We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'll be back!!”
Review of Casa Colombo

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa Colombo
Ranked #18 of 54 Hotels in Colombo
Reviewed November 21, 2011

We stayed at CASA in September during the first three nights of our trip to Sri Lanka. Was an amazing welcome to the country- we arrived at 1am and had someone there to greet us, our domo Dan soon arrived afterwards to welcome us and give us a tour of the hotel and our room. From the start we were impressed with the service and decor- both my boyfriend and I thought our room is by far the most impressive hotel room we've ever stayed in. Things only got better from there... Dan was very attentive to all our needs and went above and beyond to ensure we had a comfortable stay. He was able to provide us with information about where to shop and visit in Colombo, and also provided information to us about the other places we were visiting during our stay in Sri Lanka. We loved being able to choose where we ate from the many impressive eating areas at the hotel. Unfortunately we only got to have breakfast there but that was impressive enough- getting fresh fruit and juice with every meal and having many menu options for a delicious, authentic Sri Lankan breakfast. Being able to come back to CASA and have a relaxing swim in the pool after a crazy day out on the streets of Colombo was a treat. We have reccomended it to family and friends and it will definately be the place where we will stay whenever we are in Colombo.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank girlie2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2011

A very big thank you to you for your lovely review of CASA Colombo, and a special thank you for recommending us to your family and friends.

Isn’t our pool simply fantastic….? It is so out of the ordinary, don’t you think? We are glad that you were able to relax awhile in the pool, after a busy day in Colombo.

Sri Lanka certainly has a lot to offer, whether you are visiting Colombo, the cool hillside or the sunny beaches, and we like to think that CASA Colombo offers you the best of Sri Lanka, the friendly smiles, fabulous service and meticulous care to your needs.

We can’t wait to see you again at CASA Colombo.

Sunny regards,
Horst

Horst Schmidtke
General Manager
CASA Colombo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (959)
There are newer reviews for Casa Colombo
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

703 - 709 of 959 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2011

This is where we spent our first 2 days in Colombo. Never having traveled to the country before we were apprehensive but the very friendly staff at Casa Colombo could not do more to help us. Our 'Domo' Kimura was amazing as was Dan. They helped us plan our first day in the city as well as arrange the rest of our stay. It was thanks to Kimura that we met our fabulous Driver Prashan who made our visit to Sri Lanka truly amazing. We stayed in the Olcott suite which was absolutely amazing. I have never stayed anywhere like it and probably never will. It was my birthday whilst we were there and my partner casually mentioned it to Kimura. When we returned from our day out there was a bunch of flowers layed out in our room for me. He had also arranged a beautiful dinner at Gallery cafe. When we returned from the dinner our suite was covered in candles, there was a chocolate cake and a bottle of wine waiting for us. This was all done from the simple mention that it was my birthday.

There were a few downsides because we were off the main corridor it was VERY noisy all day and most of the night. We found it extremely hard to sleep and once we did drift off we were woken very early by banging, shouting etc. The food and outside areas could do with some sprucing up but overall we owe a lot to Kimura and Dan.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2011

We understand how special a Birthday is, and it was our pleasure to make your Day that much more special. You are the most important person in the CASA Colombo family, and your Birthday is important to us, as is the fact that you have a memorable and enjoyable stay with us.

We hope that you will celebrate many more Birthdays with us at CASA Colombo.

Sunny regards,
Horst

Horst Schmidtke
General Manager
CASA Colombo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2011

From the second i arrived, this place made an impression. funny, because the street it's located on is nothing special and you can't see the hotel from the street - you drive through an alleyway to get there and it's like a tucked-away oasis set in an historical mansion.

Decor is beautiful - combining original architecture and original decor features with new and funky design. colour scheme is excellent. took beautiful photos outside at night, with gorgeous shadows and mirrored images, also took some great ones of common areas - lots of fun.

Staff (especially Dan) was courteous, attentive and friendly, very concerned with my happiness and enjoyment.

I had dinner and breakfast there. you have the choice of where to eat - i ate outside, which is lovely, though i wish they didn't have live ornamental fish crammed into tiny fishbowl-vases on the table. not appealing to a wildlife biologist. food was delicious, fresh, fish was not overcooked (for once!), nicely presented.

How to sum up the room? Ridiculously lavish. I've never stayed anywhere like that before and i honeymooned in one of the poshest, most beautiful hotels in my country (CDA). Huge bedroom with 5 m ceilings and a gigantic copper-plated and extremely comfortable bathtub set in front of floor-to-ceiling bay window. Sitting in that bath was when i really wished my boyfriend was traveling with me. Excellent wi-fi connection and they even provide a computer! Large sitting room with plasma TV. Bathroom was gorgeous - 3 separate areas: toilet area (funky blue glass tile, with pink neon telephone, though not sure why one needs a phone in there, but anyhow); sink area (2 granite wash basins very modern, with more toiletries than i've ever seen in a hotel); huge rainfall shower. best part of bathroom: original windows with gorgeous stained glass behind basins.

Pool area is stunningly beautiful, but i didn't use it.

Ayurvedic spa offered reasonable prices - i had head, neck, shoulder massage, which was good.

I walked around for a bit in the area in the evening, took some cool photos of life in sri lanka, felt quite safe, but i didn't venture very far, just in case. after all, i was a girl, traveling alone. but nothing special to see unless you're into photographing people at work, people on public transit, things for sale, etc.

Can't comment on value for $$ because i took a package tour of sri lanka, so i don't know the rate for this hotel that i was charged.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2011

The CASA Colombo Team was simply ecstatic reading your review, and each member of the team was proud to have been able to contribute towards a memorable and enjoyable stay for you. The very fact that you took some time away from your busy schedule to write a review about us and to appreciate what we had to offer you, made us very happy.

Yes, it is true that there isn’t much happening around the hotel area for you to photograph, since it is the more remote areas of Sri Lanka that often capture a photographer’s eye. However there are quite a few places in Colombo and its suburbs worth visiting, and we hope that the next time you stay with us, we can help you in arranging a few visits. Of course, wherever you go in Sri Lanka, you simply can’t miss the famous Sri Lankan smile and hospitality….. especially at CASA Colombo!

Sunny regards,
Horst

Horst Schmidtke
General Manager
CASA Colombo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2011

Very nice hotel, the decro gives us a funky feeling. Can be associated with "W" style. I also have to mention our butler Dan, I can totally see people just went back to the hotel because of his service. We stayed there only for less than 12 hours, he suggested great place to go for shopping and a really really great place for dinner. Moreover, we had to leave around 5 in the morning to catch the flight, he actually got up and brought us the breakfast and saw us off!! Very good experience.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2011

Thank you for your review of CASA Colombo. We were very sad that you were able to stay with us only for such a short time, but we are glad that we were able to give you a fabulous experience at CASA Colombo during that time.

We hope that your next visit with us will be for much longer.

Sunny regards,
Horst

Horst Schmidtke
General Manager
CASA Colombo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

We had been looking forward to staying at Casa for our last night in Sri Lanka following previous reviews on this site. However our stay did not live up to the expectations. We arrived early evening and were met by a seemingly disinterested member of staff. It did not appear that we were expected and certainly did not have the welcome we had received in the boutique hotels of our previous two visits to the island. We had to wait for a while to be shown to our suite, and were given a hasty tour. When we telephoned our 'domo' to ask for assistance we were told he would not be available for 20 minutes. During this time we noticed that the floor of the suite, beautiful old tiles, was filthy. An apology was finally offered and a suite upgrade.
When we sat down to dinner outside I asked the waiter where all the guests were, he told us they had all gone to eat elsewhere, perhaps a wise choice. We ordered rice and curry which we had enjoyed in other restaurants during our trips, it was plainly a quickly heated version that must have been sitting around for a while. Like a previous reviewer the vase on the table with a fish inside it was a little disturbing.
Certainly if you are interested in a fusion of old and modern architecture/fittings, visit Casa to see what they have done. But I would not recommend a stay. In practical terms many of these 'wacky' designs just do not work. The pool area is tired looking and many features in the rooms needed attention. It was a shame as with better personal service and maintenance, rather than fancy fittings this place could have offered such a better oasis of calm and relaxation.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne-Marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2011

Firstly, we like to say thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us, in addition your comment “We enjoyed our stay….. it is a brave effort to mix the old and the new” in our guest book upon your departure was read with great pleasure. Thank you so much.

From the comment here it becomes clear to us that we have failed to make your stay a memorable one and that saddens us greatly. Rest assured that we will follow up on the above and rectify where needed.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to CASA Colombo in the not too distant future.

Sunny regards,
Horst

Horst Schmidtke
General Manager
CASA Colombo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2011

Colombo was our last stop on our tour around Sri Lanka, so we had already experienced several other very good accommodations with great service. The Casa Colombo was very good too and we enjoyed it very much. Service was maybe a bit less friendly and bit more rushed than in some of the other places we stayed at, but still good.

The best thing about the hotel is it's design and the great rooms. Took us a while to figure out where all the buttons were to turn off all lights, but we had a great night's sleep. Very comfortable beds and all amenities you could think off. A few points of criticism are related to the location (on busy road at some distance from center of city, but not too bad and could not hear street noice in or outside hotel), the tiny gym (way too small and not up to the same standard as the very nice pool) and the smoking which is allowed in some indoor parts of the hotel. The lounge area next to the indoors restaurant namely has no proper separation from the restaurant, which meant that we could smell people smoking in the lounge while we were having dinner in the restaurant. The food itself was good and reasonably priced, but it would have been better if the whole hotel was non-smoking, or at least all of the public indoors areas.

Also the spa in the hotel is worthwhile mentioning. Good, friendly, professional service with good selection of treatments, all for very reasonable prices.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peri&rini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2011

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at CASA Colombo, and thank you for your wonderful review.

It is reviews such as yours that help us to give our guests the best possible service we can offer.

Please do visit us again to experience the uniqueness of CASA Colombo.

Sunny regards,
Horst

Horst Schmidtke
General Manager
CASA Colombo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Casa Colombo is an eclectic mishmash of old world and new money funky narco trafficking decor- it's fun, and they get away with it. Tucked down a quiet street in downtown Colombo it is well placed to get around the city. The building is a real gem, and the grounds lush and beautiful. The rooms were fairly well appointed and comfortable. Breakfast was a great with tasty hoppers and a choice of curries. We had heard that the restaurant wasn't up to snuff, but we found it to be quite good.

We always go for the smaller hotels when we can because of the level of personal contact with the staff. And, Casa did not disappoint. We were lucky to have as our domo an amazing chap named Dan, who really won us over to Casa. This fellow went beyond the requirements and genuinely looked after US. We felt we had made a real friend and were able to learn more about life in Colombo. This is why we travel, isn't it? To experience more?

There are probably snazzier hotels out there, but Casa was fun and ultra-friendly, and really brought out the friendliness that is Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RestlessTravelBaron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GmCASAColombo, General Manager at Casa Colombo, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2011

Thank you so very much for your wonderful review of CASA Colombo. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay, and your comments have been shared with our entire CASA Colombo Team, especially Dan.

One of our aims at CASA Colombo is to capture and give to our guests all that is fabulous about Sri Lanka….. especially the friendly smiles, homeliness and care, and of course not to mention the supremely exotic flavours of Sri Lankan cooking. If we have been successful making you feel “at home” in CASA Colombo Sri Lanka, then we consider it to be our biggest success story ever.

Please do visit us again, we are certainly looking forward to it!

Sunny regards,
Horst

Horst Schmidtke
General Manager
CASA Colombo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Colombo hotels
2.3 mi away
Galle Face Hotel Colombo
2.8 mi away
Cinnamon Lakeside Colombo
2.1 mi away
Cinnamon Grand Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Uga Residence
Uga Residence
#1 of 54 in Colombo
282 reviews
2.4 mi away
Taj Samudra Colombo
Taj Samudra Colombo
#8 of 54 in Colombo
2,204 reviews
2.1 mi away
Jetwing Colombo Seven
Jetwing Colombo Seven
#32 of 54 in Colombo
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Colombo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Colombo

Address: 231 Galle Rd, Colombo 4, Sri Lanka
Phone Number:
Location: Sri Lanka > Western Province > Colombo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Colombo
#2 Romantic Hotel in Colombo
#2 Family Hotel in Colombo
#15 Luxury Hotel in Colombo
Price Range: $256 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Casa Colombo 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 200 year old mansion restored and converted to a retro-chic hotel with 12 exclusive designer suites, 2 trendy restaurants, the stylish bar and tea garden, and a pink pool. Guests looked after by private Domos and transfers done in vintage cars or helicopters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Casa Colombo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Colombo Hotel Colombo
Casa Hotel Colombo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing