We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hip, design hotel with great food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
CASA Colombo Collection
Ranked #20 of 55 Hotels in Colombo
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We spent one night at this place and loved the hip decore and lighting. Our butler Arrun was very helpful and attentive. The amenities are generous portions with a variety of scents like avocado and peach. Loved the stereo dock, flat screen tv, laptop and printer all provided in the room (room 9). the printer was especially handy for us to print out our boarding passes for our flight. The fusion restaurant was also excellent - had the mango chicken with coconut risotto and the Belgian chocolate empanadas which were amazing! Only oddity is the glass shower sits in the side of the living room so if your travel partner is watching tv, he can also clearly see you showering! Shouldn't be a problem if you're on a romantic trip, but be forewarned if you're not. Too bad it was raining the day we were there so couldn't enjoy the great pool.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nomadgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at CASA Colombo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2012

Your review of CASA Colombo was simply great! Thank you.

It is very pleasing that you had an enjoyable time with us, and that you liked the little “prerequisites” we had in place for you in your Suite. This is just our way of ensuring that your stay with us is that much more enjoyable and relaxing.

Thank you also for your lovely comments with regard to the décor of CASA Colombo, and the food. Your comments will certainly be shared with Chef, who will no doubt be very proud to have taken you on a gastronomic journey that is unique to CASA Colombo.

We do look forward to seeing you again at CASA Colombo!

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (960)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

637 - 643 of 960 reviews

Reviewed April 13, 2012

Wow! Our personal butler, Kumara made us feel very welcome and told us that he would make our night one to remember (it was our last night in Sri Lanka)... if only he knew what was going to happen in the next few hours! Unexpectedly, we were upgraded to an executive suite...an amazing experience - read other reviews and believe them. Our 'night to remember' clearly started with an overwhelming feeling of luxury, and whilst exploring the room (it was big!) we sat down to rumbles of an earthquake. A quickly convened hotel meeting regarding what to do in the event of a tsuanami was followed by an on-the-house iced coffee whilst we waited... and waited. Fortunately, nothing did happen and once the panic had subsided, we were able to relax. A huge 'monsoon' thunderstorm overhead during the night allowed us to re-appreciate the room at 3am. So..yes, a night to remember.. thanks Kumara for your foresight!! Our only, very minor constructive comment is that our evening meal, our last Sri Lankan curry, lacked the finesse of others we had eaten in Unawatuna ....Hoppas for breakfast were very good. However, overall, this is a hotel we would visit again for a spot of luxury before flying home. Thank you everyone for looking after us so well.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hellij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at CASA Colombo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2012

Thank you for your review of CASA Colombo. We are happy you had a great stay while with us…. even with the earthquake rumblings and excitement of a Tsunami watch. Our guests’ safety is our topmost priority.

It was certainly our pleasure to take care of you while at CASA Colombo, and is something that comes straight from our hearts, and your lovely comments are very encouraging as we strive for greater heights.

See you soon at CASA Colombo, and next time you will be able to taste the delicious curries that CASA Colombo is famous for!

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Unfortunately, we spent only one night at Casa Colombo. We were upgraded to a suite and were more than happy with our stay. It is an elegant boutique hotel offering everything you might wish for - and more. It is a (surprisingly) quiet and comfortable oasis right in the center of the main shopping area. The room, the service (our private butler), the food - everything was just great and excellent value for our money.

I could try to provide a list of all the things we liked about the place. But to make a long story short: We felt at home from the first moment - although at home we don't have a beautiful pool and as much friendly staff as the hotel offers. Looking back at our two-week trip to Sri Lanka, we still can't find any negative aspect. So we'd definitely stay at Casa Colombo if we came back to Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Horst S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at CASA Colombo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2012

What a treat to have two people named Horst at CASA Colombo….. myself and you! Let me start off by saying what a pleasure it was to read your review. Haben Sie vielen Dank (many thanks)!

We enjoyed having you with us and it certainly is fabulous that you had an enjoyable time with us…. and trust your next trip to Sri Lanka will bring you back to CASA Colombo for a longer stay.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Had two nights in Colombo and splurged on the Casa Colombo, was not disappointed at all. The rooms are amazing, it was simply the best hotel room I have every stayed in for wow factor. The food is really good and well priced for a five star hotel. Our domo/private butler was great, he even came in at 5am to make us some food and send us off to the airport! Would stay here again in a flash (budget permitting)

Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank James81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at CASA Colombo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2012

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay at CASA Colombo, and thank you for the great review and your lovely comments.

Our greatest mission is to make your stay with us as comfortable, relaxing and enjoyable as possible, and if we have been successful in achieving this, then it certainly is a reason for us to be proud of our team at CASA Colombo.

We do hope you will come again to stay with us.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Casa Colombo is an elegant boutique hotel that meets all a traveler's needs, from eclectic room decor to state-of-the-art bathrooms, beautiful pools, and gourmet food. The best part, though, is Dan, who saw to our every need before we even asked. We've never stayed in a hotel with such personal service. It's like a trip back to the days of the Raj and a trip to the future at the same time, the whole journey swathed in luxury. It was one of the two best places we stayed in Sri Lanka. If we lived in Colombo, we'd go to Casa every night for dinner!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view of the pool, although the views of the front garden are okay too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosalind H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at CASA Colombo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2012

Wow! What a fantastic review of CASA Colombo!

The personalized service we offer you is something that we take great pride in, and it is something unique to CASA Colombo. We always endeavour to make you feel right at home at CASA Colombo, and at the same time to pamper you in luxury….. it is what every member of our team strives to achieve.

Thank you for your lovely comments regarding the décor and service. Please do visit us again.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Stopped here for one night as part of a 16 day tour of Sri Lanka.

The hotel is great (now has a drinks licence) and has friendly and helpful staff although our "butler" was not as responsive as the "ordinary" waiters to some requests - on one occasion it took us 20 minutes to get a beer!

The room we had was their best traveller suite with a studio "lounge" area which given we were only staying for one night, was not used. The toilet was a bit odd with a frosted glass door straight out to the bedroom. While there were windows in the room they were covered and so did not provide any natural light or views.

The food was of good quality and very reasonably priced - £27 for dinner for two including drinks.

Overall a great place for a 1 or 2 night stop off, but no longer.

Room Tip: One room we saw opened out into the dining area, so suggest you avoid that one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ParkyBor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at CASA Colombo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at CASA Colombo. We greatly appreciate your encouraging comments.

The aim when CASA Colombo was created was to be different from the conventional and from your comments we have achieved just that. As to the Domo taking longer than usual we will emphasize your point to avoid it in future.

We do understand that you had an enjoyable stay with us, and please visit us again at CASA Colombo.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2012

This was the last stop on our two week honeymoon in this beautiful country. After doing a long trek of the cultural triangle, we ended with a two night stay at Casa Colombo, our base for our three day exploration of Colombo. We had heard things about the hotel before getting there, but to see it and live it was a great experience.

When we first got there, we were greeted by our personal butler, Dan. This was a novel idea which made the experience even the more better. Over the three days, we bonded with Dan and got to know him on a personal level and we absolutely enjoyed his company. He took care of our every whim and need. This is what he was there for. But what we enjoyed that we got to put a face to a hotel. Thanks Dan!

Anyway, he took us to our room (number 11, forgot the name) and we were amazed with the decor and the attention to detail! Everything was great, especially the dj function for the stereo! Also, loved the stain glass windows in the bathroom and when the light comes in during the day, they are lit with different colours. Great. Also, as a honeymoon couple, we loved the clear glass windows for the shower, You really have to see it for yourself.

The food is very good and very cheap considering that it is a boutique hotel! We had dinner there outside in the garden on the first night and it was such a great ambiance. Unfortunately, the outside restaurant/bar was under construction. Nevertheless, the food was great. As for breakfast, it is an a la carte menu which you choose what you want and there is fast service and very tasty! Great coffee also.

The pink pool outside gets all the hype and it does have a very nice ambiance. Love the bed next to the pool.

However, one of the most amazing things about the hotel is its location. Not only it is hidden from all the hustle and bustle of the city (you cannot hear anything), but it is close to many things, especially the famous department store, House of Fashion. It is literally 3 minutes away. Also, Barefoot is about a 10 minute walk or 5 minute tuk-tuk ride.

We also had a spa session which had very reasonable prices compared to the other hotels and spas we had been to.

The only negative things I would say about this is that we went during the period of reconstruction of the outside bar and there was a lot of noise going on, especially in the morning. The workers started drilling at 7am! We found this to be quite annoying.

Also, another thing is that because it is a popular hotel, there are lot of functions going on there and the ballroom/restaurant is usually booked out for these functions, yet it is also a common ground with the guests. Anyway, this is not so bad as we had rooms upstairs and not near these rooms.

Overall, it was a great experience to stay there and it is truly a special boutique hotel. Again, thanks to Dan for making our time there enjoyable. I would highly recommend this for couples or friends to stay there as its trendiness is off the chart!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gyorgyigurban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at CASA Colombo Collection, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2012

It was a pleasure reading you review of CASA Colombo, and your wonderful comments made us blush with pride. Your comments will be shared with our entire team, especially Dan.

CASA Colombo is very much a “family affair”, in every sense of the phrase, and when you stay with us, it makes you a part of our family too….. and you know what families do best… it’s taking care of each other. It was our pleasure to take care of you and pamper you and to make sure that the last legs of your beautiful honeymoon experience was the best ever.

We do apologise for the noise during the construction, but assure you it will soon be over, and when it is…. you will have a wonderful surprise! So make sure you are here with us again, to see what was hidden behind the canvas…..

We are really happy to have made your honeymoon with us a memorable one, and love you to return year after year to relive these memories and to create new ones with your “family” in Sri Lanka…. CASA Colombo.

Sunny regards,
Horst

General Manager
CASA Colombo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
2.3 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
2.8 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
2.1 mi away
Jetwing Colombo Seven
Jetwing Colombo Seven
#29 of 55 in Colombo
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Mandarina Colombo
Mandarina Colombo
#16 of 55 in Colombo
175 reviews
0.6 mi away
Colombo Court Hotel & Spa
2 mi away
Uga Residence
Uga Residence
#1 of 55 in Colombo
319 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to CASA Colombo Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about CASA Colombo Collection

Address: 231 Galle Rd, Colombo 4, Sri Lanka
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Colombo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#15 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
Price Range: $250 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — CASA Colombo Collection 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 200 year old mansion restored and converted to a retro-chic hotel with 12 exclusive designer suites, 2 trendy restaurants, the stylish bar and tea garden, and a pink pool. Guests looked after by private Domos and transfers done in vintage cars or helicopters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your CASA Colombo Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Colombo Hotel Colombo
Casa Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing