured we will take your other comments to heart. Looking forward to seeing you again very soon.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed at Casa Colombo on 16th May 2012 for a couple of nights. We were under the impression that the hotel was near the airport but it was actually a good 1-1 1/2 hour journey. We arrived early and were welcomed with some ice tea and water. We lounged by the pool and the staff got our room ready for us promptly as we explained we had been travelling throughout the night. We expected a standard room but were totally shocked by how incredible the room was. It seemed huge and was like nothing we had seen before. The staff put a massive heart on our bed made out of petals for our honeymoon which was a lovely touch. We felt like we had got the hotel to ourselves as we hardly saw anybody else, which was was quite nice. We ate at the hotel restaurant on the first night and tried their curry which was very tasty. The staff were probably the politest people we have every met and really could not do enough. We ventured out to a shopping mall on the second day which was nice for a trip out but the clothing was not to our taste. On the second night the staff recommended that we went to a restaurant called Tao which is situated in a hotel called Cinnamon Grand nearby. We were not disappointed it really was a grand hotel. We queued in the taxi for about 20 minutes just to get inside the hotel. The restaurant served top class food and we could not fault it in any way. When we returned to Casa Colombo we opened the door to our room and the staff had lit tea lights all over the place. It was so romantic and a really thoughtful touch.

We wish we had stayed longer here as it was our favourite place in Sri Lanka!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonnykirsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2012

Thank you for your very encouraging review of CASA Colombo.

We know only too well that your honeymoon is a time when you make memories that last a lifetime, and going that little bit out of the way to make it even more special for you is what we are here for. We are so happy that your special time with us has been a memorable one, and one that you will cherish always.

Please do come and visit us again….. to relive the wonderful memories you had at CASA Colombo!

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

Ok, nice hotel, plush rooms, efficient staff....but, the absence of a mosquito note in the middle of town where they are particularly voracious is inexcusable, and my wife collected by far the most stings/bites whilst staying here. The hotel was renovating the bar in front of the hotel, which was where our room was, and the building noise continued too late into the evening. Should be finished now though. Dinner ok but breakfast excellent. We tried to find a local eatery one evening and made the mistake of pursuing a guide book's recommendation to try the "Red Dragon", mediocre

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catfishebro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2012

Thank you for reviewing your stay at CASA Colombo. We are happy that you enjoyed the décor, service and meals which we had to offer you, especially the breakfast. We will share your comments with the entire team.

It being the monsoon season in Sri Lanka, there are a bit more than usual mosquitoes around, and we at CASA Colombo take every measure to minimize risk of bites, including conducting weekly fumigation and mosquito control treatment. We also advise our guests at all times to use mosquito repellent as a preventive measure and do provide same in the rooms.

We look forward to seeing you again at CASA Colombo.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

clean and big rooms, old mansion rooms with modern design. Friendly staff. Pool was so small and not good for swim. although there is only one step, there is not any elevator. there is no any spa and Fitness Center in hotel. It has a brief breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pesarekhoob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at CASA Colombo. We trust you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Thank you for your nice comments with regard to our rooms, design and service. We will soon be opening up the new Spa at CASA Colombo, which is in progress. We do also have a gym in house, which you may have somehow missed. Rest assured on your next visit with us, you will be able to enjoy a relaxing Spa treatment after an invigorating workout at the gym, right here at CASA Colombo.

See you soon….

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Let's get one thing clear...staying at the Casa Colombo is not a hotel stay but an experience, from the minute you arrive to the moment you leave. The service, suites, food, restoration of the building is just second to none and all you do is experience moments you never do anywhere else. I stay in hotels approx 200 nights a year in some 40 different countries, and nothing compares wit this. I would also like to thank Kumara, my personal Domo for the stay for his excellent service and attention to detail. If you can stay in the Ebeneezer suite...the 2 person bath on the balcny is wonderful...I cannot wait to go back and I normally never usually ay that about a hotel!!!! Thanks

Room Tip: Ebeneezer Suite...just for the Copper Bath alone!!!!
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Oscarwildetime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2012

Receiving praise such as this for CASA Colombo from someone who has experienced hospitality the world over is certainly something to be proud about….. and we are! Thank you very much. The entire CASA Colombo team was ecstatic to read your lovely comments.

We are so glad that you have been able to fully experience what CASA Colombo is all about….. it’s service, food and not forgetting the award winning décor. Restoration of the Mansion was indeed a painstaking task, but something our CEO did with great love and attention to detail. It is something we are all proud to boast about.

We too are looking forward to seeing you very soon at CASA Colombo!

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

If you want to stay in a big impersonal multi-national hotel then Casa Colombo is NOT for you. If you want to be treated as a very special guest in an amazing suite with genuinely warm and friendly staff, then you must stay at Casa Colombo. The rooms are very large, beautifully appointed with a quirky mix of old and modern furnishings while the lounge and dining areas are luxurious yet comfortable and relaxed. Our butler Arun navigated the fine line between being both constantly available but without being obvious or in the way. I was unwell one evening during my stay and the staff couldn't do enough to help me - even resorting to some old Sri Lankan herbal remedy that had me feeling much, much better by the morning. This is a unique hotel. If you can relax and allow the staff to look after you and you can sit back and enjoy the ambience, you will never forget the experience.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Julie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2012

Personalised service is what keeps CASA Colombo apart from the rest, and it is one of the things we are well known for. Our greatest pleasure is to pamper you in luxury so that you have the most memorable stay ever, and will always want to come back to us at CASA Colombo.

Helping you to feel better and comforting you when you were unwell, was simply our way of making sure that your holiday was not marred by anything unpleasant, and we are glad that we have succeeded in giving you a wonderful holiday.

Please do come again to CASA Colombo….. you are more like family to us than a guest!

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
2.3 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
2.8 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
2.1 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Uga Residence
Uga Residence
#1 of 54 in Colombo
282 reviews
2.4 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#8 of 54 in Colombo
2,204 reviews
2.1 mi away
Jetwing Colombo Seven
Jetwing Colombo Seven
#32 of 54 in Colombo
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Colombo

Address: 231 Galle Rd, Colombo 4, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Colombo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#2 Family Hotel in Colombo
#15 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
Price Range: $256 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 200 year old mansion restored and converted to a retro-chic hotel with 12 exclusive designer suites, 2 trendy restaurants, the stylish bar and tea garden, and a pink pool. Guests looked after by private Domos and transfers done in vintage cars or helicopters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casa Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Colombo Hotel Colombo
Casa Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing